We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful suite with the best view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast

Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newhaven
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast
29 Forrest Ave., Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Newhaven B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful suite with the best view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Had the most enjoyable stay. Catherine was very kind and welcoming but left us alone to enjoy the wonderful spa room. The homemade bread for breakfast was superb. A lovely, tranquil location right on the waterfront just perfect for exploring Phillip Island. The beautiful gardens and surroundings were an added bonus. We heartily recommend this B&B to anyone who enjoys life.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwick, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Reading the bad reviews below I was blown away. We are repeat visitors because the rooms were so tranquil and Katherine was so lovely and made us feel completely at home.

We were greeted at the door by this lovely kind lady with a big smile and made to feel extremely welcome. Sheagain met us up at our room after we parked around the back. The back yard is full of a beautiful cottage garden. So pretty and relaxing, welcoming a stroll.

When shown to our room by Kath she asked what time we would like our breakfast in the morning. We decided to have a later one, which we enjoyed on our balcony overlooking the bay. How relaxing! We took a cruise around Phillip Island at other hotels and did not see any with such a wonderful view like we were getting from this balcony. It was uninterrupted.

As for the two pieces of toast as described below, the person neglected to mention it was homemade bread made by Katherine herself and was still warm when delivered to our room. We got half a loaf which was plenty. Kath even asked if we would like to take the left overs home with us.

The room is just lovely and the bed is so comfortable. The spa in our room #4 and in the last room we stayed in #1 was fantastic. It over looked the Bay with a full view. My husband and I became stress-free, just what we needed after a long week at work.

Kath is happy to help with anything you need, but isn't in your face, which is just what we wanted. When we are off on a weekend to be alone and romantic, we really don't want the owner of the property popping in every 5 minutes to see if we are ok. We love the privacy Kath allows you.

We will be back again. It’s is just the peace and quiet we needed.

Room Tip: Any room is perfect. All with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

After being greeted very courteously, we were given the keys to our room and were pleasantly surprised over the cleanliness and decor of our suite. Breakfast was provided every morning by the owner who left us in peace and privacy to enjoy our stay. The view from our balcony was glorious and we were able to watch the sunrise. The garden at the back was really beautiful. We plan to return in spring when the flowers begin to bloom. Highly recommended to garden lovers and people who want high standard accomodation for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: we called direct and got a great deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We were not welcomed, we felt more like an inconvenience than a paying guest. The attitude and service provided was well below any I have experienced in many years of staying at B&B's. I suggest you look further, try Kill'n'time just down the road.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed here at the end of January and loved the stay. The room we had was spotless, spacious, bright and offered lovely views out over the bay. We found the breakfast more than substantial and the Landlady was very friendly and helpful - the bucket, soap and towels to clean the motorbikes was definitely appreciated!

There's a suitable shopping area in the area, and it's well located for all the attractions on the Island.

I've got no reservations, this was a lovely B&B and we'd definitely stay again. Thanks for a nice stay :-)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

My partner and l stayed for two nights this past weekend.

On the plus side this B&B was immaculate in terms of cleaniness and the location on the water in Fairhaven good.

Was disappointed with the facilities in the room, the TV was so small it was a struggle to watch from the bed (l don't think that wall mounted 25cm screens cut it anywhere anymore). We also struggled with the bed, it was rock hard.

We had a nice time but our next trip to Phillip Island will be in a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, Wiltshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

When we drove up to the B&B we thought it was going to be one of the best in our Aussie visit. The house is modern with a lovely view of the sea. Inside, rooms were well decorated and roomy, all very clean. Should be 4-5 stars, then, but...

The lady owner was pleasant but seemd to have so much going on that there was little time for her guests - which were only us at that time, so she was hardly pushed. We were welcomed with the words that she had to go out to Cowes - not sure what would have happened if we'd arrived later as she was on her own. She quickly expained where the breakfast would be held in the morning and other basic info, eg keys.

Next morning I thought we aere still on our own but just after our alotted breakfast time (she gave 8pm or 830 as options) she appeared with 2 slices of bread each (for use to toast in our room), 2 juice cartons, 2 little pots of jam, 2 cereal mini-cartons (no choice)s - and that was it. We had to make tea or coffee in our rooms. She then disappeared until we were leaving when we had to knock on the front door to find her as there was no access to her r0ooms downstairs. She remarked again how busy she was, moaned that paying by credit card would cost her 8% then wished us good bye.

She wasn't unpleasant but it was clear that we were well down in her list of priorities. Seems harsh to give only 2 stars but we just didn't feel welcome and that means a lot to us.

The locality was very quiet with no real choice of restaurants or shops. That required a trip in the car.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast

Address: 29 Forrest Ave., Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3925, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Newhaven
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Moonlight Bay Bed And Breakfast Newhaven, Phillip Island, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moonlight Bay Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list