We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury on a hill” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation to your Saves list
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1602 Mount Dandenong Tourist Road | (Corner Harold Street, Opposite Olinda Village at the top of Mount Dandenong), Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Olinda B&B and Inns
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Luxury on a hill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friends and I booked the Loft in the Mill as a treat and what a treat it was! We stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised by the comfort and luxury of the suite we were in. Everything from the furniture to the fittings was done with thought and executed well. We were so impressed we spent the first half hour there taking photographs.

The room we were in has two separate sleeping areas, a good sized sitting and dining area. The bed and bedding are very comfortable so you will definitely get a good night's sleep. I love good bathrooms and this one I would love for my own home. The shower is over the large jacuzzi tub, which is large enough for at least two. The bath products are Molton & Brown and the towels provided are fluffy and clean. All the fittings are in gold, adding a touch of luxury to your bath time.

The pantry is well-stocked with breakfast items like bread, butter, cereal, milk and orange juice. There is an induction stove, toaster, kettle and even a dishwasher which is great for longer stays. The Loft provides all manner of cutlery, kitchenware and glassware for use which makes you feel right at home.

The Loft is also great location-wise as it is minutes away from several attractions like Sky High and the National Rhododendron Gardens. While we were there, we were offered a free limo service by Sky High which we took for our dinner out that night. There are many places to eat or shop at nearby though some of these might close early. If you drive, there is adequate parking right next to the Loft.

The only thing for improvement would be better air-conditioning in the bedroom and loft area as it can get stuffy, though an additional fan provided helped somewhat. All in all, I had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing stay in this beautifully quaint hotel.I would definitely recommend it and would go back especially if I plan to spend more than a day up in the hills.

Room Tip: The Loft is up a flight of stairs so request for a ground level room if you have issues with mobilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    20
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
66
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This B&B is very centrally located in the Mt Dandenong's. Compared to other B&B's in the area this property is reasonably priced.
Staff were friendly and welcoming.
We stayed in the French room and the breakfast however light (bread for toasting, cereals and coffee) was adequate. My suggestion would be to add some sliced fruit and/or yogurt.

Room Tip: the staff will be pleased to show you the rooms available upon arrival and from there you can choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We received two nights here as a gift and what a great gift it was. Took the herb garden room which was perfect for us and it's courtyard was a treat on a warm evening. This room is oriented to the back of the Mill so privacy and traffic noise is no problem at all. Loved it! Only one small gripe, most people wouldn't spend much time here watching TV, but it should still be much better than what is supplied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We also stayed in the Calico room and I totally agree with the previous review. The hotel sits on a bend on the main road through the Dandenongs. We had hoped to sit out in the courtyard with a glass of wine in the evening, reading our books but it was far too noisy. The traffic noise didn't die down till about 10.30pm and we were woken at 6.30am by a large van braking above our heads followed by a steady stream of traffic from about 7am. We had come for 2 days of quiet time at the end of our trip but decided to leave the next day. To be fair we didn't give the hotel the option of moving us to an alternative room but we had had enough. For us it was disappointing. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Calico room if you want a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed in the Calico Room, a beautiful little space with a separate lounge and bedroom. The bathroom was spacious and sparkling, the bed comfortable, and the courtyard a very special treat (although it backs onto the carpark, so isn't really private, and people walk right passed on their way to reception). I don't regret staying, but wouldn't choose the Calico Room again, as it is right next to the road and traffic was loud until after midnight. Heavy sleepers won't find this a problem at all. Definitely recommend this place, but will try a different room next time for the sake of noise and privacy. Friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you Maddy for taking the time to pen those kind words. I agree the Calico Suite can at times experience a small amount of traffic noise and in the later half of this year we have commisioned a stonemason to build another double fronted metre high bluestone wall along the roadway that stretches from the top of the stairwell along to past the Calico Suite courtyard with the express purpose of just cutting down the traffic noise to this suite. All other suites in the Mill building are the equivalent of triple brick in their construction and all windows are double glazed so you can't hear any noise from outside even if you tried. All suites in the Carriagehouse building(The Carriagehouse, Tudor Suite and Attic Suite) are situated towards the rear of the property and again do not experience the noise of traffic which to be fair is almost non-existent after the shops shut at 5.00 pm in the evening.

We look forward to you returning to the Loft in the Mill in the future and trying another one of our beautiful privately entranced suites.

