We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Soy

Restaurant Soy
Upstairs 25a Main Street, Mornington, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 101 Restaurants in Mornington
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Went on a Friday night. Noise level was so high that staff had trouble hearing our order. Conversation was impossible. Food was roughly the standard of a shopping centre food court. We were happy to get out as quickly as possible.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    8
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had Sunday yum cha at Soy today and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We have been there several times before and enjoyed the food but it's even better now. The service was excellent and the more mature lady, probably the owner, was watching and supervising the young staff so that the trolley service ran smoothly. The restaurant was buzzing and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming on an overcast afternoon. The only small criticism is that some of the food was not hot, albeit delicious. The roast pork, in particular, was sensational, but almost stone cold.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another good choice in Mornington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very stylish upstairs restaurant..in fact if you have knee problems then just getting up the stairs could be an issue. Once there it is a spacious restaurant with a small outdoor seating area. Extensive menu...their dim sims are worth the trip alone..for a main course try the Kong Po chicken..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stay away if you want good service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My daughter and i had the worst experience we have ever had from a rude staff member when we complained to the manager named Debbie she dismissed our complaint by answering okay, okay, okay. Well that fell on deaf ears. on leaving we again spoke to her and she was very rude and defensive. Sunday yum cha, and apparently the waiter didn't like me saying excuse me mate when we require more food from the trolley. He came to the table and burst into a tirade 'I offered you this trolley before and you didn't Want anything, I don't ask people twice.' shocked but said nothing my daughter then asked what was on the trolley. His reply was I will tell you if you ask nicely. We can all have a bad day but when the manager is just as rude and defensive it doesn't leaves you more than disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Yum Cha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a wonderful place to have a Sunday Yum Cha. Located in Main Street Mornington, it is an extremely popular spot with the locals. The food keeps on coming and is delicious. A real plus is the amount of space between tables which means you're not squeezed in like sardines. The staff are very efficient and obliging. There was no pushing you out the door because the next group were waiting for your table. Thoroughly recommend this little gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Soy also viewed

Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
Frankston, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Restaurant Soy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Soy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.