We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You HAVE to stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottonwoods Accommodation

Cottonwoods Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottonwoods Accommodation
Save
You added Cottonwoods Accommodation to your Saves list
2139 Snow Road | Markwood (Milawa Gourmet Region), Milawa, Victoria 3678, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Milawa B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You HAVE to stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

You HAVE to stay here in you’re in the area or visiting the region, as we did in April this year. Jennie and Sam make you feel so welcome and the luxurious apartment was beautifully appointed. Perfect all round! Highlights included Jennie’s homemade fruit loaf and chocolates, breakfast on the patio overlooking the garden, and fantastic nearby restaurants and cellar doors. Most grateful for their pick-up service as well! You will always wish you could stay longer. Matt and Lauren, London, UK.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

I recently flew a light aircraft up to the Brown Brothers Winery to pop the big question to my girlfriend and was able to enjoy Jennie and Sam's awesome hospitality! For starters, Jennie drove all the way out to the airport to pick us up and then continued shuttling us around Milawa - definitely above and beyond what could be expected!
The room we had booked was exceptionally clean, spacious and well appointed but I found it was the little touches that made the trip memorable. Home-made chocolates, flowers and some nice local wine were all waiting on our arrival.
The gardens out the back of the property are a fantastic setting to relax in the afternoon with a glass of wine as well.
I would definitely recommend Cottonwoods to anybody venturing up to the Milawa wine district, as my fiance(!) and I are already planning another visit!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The hosts Jennie & Sam gave us a warm welcome on arrival and showed us to our lovely room/unit, which had an undercover carspot right beside it. The accommodation had everything you could need, including a fully-kitted kitchen, new bathroom with great shower (and I'm fussy with my shower head!), very comfortable bedding, flat screen tv, and large glass window/sliding door leading to a pretty garden area which was perfect to enjoy your breakfast sitting outside on the outdoor setting that was also provided.

There are only 2 rooms/units so it was a lovely setting for a couple to enjoy a quiet weekend away - we felt like we were the only people there even though both rooms were booked out.

We booked the One Night Cottonswood Escape - which was great value as it also included:
- choice of breakfast ingredients to cook your own breakfast (we picked the eggs & sliced smoked salmon)
- freshly baked loaf of homemade bread (wholemeal and pumpkin seed - which was just lovely!) with homemade raspberry jam and local honey
- a bottle of Brown Brothers Wine, and
- some handmade (& delicious!) chocolates made by Jennie, the host, which really gave it that personal touch!

The location is only 2 mins drive from the central Milawa shops, the Milawa Cheese Factory & the Brown Brothers Winery - it feels secluded because of the property's layout but it's not far at all from the main area of Milawa.

I would definitely recommend staying here and will DEFINITELY be back again!
Big thanks to Sam & Jennie!

(http://www.cottonwoodsaccommodation.com.au)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Cottonwoods was the nicest B&B we stayed at on a recent roadtrip through Victoria and New South Wales. The room had everything we needed for a relaxing stay - an incredibly comfortable bed and pillows (far more comfortable than mine at home, actually), beautiful Sheridan linen, homemade jam and delicious fruit bread from the nearby Milawa bakery for breakfast, along with fresh plunger coffee and cereal and fruit (and this was the basic breakfast; some of the other options sounded lovely too). Our accommodation was very spacious, with comfortable reclining chairs and a swivel flatscreen TV, as well as a large bed and a kitchen area with fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, and some scope for cooking our own meal, if we had wished to do so. In the morning we looked out on the beautiful garden complete with rose bushes, little blue wrens and sweet-smelling orange trees that were blossoming when we were there. Our host Jenni had even put a bunch of roses from the garden in a vase in the bathroom and they filled the room with their fragrance. She also had some great recommendations, such as Maddison Cafe for dinner on the Friday night. The dinner we had there was excellent and reasonably priced, and they had a good quality local wine list. We will definitely be coming back to Cottonwoods. It was such a relaxing night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We spent just one night at Cottonwoods, on our way home after spending a few days exploring Victoria. We wished it could have been more. We stayed in Jura Unit and loved it all - from the friendly welcome, the homemade chocolates and muffins, the lovely sense of space- including a semi separate lounge/dining area, complete with swivel large flat screen TV, and DVD player, (so that you could watch TV in bed or in the lounge) and a huge bathroom, all delightfully finished with quality fittings and furnishings. The vista from floor to ceiling windows stretched from the beautiful garden to the hills and pastures beyond - just beautiful! Cottonwoods is located about 3K from the village centre, and very well situated for exploring the wine and food regions around. It is the perfect quiet retreat to return to after a day spent out and about. Jenny and Sam have created a wonderful sanctuary here, and it is a sheer delight to experience it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aspendale gardens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Graham and I would like to thank Jennie and Sam for the wonderful experience and hospitality we had at Cottonwoods. It definitely rivals any 5 star accommodation and with all the beautiful trimmings and gourmet treats on offer including a very reasonable tarrif we just couldn't go past it. The suites are so comfy and beautifully decorated. There is total privacy so you don't have to worry about visitors. The spa was so welcoming and theraputic and a real relief after all the travelling we did. Wish we could stay longer and get a real feel for the place. We are definitely coming back. Hopefully in January for two nights this time - I am not taking no for an answer. This place is romance plus and you just could not ask for more - everything is there that you need. Well done guys, it's a real credit to you. Kind regards and best wishes, Helen & Graham.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

The unit "Jura" - is soooooo fantastic! Both units are huge. Big comfy queen bed, large bathroom, large flatscreen TV, 2 lazyboys, aircon, outdoor settings, fridge, sink, kettle & all the needed bits n bobs! NOTHING is overlooked. Home made treats, locally grown fruits, fresh bread, milk, fruit - you name it its there waiting for you!!
Sheridon sheets/towels/robs. Quality everything!!
Sam & Jennie (owners), are so polite, have some great stories to tell, are more than willing to help with any detail you need & make a great home made wood fired pizza.
The spa is worth the extra $10 & i can tell you its worth the Indulgance package too!

The area is so beautiful & the units are a great base for your explorations. Min 3 nights to even get some things seen!!! 5 nights would be perfect i believe!

Their whole 'yard' is just stunning. The beautiful relaxing garden in front of the villas is something out of the movies.
The whole place has this utter relaxation auro about it.

I can only say - you should just stay there!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottonwoods Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottonwoods Accommodation

Address: 2139 Snow Road | Markwood (Milawa Gourmet Region), Milawa, Victoria 3678, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Milawa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottonwoods Accommodation is an eco luxe retreat for the discerning traveller, providing organic sheets and bedding; organic and local food, milk, tea, barista coffee to order. The amenities include organic hand made soap and chemical free shampoo and conditioner. Set in beautiful established gardens in a rural environment, Cottonwoods is sure to impress. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottonwoods Accommodation Milawa, Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottonwoods Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.