We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend's skiing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Hotham Alpine Resort

Mount Hotham Alpine Resort
Great Alpine Road | P.O. Box 188, Mount Hotham, Victoria, Australia
(03) 5759 3550
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Skiing, Dining
Attraction details
South Yarra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great weekend's skiing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a great time, after 18 years away from the slopes I found the runs to be great fun, all the staff awesome and more than happy to help, a had a great time where ever we went across the mountain!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    4
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spring Skiing on a beautiful sunny day, bit slushy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

As a regular visitor to Mt Hotham for over 20 years ( we love this mountain) we decided to get up there for a weekend of Spring Skiing. Considering the weather this season there was enough snow to make for a lovely couple of days. Yes the snow was getting slushy but the groomers did the best with what they had for the last weekend of August. Unless some snow falls then I think that would be all for us until next season as it is getting patchy on trails now. Great lunch break at Swindlers sitting out on the balcony where the sun was shining.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The big wind hold scam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a week of great skiing but was soured when on Thursday we had great weather but the lift co decided to close more than half the lifts and when asked we were told that wind gusts of up to 110 knots were the reason. There was very little wind all day and on the Saturday which was windier they were all open. It was obvious they closed the lifts to cut costs because there weren't many skiers on the Thurday. What a scam when we were still charged full rate for lift ticket.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley Western Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mt Hotham and Dinner Plain, Vic Aust”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our time at Mt Hotham was fabulous! My husband and I took our three boys, (14,11 and 6) to our first ski holiday in Aussie and although expensive we loved it. Friends stayed at Bright which is a 45min drive down the mountain but we stayed at Dinner Plain. So glad we did as we have no snow driving experience and would hate to drive up and down each day. Very windy road and with cloud cover on the mountain there's little to no visibility. Kids felt sick driving with all the corners and up and downs. You need to buy any groceries (including tea, coffee and sugar etc) from Bright or Harrietville which is the last towns before you head up the hill. It saved us heaps of money for breakfast and lunches and then we just ate out every night. Our accommodation was spotless, cosy, romantic and reasonably cheap considering we have the three kids. We stayed in a chalet called Bundara. It has a great drying room for all the wet ski gear at the end of the day, plenty of heaters in every room ( and I mean every room, even the toilet!). All the restaurants at Dinner Plains are great, kid friendly (bar one) and not too overpriced except for desserts. We got all our ski gear from Bright ski hire (down the mountain, before you go up) and it was around a grand which was what we expected to pay and they threw in the car snow chains and kids toboggans. Really lovely people there. We skied at the Big D first and our little one had kids lessons which were $113 for a half day. He reached level 2 so we only paid for two half days and because he was with my hubby and older kids was fine to carry on without any more lessons and even went down the more advanced slopes at Mt Hotham. If an adult wanted lessons then you had to drive to Mt Hotham was only ten min drive up the road. Our hire car had to be fit to travel in the snow and was just a Toyota Camry but it cost us $43.50 a day to park in the Alpine area. You can catch a bus but that costs $20 a head a day for adults and $15 (i think) for kids so it was actually cheaper to take our own car and we then had the luxury to travel from ski slope to ski slope and leave when we wanted to. It is easy to pay for the Alpine season pass fee for the car parking as you do it when you pay for your lift passes on an ipad the stores have. Lift passes are a half day or full day and if you get a half day and want to add on they charge you the same as the first half so it works out WAY more expensive. Overall I would recommend Dinner Plains accommodation, Big D and Mt Hotham to ski at for families and will go again some time but we will try Falls Creek next so stay tuned for my review on that! Happy Travels.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Dinner Plain and Mt Hotham (Victoria, Australia)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We just spent a wonderful four full days at Mt Hotham ski resort. My husband spent most of his days and enjoyed his time skiing there immensely. Mt Hotham is ideal for skiers of all levels but was personally too crowded for me.We actually stayed in Dinner Plains which is 15 minutes south of Mt Hotham and had a wonderful time. Snow was actually falling when we arrived and being a novice to snow this was quite spectacular for me. However, for the non skier like me, Dinner Plains itself offer much more variety as there are plenty of walks and snow sights to see while you wait for your family to return from skiing. I also spent a few lovely hours racing down the toboggan slope on my own! This was an ideal place to have fun. Definitely recommend this!
Our cabin in Dinner Plains was cute and warm providing an ideal shelter for the two of us to relax in front of the fire. The Dinner Plains hotel also provided a good choice of food when we wished not to cook and came complete with a three sided fireplace with which to warm your cold body.
if you are thinking of a snow/ skiing holiday ether for couples or for the family then i would recommend Dinner Plains to stay and have family ( non skiing) fun, and Mt Hotham if you wish to ski !! the down side is the bus cost to and from Dinner Plains at 20.00 pp / 40.00 per family per day return. This can add up over a week!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Hotham Alpine Resort also viewed

 
Mount Hotham, Victoria
Mount Hotham, Victoria
 

Been to Mount Hotham Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Hotham Alpine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.