We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and romantic get away- Excellent central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mornington Bed and Breakfast

Mornington Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mornington Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Mornington Bed and Breakfast
16 Wilsons Road, Mornington, Victoria 3931, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Mornington B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant and romantic get away- Excellent central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Mornington B&B was an excellent choice for a one night getaway for two. Our double room complete with spa was elegant, quiet and warm. Our balcony bathed in winter sunshine was the perfect place to enjoy an early sunset over the bay whilst indulging in an afternoon tea of homemade chocolate cake with lashings of cream! We were greeted by Denise the owner with a warm welcome. With her personalised choice in stylish and thoughtful décor and time-honoured traditional knick-knacks’ scattered around the house this felt like home from home.

With a pleasant 10 minute stroll to the Main Street of Mornington we found a variety of restaurants and bars and enjoyed a drink at a secluded courtyard bar tucked away down a little side alley before crossing the road and heading to dinner at the acclaimed D.O.C. An animated atmosphere greeted us and not to mention the superb selection of quality food and produce complete with cured hams hanging high (beware veggies!) and an exciting view into a beautiful window fridge displaying traditional whole Italian cheeses stacked proud and high!

I have no reservations in recommending this accommodation and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Thanks to Denise and her team for being such wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in the Darcy Suite with Denise. The house is gorgeous and every little detail has been attended to. The Darcy Suite was beautiful and the bedding really out of this world - never slept better actually. Denise's breakfast and efficiency is amazing and i understand why people go back when they are in the area. Loved the afternoon tea on arrival, a lovely touch. Thanks so much for a lovely finish to our holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Darcy as we had a child with us so this gives you two bedroms and a lounge - perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The Mornington Queen unit is perfect for that little get away ,lovely and quiet yet so close to the heart of Mornington for your convenience and only a short stroll to the beach.
We enjoyed staying there so much that we have already booked it in for our next trip to Victoria and are really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We came back here because we enjoyed our last stay so much and just knew it would be the perfect spot for Christmas. Denise has decorated the house just beautifully which gave it a very warm Christmas feel and her delicious two course breakfast with a present made Christmas Day just perfect. We also loved the balcony of our room (it was the Regency Room) from which we enjoyed a great sunset with views over the bay. We'll definitely come again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

It was a enjoyable experience, the decor was traditional with lots of photo's and other decorative elements that made us feel at home. We stayed in the Darcy room which had a lovely bay window that looked into the private garden.

The owners were warm and friendly and made our stay a memorable one. We will definitely be returning :)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

We stayed in the Mornington Queen which is an unit on Queen street, not far from the beach. The location is quite nice, the beach is indeed walking distance. Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay very much and we will try somewhere else next time.
The unit is in need of renovation. The hot water in the shower and the dryer were not working. The pipes make a lot of noise in the bathroom when the taps are used.
We had been told about the dryer not working when we arrived but not about the hot water. We had to call the managers to be told to turn another tap in the top right corner of the shower, but this only got us a few drops of hot water (after 5 minutes), not enough to have a shower. I think that, at least, we should have been explained this when we first arrived.
The unit did not seem well maintained. The carpet was in need of a good clean and we found several cockroaches and spiders. The cutlery was also dirty.
We paid $215 a night and that did not include breakfast. There was not any milk in the fridge when we arrived. There is a dishwasher but only one dishwashing tablet was provided and the dishwashing liquid container was empty. The beds were not comfortable and the sheets and towels were old and rough. We had the feeling that the place was run as cheaply as possible.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

Beautiful 1930's house lovingly restored within about 30 seconds walk to a beautiful sandy beach and 15 minutes walk into Mornington central with many shops, restaurants and bars. Rooms are very well appointed with lots of extra's like shampoo, conditioner, bath robes, tea and coffee in rooms, hairdryer and even beach towels! Denise the owner offers guests a choice of breakfasts all of which were fantastic and is very informative giving tips on places to visit etc. We had a really relaxing stay, slept brilliantly every night and awoke to fabulous breakfast every morning. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mornington Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16 Wilsons Road, Mornington, Victoria 3931, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Mornington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mornington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mornington Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Bed And Breakfast Mornington Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mornington Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.