We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Sunday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rocks

The Rocks
1 Schnapper Point Drive, Mornington, Victoria 3931, Australia
5973 5599
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 96 Restaurants in Mornington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Rocks offers the mornington peninsula a unique fresh air dining experience with an absolute waterfront setting.Two separate dining environments, the dining room and the covered deck, provide the perfect location to celebrate life.The Rocks offers modern Australian cuisine, a variety of the freshest seafood and a variety of lighter options for lunch. Daily and seasonal menu changes ensure our food is of the highest quality.The Rocks is fully licensed and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days per week throughout the year.Reservations can be made for the dining room (for any time of the day) or for the deck (for dinner only), and are advised.
Chiangmai
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“perfect Sunday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

a cold bleak Sunday morning in Victoria, Australia. Such a ray of sunshine as the The Rocks
restaurant brightened up the day.
Service very good, ambiance very good and food actually quite excellent.
Situated on the rocky shore line with great views across the sea, modern but pleasantly nautical decor and everything else really to my liking. Even moi, the old fusspot was content.
The only blight on the whole experience was the rain which was probably beyond even the restaurant's control. Certainly a place I will want to visit again

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    47
    19
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very unfriendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Dropped in for an afternoon tea and cakes one Sunday afternoon. The place was about half full. No welcome or seating. The only person around was a terribly grumpy bloke who looked as though he was having the worst day of his life. He was concentrating intently on putting money in the cash register. We found a table and eventually got served. Left soon afterwards. The angry man ranged around the place looking as though the patrons were getting in the way and he wished they would all go away.
Amazing how one person in charge can kill the feel of a place.
Won't be going back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Coffee.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Was let down today by my breakfast. Had Porriage which after reading description sounded nice. What we received lacked any real taste. However Coffee was a standout and for breakfast is the most important thing. No Wifi which is disappointing. Australia is slow to react to this simple service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well, Melbourne does it again. Gee, we eat well in this city and know our foods. This restaurant will not disappoint. The service was outstanding, professional and friendly. The food was excellent. We had choices from the tapas menu, the waiter recommended the babajou bread which was a delight! The flavour combination was tasty but sophisticated. The setting can't be beaten, what a view!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Waterside delights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Just left the Rocks in mornington. Had been once before a few years ago and had vague good memories. This time did not disappoint- we ate from the small taste menu- tapas style. Everything was amazing- saganaki with fig, the salt and pepper calamari with black aioli- just perfect! Some impressive gyoza and bruschetta- we have come away with stomachs full if pretty incredible food. Would recommend. Also felt value for money very reasonable. $86 including our drinks. We'll be back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocks also viewed

Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.