We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 - 101 Tanti Avenue, Mornington, Victoria 3931, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mornington
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Brooklands is very good value for money and only a 10 - 15 min leisurely walk ( 2 mins by car) to the main shopping / restaurant strip and beach. We stayed in a studio suite which are fairly new, well appointed, spacious and clean with off street parking and the motel also has a guest pool & gym . The staff were very friendly and efficient with the check out time on a Sunday being 11 a.m which is good. The things that could have been better were... some visitor information in the room in regard to local restaurants, markets or things to do in Mornington would be helpful and the TV was not "cable" or even "Digital" so missed some of the Olympic coverage and had poor reception on some channels. These were only minor items so, based on my stay this Motel is very good value for money and I would be happy to return. Mornington township itself is in a great central location... not far from Melbourne, near the wineries in Red Hill etc and has some great little restaurants, cafes and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Cary,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations with our suites and hotel facilities.

I'm sorry that you were not able to find more information of the local area in your suite. Our Front Office team have plenty of materials on hand and local knowledge, as well as an Info Area in our Reception Area.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Best Western Plus Brookland of Mornington in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    60
    26
    5
    14
See reviews for
34
73
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The brook lands is simply a lovely motel. Well placed in mornington amongst beautiful gardens with rooms as nice as you'll find anywhere in Australia. I love this place and it has the rare privelage of being about the only hotel I look forward to staying in as a business traveller. My only fault is sometimes the service at check in lacking especially if you arrive late.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear NickB1979,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We endevour to provide each guest with a great stay and fantastic customer service.

If there is anything that you would like to share with us regarding your late check in experience, please feel free to email at info@brooklandsofmornington.com.au.

Thank you again for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Clean tidy room, friendly staff in a great spot, 5 min walk from restaurants and shops

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed for 1 night (Saturday) and were upgraded to the new studio suites. We had travelled from NE Victoria to Queenscliff and across on the seaferry with our car to Sorrento and then explored along the Peninsular. We chose this Motel as we are reward members. It was a very new and quiet room which was was on the ground level. This saved us a walk with our luggage up the stairs.There was an outside door and once inside there were entrances to two Motel rooms, a feature which added to the privacy and security.The room was large and luxurious. There was a kitchenette with a microwave. Everything was catered for except some information on where to get some meals delivered from outside resturants. Most Motels offer a page in the welcome book that is in the room.After a long drive we did not want to venture out again and rather eat in the comfort of the room. I found a phone book in one of the drawers and after a few phone calls did find somewhere that could deliver to us. Checkout on Sundays is 11am (other days 10am) so we made use of the extra time to enjoy relaxing before continueing on our journey. The Motel is not on the esplanade but not far from it. We really enjoyed the Mornington Peninsular coastline.I would reccommend this Motel to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Good morning we at Best Western Plus Brooklands of Mornington would like to thank you for your review and hope that we will see you again soon. Sorry you did not find the list of resturants which are in the draw, also we would have guilded you if you had rang front counter on 9. We do take all feed back to our staff meetings so we can make our guests stay memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked a King Deluxe room for my sisters 50th at Mornington. On arrival from Adelaide we were advised we had been upgraded to a Studio Room. I am very fussy about accommodation and could not fault the quality and cleanliness of the room. The fantastic accommodation topped off a fantastic weekend in this beautiful part of Victoria. Would definitely book here if ever staying in or around Mornington again!

Room Tip: Had a studio room - did not see any other rooms. Dined out so did not use the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best Western PL... B, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in the quality and cleanliness of our rooms. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Great room! Bed was very comfortable, pillows could have been better though. Good sized room, very clean. The kitchenette was also very good, and would be perfect for someone who is staying a few days. Overall fantastic accommodation particularly for the price. A huge negative I found were the people in reception, they were rude and intimidating, definitely people I would not like to deal with often, friendly receptionists would be much more welcoming!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMornington, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thankyou for your feed back but with no name. Can not address the review as do not know when you stayed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Potentially a nice hotel but can be ruined by the attitude of the manager.
I booked a room for the night after my daughters' wedding, 9 April. When I arrived I was told that I had booked a room for the day before, the 8 April, and I would have to pay for another room as I had failed to show on the 8th. I pulled out my handwritten notes that I had taken when I booked and along with the price and confirmation number there I had written 9 Apr. I suggested that it was very unlikely that I would have booked the wrong day as my daughters' wedding had been set on that day for the last 15 months. I had discussed the wedding group that I was joining with the receptionist which was also booked in for the 9th!
Having moved up from the receptionist to the manager, I found her to be very abrupt and extremely rude. She would not come to talk to me at the reception desk but shouted at me from the office behind.
I suggested that if they had sent a confirming email we could have resolved the anomaly earlier, so she said that I had not left an email address. Later I found an email from the hotel sent on the morning of the 9th reporting me as a no show and would be charged, which confirmed that I had left an email address.
I refused to descend to the level of the managers appalling rudeness, and remained calm and polite, only when I requested the contact details of Head office was the extra charge dropped.
Anyone reading this report will wish to weigh the credibility of each report, so it might be helpful to point out that as a British Airways captain I am very familiar with both hotels and customer service.
You might be lucky here, there are some very good staff, but if you have dealings with the manager expect to be disappointed.
Good luck!

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulMornington, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thankyou for your feed back l must say two sides to a story and you did not get charge anymore for not booking on the right night .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington

Address: 99 - 101 Tanti Avenue, Mornington, Victoria 3931, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Mornington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mornington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Hotel Accommodation - Best Western Brooklands of Mornington has created something unique to the Mornington Peninsula. Best Western Brooklands of Mornington has been awarded the Ministers Award by the Tourism Minister in 2008/2009 for its contribution to tourism on the Mornington Peninsula.Nestled amongst 3 acres of stunning landscaped gardens, this multi-award winning property (including being named the first and only property in Best Western Australasia to receive a perfect 1000pt QA Score) is a fine blend of old world charm and modern innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mornington
Mornington Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands Of Mornington Mornington Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Brooklands of Mornington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.