We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis from a flood experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlelight Mountain Retreats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlelight Mountain Retreats to your Saves list
Candlelight Mountain Retreats
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7-9 Monash Avenue, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia (Formerly Candlelight Cottages Retreat)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Numurkah, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A peaceful oasis from a flood experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at Clare Cottage, just above Sassafras, during March 2012.
We booked at the last minute after having to cancel our trip to Tassie because we were involved in the northern Victoria floods.
To say we were stressed would be an understatement, and Clare Cottage fulfilled our need for a break from reality.
Such a high standard of accommodation, in a very, very secluded cottage was simply a delight.
Sitting on the porch while the rain filtered through the rainforest was the height of relaxation.
Normally accommodation in the Dandenongs advertise a "2 person spa" that is simply to small for a 6 foot 5 inch man like my husband. But great news! Clare Cottage has a true 2 person spa for that romantic candlelight interlude.
We absolutely loved this cottage, it's appointments, it's standards, it's comfort. We are definitively going to sample the other 3 cottages offered by Candlelight Cottages. They couldn't be better than Clare though, could they?
Cannot wait to find out!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

I really dont understand why travellers choose to stay in dull boring hotels when you can stay in a gorgeous cottage like the Candlelight Cottages. Everything is absolutely perfect! The rooms are enchanting and gorgeous in every way, the bathrooms and spa bath are a delight. The kitchen is unbelievably prepared for you already with all sorts of yummy treats awaiting your arrival. My wife and i were so impressed with level of organization and preparedness that Laurie & Peta have put into this place. I fully recommend this place and we will endeavour to stay here everytime we come to Melbourne! Thankyou for creating a little slice of Paradise :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011 via mobile

Beautiful room and friendly hosts, an absolutely perfect gateway from city! We stayed at Clare cottage, which is so cosy and perfect with those lovely furniture and foods provided by hosts. Hearer, lights and music were on when we arrived, it was so nice like back home. We are planning on staying there again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at a stand-alone cottage close to Sassafras run by Candlelight Cottages. It's a beautiful cottage with a homely feel and stunning views of the bush. It feels secluded and romantic. The house was immaculate and the attention to detail, second to none. The food the left for breakfast was of generous proportions and delicious! It was an open fire place and a spa. Absolutely beautiful. We were so happy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Beautifully appointed, comfortable retreat. Loved the little details such as the jams, jazz CD's, games, spa bath with atrium roof, fresh coffee, double shower, tasty breakfast provisions and a roaring log fire on arrival. Wow.
We stayed in the gorgeous Twilight Cottage, and didn't want to leave.
Just one little criticism - hard mattress.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management729, Owner at Candlelight Mountain Retreats, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for your beautiful review. We had just surveyed the need to replace the mattress in this cottage and guests had said it was great with the feather top. We will sleep in it ourselves to try it out after your comment - thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

A lovely stay overall, but attention to detail seemed lacking. The views were amazing from the Bedroom and Bathroom windows, a lovely tranquil setting. As for the cottage itself, it was well appointed and comfortable, but dusty in places which was a shame.

The large spa bath was very nice (once it filled) but the shower didn't work properly. At low pressure it was rapidly turning on and off and making a terrible banging noise in the walls, or at higher pressure it was so powerful it was uncomfortable to stand under; there was no middle point in terms of comfortable pressure to be found. On checkout we mentioned this to Peta who didn't seem to want to know.

The bathroom was generally clean, although dusty on the window ledges. While there were many clean towels available, the wet towels on the towel rack we encountered on arrival gave the impression that the bathroom had not been cleaned since the last guests used it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management729, Manager at Candlelight Mountain Retreats, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your feedback which will be passed on to the housekeeping staff for immediate attention.

I was, of course, extremely concerned about the water issues you told me about and we had a plumber called out again (5th time) and the problem has now been resolved and with a new shower head, so not a restricted flow, everything is working beautifully and quietly.

I hope we will have you stay in one of our Cottage Collection again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for one night at the Cottage in the Forest. It was beautifully appointed, comfortable and warm. Breakfast provisions were very generous and I loved the coffee machine and loose leaf tea.

The setting is tranquil and beautiful - and best enjoyed from the double spa bath with a glass of champagne! The bath does take a while to fill (so let it run whilst you relax) and we had some problems with the shower (uneven pressure; loud plumbing noises). Aside from that everything else was exemplary.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management729, Manager at Candlelight Mountain Retreats, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for your lovely comments. I want you to know that the plumber (4th time) has now identified the problem with the water pressure - the shower which had a restricted flow watersaver has been replaced and everything is working perfectly. So, we very much look forward to seeing you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlelight Mountain Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Mountain Retreats

Address: 7-9 Monash Avenue, Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia (Formerly Candlelight Cottages Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Candlelight Mountain Retreats 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A collection of boutique luxury accommodation in the Dandenong Ranges. Private cottages, villa, holiday houses. All include breakfast, wifi, indulgent baths, kitchens. Close to the villages of Mt Dandenong and Yarra Valley wineries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlelight Mountain Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlelight Mountain Retreats Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlelight Mountain Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.