We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lindenwarrah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lindenwarrah to your Saves list
Lindenwarrah
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Milawa-Bobinawarrah Rd, Milawa, Victoria 3678, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milawa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I came here for two nights over New Years and we had one of the best times in a hotel in many years for many reasons.

Firstly it was a very easy drive up from Melbourne and it took 2.5 hours from the inner city and we arrived in an area that was so beautiful it was breathtaking.

The hotel itself is surrounded by vineyards and made you feel you were far away from it all and set to have a very relaxing mini-break. The hotel is not huge by any means nor is it luxe and designer but the main thing that sets this place up as being fantastic were the staff.

The General Manager Amanda and her team made our stay memorable and relaxing. They were absolutely lovely and we would have no hesitation recommending the hotel to anyone.

We have a 4 month old baby so we chose a Garden Vineyard view room and it was wonderful. The little trickle of water sound from the fountains at the front of the room was relaxing and then the view was very special. Right in the vineyard almost. Our room was very large with plantation shutters opening so the outside was easily accessible and we sat out the front having a few wines we bought from Sam Miranda - perfect.

The bed was huge and comfortable and there was a nice selection of mini bar items at reasonable prices. The bathroom was functional and tidy and the room was painted in a very relaxing yellow which really complemented the vineyard setting.

The restaurant was also fantastic. Usually when you see a $35 price tag I get a bit iffy as we pay this amount for top restaurants in Melbourne yet the food was outstanding. We had the duck, the eye fillet, the polenta and those blue cheese croquettes were delicious as was the cheese platter we had as well for dessert. On New Years we had a fantastic dinner and we can't recommend it enough. We ordered room service the next day and the buffet breakfast is of one of the highest standards I have recently had. So much selection and filled you up for ages.

The pool area was great as we arrived on a 35 degree day and it was clean, a decent size with umbrellas to shade you from the sun. The sauna was also a great addition. We loved all the Sidney Nolan artworks in the restaurant foyer area and there were kitsch artworks throughout the hotel. The reading room with the fireplace would be perfect in winter and this is when we will be coming back!

Overall an amazing little country hotel full of charm with great service from all the staff and management. From the restaurant staff to cleaners to reception it was world class. And I am one picky woman!

Room Tip: If you have children the garden rooms are the best as you have to walk up stairs with prams otherwis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    58
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
98
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

It is not often I lash out spending AU$250.00 per night on accommodation but when I do I expect very high standards. I do not expect to find worn treads and holes in the carpet leading upstairs to my room. I do not expect to see water damage to the ceiling in the main passageway upstairs. I do not expect to find dirty hand marks on the door to my room. I do not expect to find cobwebs and dusty walls in the room. I do not expect to find dirty fan vents and leaking shower heads in the bathroom. Worst of all I do not expect a bed with a mattress that cripples you during the night. I do have a back problem I have to confess but my wife does not and we were both hurt by this mattress. Outside I do not expect to see a dilapidated advertising sign at the front and ponds full of algae in the front garden. I get the impression that this place is tired and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

This used to be our weekend get away from Melbourne. Easy drive up the Hume Highway. The rooms are a good size, comfortable summer or winter...fires in winter...great pool area in summer. And the people always friendly with great food and service and lots of the local excellent wines to chose from. Well everything was as good as we remembered but it is getting tired especially the common areas which really detracts from an otherwise really good experience. And of course there is Brown Bros. winery and epicurean centre right opposite and the Cheese Factory right down the road. Overall a great combination for that get away or stop over between Sydney and Melbourne

Room Tip: We like the room upstairs with bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was on a business for two nights at Lindenwarrah. This hotel is attractive because it's close to the winery area with beautiful scenery. Services were overall good, although could be more proactive (don't have high expect ions of Australian hotel services!). However, the bed in my room was not very comfortable. The room overall needs renovations as it shows its age. It's a good place for a short business trip, but it's not perfect for a honeymoon -:)).

Room Tip: Don't know if you can request a specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here over Easter. It sells itself as luxury accommodation, but it doesn't quite make the mark. To me it has more of a corporate, chain hotel feel to it. In general the management have to take a good look at the decor and make some changes. In particular the dining/breakfast room, with a badly polished concrete floor, concrete floors can look fantastic, this one doesn't. The hallways are bland, the building is two floors high and long, so the hallways could do with a facelift. The bedroom was okay, large and a nice outlook. We stayed 3-nights unfortunately 2 of those 3, our room wasn't turned over, the first time we didn't complain, it was a slight nuisance, we figured it was because we were in the room most of the day and didn't go out until quite late, however the day before our departure same again, this time we were out most of the day got back late and room still not done. They were very apologetic and actually gave us a discount at the end, but it detracted from our overall enjoyment. We did enjoy the breakfast though and the staff were very friendly and professional, now the hotel just needs to step up with the decor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We chose LindenWarrah because of the availability of the Brown Brothers airstrip. We were able to walk to the hotel, the Epicurean centre and local surrounds. The accommodation was quiet (apart from someone banging on doors at midnight!), nicely decorated and comfortable. We stayed in a Buffalo room. The restaurant was OK, but the best food was at Brown Brothers. We ended up getting a taxi into Wangaratta and hired a car to do more sight-seeing. If you have a light aircraft then we highly recommend LindenWarrah, have lunch at Brown Brothers, drink to your hearts content and fly home the next day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Really good location to be based at to visit Beechworth and surrounds. Food and wine awesome as was San Miranda winery in Oxley - the village just before Milawa.
Hotel was really pleasant and quiet and would be great to return to in summer. The hotel dinner was not that great, but the hotel was very apologetic and made up for it.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Chose one overlooking the vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lindenwarrah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lindenwarrah

Address: Milawa-Bobinawarrah Rd, Milawa, Victoria 3678, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Milawa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lindenwarrah 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lindenwarrah Country House Hotel and Vineyard, at Milawa in Victoria’s north east, has set a new standard for guests on Victoria’s gourmet trail. Located in the Milawa Gourmet region and opposite Brother’s Winery & Epicurean Centre, Lindenwarrah is a unique blend of Australian country-style hospitality and international sophistication. The 40 individually decorated guest rooms are complemented by stylish lounges, sunny courtyards, soothing fountains, a vast rooftop terrace, fragrant gardens and an invigorating pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lindenwarrah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lindenwarrah Hotel Milawa
Lindenwarrah Milawa, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lindenwarrah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.