We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old world charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Como Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Como Cottages to your Saves list
Como Cottages
1465 Mt. Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely old world charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Booking and organizing was extremely easy with help from Melinda - everything was ready and waiting for us. The vintage decor was amazing, and made it a special stay. A charming place, especially for a group.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Look no further if you want the very best stay on these beautiful mountains !
Como Cottages are a wonderful collection of vintage properties each with their own individual charm. We have stayed in most of the different properties on separate occasions and all are truly excellent. Our favourite, Lavender Cottage, is a really special place that feels just like home. Two bedrooms, full kitchen and stunning living space with large open fire place make this a luxury pad at a very fair price.

Spotlessly clean and furnished to the very highest standard I cannot think why anyone would want to go anywhere else. The hosts, Brett & Melinda and terrific people and nothing is too much trouble in meeting their guests needs.

Forget the rest and book the best, you definitely won't be disappointed !!!

Room Tip: Take your pick, they're all beautiful. We like Lavender Cottage the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

we stayed here only for a night but definitely a very pleasant and memorable stay. beautiful place, amazing attention to details and a marvellous massage (a must-do) by the owner, Melinda, herself.

it is by far the best cottage that I've ever stayed in. surely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We recently stayed in the largest of the cottages, which was lovely.. Six of us girls and had a ball. The house was lovely, plenty breakfast supply's, not enough toilet paper (6 girls) 2 rolls per day, Melinda would just pop in, no warning, and just let herself in which we thought was a little rude.. She also said that we used to much toilet paper... Sorry we paid almost $1000 for a two night stay... Wouldn't think that asking for a few extra rolls of loo paper would be such a big deal....We had a great time but the rudeness of Melinda was very disapointing....Make sure you lock your doors if you stay, we won't be back....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We (4 adults) stayed at Cotswald Cottage, the largest of the Como Cottages - 3 bedrooms - and it was great. Lovely "old world" charm and atmosphere. Great attention to detail, everything was perfect for our overnight stay.

Will stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

My partner and I shave stayed at the Como cottages a bunch of times and always found them to be accommodating, luxurious and in the best position within Olinda. They are 5 minutes walk to the township and 2 minutes walk to the best pub in the mountains, Kelly's bar.
With great amenities, provided breakfast and gardens you cant ask for much more.

Most of the suites have a spa and all make for a great stay.

Will definitely be back and thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
como1465, Owner at Como Cottages, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you so much for your feedback and your return custom!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed in the smallest of the six Como Cottages, a clean and cosy little one bedroom place built maybe 100 years ago, quite nicely restored with the usual period fixtures and fittings. The added kitchen 'nook' was well stocked with breakfast provisions and cooking implements, and although small it was still possible to make a meal on the vintage iron cooker. Also quite compact were the double bedroom and the living area, which had a TV and DVD player plus an open-fire that the friendly owners delivered wood for, whilst the bathroom included the nice touch of a two-person spa. Meanwhile, being less than 1km from the centre of Olinda on the main road, the location was pretty and convenient, if not absolutely peaceful. My only real criticism of the cottage was that it did not have WiFi, which would have been even more useful than normal given the poor mobile reception in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
como1465, Owner at Como Cottages, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Thank you for your thoughtful message. Come and try another one of our cottages next time as they all have their own unique charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Como Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Como Cottages

Address: 1465 Mt. Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have two properties in the picturesque Olinda village. One with our romantic cottages for couples and the other for families and groups. We can sleep 22 ppl so it's also perfect for wedding groups and close to lots of the wedding venues up here. The cottage gardens are fern filled and established, luscious wonderlands, a different world to the city and suburbs. Each cottage is self-contained and private and has outdoor decks/balconies as well has well appointed interiors. Open fires, spas and baths add to the experience. We are walking distance (500m) to the boutique shops, cafes and restaurants - so many to choose from too. The Yarra Valley and wineries are a hop, skip and a jump (in the car) or you can get a private tour from here. Whether you're planning a romantic getaway or a family break, we can help you plan your trip. Our day spa ellenaturaleolinda is also just a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Como Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Como Cottages Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Como Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.