Kind Regards,

The Loft In The Mill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with my fiance and our 3mounts old infant, while sightseeing around Mount Dandenong and Yarra Valley wineries. Great place to rest and lounge at!
Some traffic during the night is all we can complain about, but it wasn't really annoying or anything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Sounds like you would have had to stay in the Calico Suite, your comments have been taken on board and you will see in my owners response to the comment of the 3rd of February that we will be doing something about the traffic noise that can only be heard at times in this one suite.

We would have had this bluestone wall built earlier only we have a full renovation of the Attic Suite commencing on the 11th of March this year which will turn it from it's current one bedroom, one bathroom suite to a two storey, two bedroom, two bathroom suite with a bedside double spa bath, private courtyard and a new name, The Governor's Retreat!

Look forward to seeing you again some time in the future at The Loft in The Mill.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Loft in The Mill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Lovely,quaint and cosy lodge, perfectly located within walking distance from Olinda Village. Location is excellent in exploring the 3 villages - Olinda, Sassafras and Dandenong villages and the ranges and walking trails in the Dandenong ranges. The service is excellent, personally showing us the room amenities and with a great map to the local area. The Loft in the Mill also got us some discounts and free tasting platter with the local restaurants and they can make the reservations on your behalf as well.

The room (Herb Garden Suite) was clean, quaint, tastefully decorated to emulate its historical past of a mill. With a queen sized 4 poster bed, european pillows, great linene, armchairs, quaint showcase containing crockery, a logwood fireplace, airconditioner,an electrical heater, it is obvious that the design, items in the room were well thought through. A small kitchen area tucked into an old wardrobe space again indicated clever use of space. The kitchen area comprised of a microwave, a bar fridge, a toaster, and kettle, and basic cold breakfast of cereal, bread, milk, juice and coffee (with press!) and tea were provided, making it easy for us to have a lazy breakfast start to the day. The bathroom on the other hand meets our modern needs of a clean, tiled, sleek design, and a two person spa tub with a shower overhead. It was excellent soaking in the tub which was clean and well maintained. And Molten Brown toiletries, bedroom slippers, hairdryer, loads of fluffy towels and extra toilet paper were also provided. There is on-site parking. The Herb Garden suite opens up to its private garden which we did not get to enjoy much due to the rainy two days when we were there. But it was lovely.Stay was private, left uninterrupted and cosy. Exactly what we sought in booking a couple of days away in Olinda. So Loft in the Mill turned out to be a great accommodation choice.

Room Tip: Those suites with private gardems.on the ground floor would be more ideal for couples. Seems to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoftInTheMillOwner, Owner at The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you Rinster for the lovely recommendation of our Herb Garden Suite which I have to say is one of our most popular privately entranced suites. In keeping with it's past the Herb Garden Suite was originally a Goldsmith's Shop and the Cupboard you speak of that holds the Kitchenette is in fact the old converted safe, shame the Goldsmith didn't leave behind one of his presents!

We love that you liked the inclusion of the Molten Brown toiletries which is a recent addition that we put in each suite across the board to further highten the visiotr experinec here at Loft in The Mill.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Loft in The Mill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation

Address: 1602 Mount Dandenong Tourist Road | (Corner Harold Street, Opposite Olinda Village at the top of Mount Dandenong), Olinda, Victoria 3788, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Olinda
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Olinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of various awards (including Victorian Tourism Award for Best Hosted Accommodation Venue), Loft In The Mill is a magnificent replica of an old flour mill with adjacent carriage house built from reclaimed 150 year old convict cut Bluestone. Boasting 4 ½ star accommodation, we offer a range of suites to suit all styles and budgets. Each luxurious suite has a private entrance, its own facilities, and uniquely individual décor. We offer a range of facilities, including: large double spas, crackling log fires, romantic four poster beds, private courtyards, in-house massage, even a self contained cottage! All suites naturally have their own ensuite bathrooms and kitchenettes.Loft In The Mill is perfectly located opposite Olinda Village right at the top of the picturesque Dandenong Ranges and Mount Dandenong: walking distance to boutique shops, lovely gardens, galleries, quaint tearooms and quality restaurants. 16 Restaurants are within a two kilometre radius from the property and 9 Wedding Reception Venues are within a seven kilometre radius. A short distance away is William Ricketts Sanctuary and the National Rhodedendron Gardens. 15 minutes away is Puffing Billy Railway and Trees Adventure or the Yarra Valley’s numerous wineries.All tariffs include light continental breakfast and cooked breakfast vouchers at $15 per head are redeemable at Ranges Restaurant in the Olinda Village opposite the property.Spoil yourself in luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation Olinda, Australia - Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.