We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Clean & Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Island Accommodation to your Saves list
The Island Accommodation
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   10 - 12 Phillip Island Tourist Road | The Big Wave Complex, Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice, Clean & Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A very clean hotel and very short driving distance to San Remo or other tourist attraction places like Chocolate Factory, Koala Conservation Centre, etc in Phillip Island. The staff was friendly and so kind of him recommending us the places to visit with a complimentary map of Phillip Island. The reception counter is opened only from 9am - 5pm but if you wish to check in late, they may leave your room key at the reception & no worries for early check out too! Internet/WIFI available but chargeable. Overall, we had a pleasant stay, thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
You are very welcome - so glad you had a great time staying with us! Thanks so much for your kind review! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
15
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent customer sevice even if your a late book in. Clean modern and environmentally friendly. Perfect if your on your own and just need a comfy bed that you can afford. Near a bus stop has a roof top rec. area with amazing views, has tv rooms. Good kitchen and dining area and comfy lounge room. It' seems bigger on the inside than it looks on the outside. Various type of rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. So glad you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you here again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It s the perfect place to stay if you want to enjoy some quiet time outside of the lowd athmosphere of the city. the staff was very helpful and they will help you make the best of your stay. the room i stayed in was very clean and spacious, and even if it was the low season i still managed to meet a few people and share our experiences. at night it is really quiet so perfect for a good night of sleep before a big hike in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind review, its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very quite when we visited but it was the middle of winter. Our party was put into a private room which was a very nice touch....other quite hostels squashed us all into one dorm with their other guests! Beautiful accomadtion, kitchen and bathrooms were spotless as were the numerous lounges and dens provided at the hostel. Lovely stay, would love to revisit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Winter is such a nice, peaceful time to visit the island, and experience it how the locals do. So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us, and thanks for taking the time to write a review. We would be glad to have you here again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I visited Phillip Island as a solo traveller and booked into The Island Accommodation for 2 for nights initially, but enjoyed my time so much I booked an extra night. I would have stayed longer if I had had the time. I was staying in a 4 bed mixed dorm, it was really spacious, clean and I had my own locker underneath the bed. The bathroom facilities were clean. The staff were very friendly and were also happy to help and give advice about where to visit. San Remo is just a 10/15 minute walk over the bridge from the hostel, where there are pubs, restaurants, shops and a supermarket. There is so much more to see on the island than the penguin parade, Churchill island, koala conservation centre and nobbies, such as the great beaches. Ideally you need a car to see the whole island as all the attractions are spread out from one another. However I rented a bike a managed to ride to the Koala Conservation Centre (50 mins) which apart from the penguin parade and Nobbies is the furthest attraction from the hostel. You can get a taxi/minibus from the hostel for $15 return to the penguin parade.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for your kind review! So happy your enjoyed our hospitality during your stay, and saw all the Wildlife attractions too! Hope to see you here again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this accommodation through Red Balloon and were under the impression that it was a hotel- so were a little surprised when we got there.
It was a lovely place though, our room was bright and clean and the bathroom was lovely. The kitchen was well equipped and very clean.
It had a lovely atmosphere and was well kept- it wasn't particularly 'hostely' and was a mile above other hostels we have stayed in. More like a hotel with access to a kitchen.
Would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We had a private double which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You’re right- we are much more than a hostel, we try to cater for everyone, and have accommodation here to suit all types of guests - weekenders, travellers, Large and small groups. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Myself and the three friends I stayed with at this hostel thought it was fantastic. We booked a mixed four bed ensuite dorm and it suited us all down to the ground.
I have stayed in over 100 different hostel all over the world and this one definately stacked up. It is new, clean, (linen provided), lockable boxes under each bunk, good location to public transport, friendly helpful staff, bike hire, good kitchen and common room, and seemingly a nice social vibe at least on the night we were there, (Saturday) which is unusual for a YHA.

The hostel is just across the bridge and is a very easy walk to San Remo where there is a supermarket and a couple bakery's and pubs. There is also a great pier to leap off (watch out for the fast moving tide) also there's stringrays and pelicans to look at.

We went for the Little Penguins parade, so it was about a ten minute plus drive to get there in our car. I have no idea how you would get there without a car.

Bring a towel or be prepared to rent one.

A little on the expensive side, but so is all of Australia.

Overall the penguins were awesome, the beaches beautiful and the hostel better than expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1IslandAccommodation, Front Office Manager at The Island Accommodation, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us! We love hearing feedback from guests who have travelled extensively – always nice to know how we compare and how we can improve our service. Happy Travelling! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island Accommodation

Address: 10 - 12 Phillip Island Tourist Road | The Big Wave Complex, Newhaven, Phillip Island, Victoria 3922, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Phillip Island > Newhaven
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Newhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Island Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to accommodation, we at The Island believe that you can have it all. We have revolutionized budget accommodation by providing luxury accommodation at an affordable price that will make your stay truly comfortable. At The Island Accommodation backpackers, weekenders, school camps and special interest groups will discover true convenience and affordability without ever having to compromise on style and comfort. The Island is about having fun, new experiences, meeting new people and reacquainting with old friends. Our friendly staff will be able to provide you local knowledge of Phillip Island and introduce you to the secrets this magical island coastline has to offer. Providing your solution to stay longer and experience more of the people, places and events this Island has to offer. It is all about...you!!!Architecturally designed with eco friendly features to reduce energy and water consumption. Feel at home in your two fully appointed gourmet self catering kitchens. Open plan dining areas with large and spacious chill out lounges with roaring fireplaces and air conditioning for summer. Massive roof top sun deck with 360 degree ocean views and numerous balconies and decks including sun lounges and cafe style seating. Secure under bed locker storage in Multi-Share rooms. TV lounges with 50” Plasmas, High speed Internet cafe and Wi-Fi. Guest laundry, BBQ facilities, lift, disabled toilets and showers, onsite parking, swipe card security, ctv, linen, free onsite parking, bikes for hire and laid back and friendly atmosphere. Free advice and bookings on tours and activities and loads more...Things to do:The Island Accommodation is part of The Big Wave Complex- which also is home to The Big Wave Cafe and Islantis Surf.The Big Wave cafe serves delicious food and as some say- the best coffee in town.Islantis Surf is more than a surf shop- it is also a surfing museum, with many rare and intersting surf history memorabilia to check out.The Big Wave Complex is home to the famous BIG WAVE - a local icon, popular with tourists for photo opportunities. Recently added is the interactive surf scen- also fast becomeing poupular with tourists for that Phillip Island photo must have! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Island Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island Accommodation Newhaven, Phillip Island, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.