We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable digs well located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milawa Motel

Milawa Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Milawa Motel to your Saves list
Milawa Motel
1615 Snow Road | (previously Glenrowan-Myrtleford Road), Milawa, Victoria 3678, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WIFI!
Ranked #3 of 3 Milawa B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable digs well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husbands push bike riding group did the Bright to Beechworth, wangaratta trails over a few days. This accommodation was well located for this type of activity. Room was average but comfortable and staff very obliging. Close to the famous bakery for breaky and the pub for dinner.

Room Tip: All much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A group of us booked the motel, and were greeted by Rod and John. The room was small but perfectly adequate to use as a base to explore the gourmet region. The breakfast was first rate, some of our party had a cooked option and were rapturous about the scrambled eggs! We had dinner there on one evening, and they set up in the BBQ area. It was cook yourself but salads and beautiful meats etc provided. It allowed us to relax and tell stories in a very homely way. Will go back when we next head north.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Have stayed here on 4 other occasions and unfortunately it has changed in My eyes.The mattresses are so hard My wife and I have still back soreness 3 Days after Our stay. We were given Milk for that nights tea but as we came home late no Milk was left for us in the fridge,also Shampoo was left from previous day and had not been replaced we barely had enough to wash both Our Hair. Usually I am a half full person and if you read My previous entry's they are all positive ,as always the King River Cafe food made up for all as it has the best Steak and Lemon Tart I have tasted.Sorry Rod and John I won't be staying there anymore My Wife and My backs could not stand it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were warmly greeted by John & Rod when we arrived at the Milawa Lodge. We had booked tickets to a :"Day on the Green" at All Saints and decided to stay in the area to explore the local gourmet offerings & wineries. John happily assisted us with directions to the winery which was a great help. The next morning we were delighted with the light-filled dining room where we were served a fresh & mouthwatering breakfast. Both John & Rod took the time to recommend local "must sees" for cheese, olives and also recommended and booked us into the Sam Miranda winery for lunch we're we enjoyed a wine tasting followed by a wonderful "tapas" selection with our wine of choice - also recommended by John. :) Their hospitality and delightful accommodation were impeccable - a true "gem" found in this quiet little town. We'll be back and will encourage others to visit as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent two nights here on our way to Melbourne. Rod & John who have only been there for 5.5 months have some great plans for the place. Extremely clean and comfortable and nothing was ever a problem. More like A bed and breakfast with personal touch. Great location as well. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There are not a lot of accommodation options in the Milawa area but it doesn't matter because this charming motel more than meets the need for an impeccably clean, very pleasant and well managed destination, all at an affordable price. We were there over New Years and met the new owners who have the right ideas on what their guests want. Its quiet, has good standard food and even a small pool (much needed in summer in this part of the world). We hadn't been to this area before but its an excellent winery destination. Better still check out EV Olives for an awesome oil and olive tasting!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife I and have just returned from a two day stay and are apleasanty surprised at what we found. It has been recently taken over and it is now an outsanding hospitality offering. The rooms are well appointed and absolutely spotless. The room presentation was outstanding to order using the best of local produce only , including farm fresh eggs and beautifully smoked bacon. None of your boxed cereals or plastic packs of vegemite and margarine here , all the cereals and preserves were fresh and well presented , along with teh choice of juices including freshly pressed orange.

Good luck to the new owners John and Rod, this is a motel to be included in your travel plans

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milawa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milawa Motel

Address: 1615 Snow Road | (previously Glenrowan-Myrtleford Road), Milawa, Victoria 3678, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Milawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Milawa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milawa Motel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milawa Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.