We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing week!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McMillans of Metung Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added McMillans of Metung Resort to your Saves list
McMillans of Metung Resort
4.5 of 5 Villa   |   155 Metung Road, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheltenham, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Relaxing week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had eight nights in a cottage mid January 2014. What a fantastic week it was! Not long enough I say!! A very tranquil green lush experience, We enjoyed the pool and the wonderful views of the large pond the beautiful birds and the wonderful neat gardens. Our children were very happy and had a great time playing in the playground, swimming in the very warm pleasant solar heated pool and using the games room at any time of day and night. They have already asked when we could re visit! The resort is located in a quiet spot of the town however easy enough to walk to. A pleasant walk along the board walk allows you to be in town in 10 minutes. Our cottage was a little out dated and could do with a paint but after an hour of taking in the ambience of the place the paint is a minor thing.
Would we go back? Yep we are going back in six weeks!!

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage up on the hill or a Villa.. They seem to have the best views and a wonderful sea b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    37
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at McMillans! 2 nights wasn't long enough. The 3 bedroom spa villas were modern, clean and exactly as they appear in the photos online. The kitchen has everything you need to cook and have a bit of a party. The views are wonderful, the bird life gorgeous, the playground great and even though it wasn't too warm my son enjoyed the toddler pool. A nice walk into town (not a lot happening there though). My only gripes would be the window flyscreens weren't fixed properly so flapped in the wind (and let bugs in) and that the wi-fi was too slow to use at all.
I suggest to the owners that perhaps they add screen doors so you can enjoy the airflow and sounds of the birds without having every bug in the vicinity flying in the doors!

Room Tip: We stayed in villa 11 which had lovely views of the grounds, wetlands and the water past the entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I took my family to McMillans on the last week in November for 7 nights and still found it wasn't long enough. Such a beautifully maintained property with an abundance of wildlife everywhere. So relaxing and Metung is a very quaint little town to visit. Good fishing off the private pier and plenty of places to take the kids bike riding.A big thanks to Deb at reception, so very welcoming and accommodating. We will certainly visit here again as soon as I get a chance. Fantastic. Justin O'Connor

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This venue offers spacious, modern clean accomodation. The cottages are well equipped and have comfortable furnishings. The grounds are large well kept and offer a sense of privacy as the cottages are spread throughout the property. There are amenities to cater for children. It is a short 10-15 minute walk along a boardwalk to the village. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The wind howled and the rain pounded on the roof for much of our three-night stay, but bad weather did not spoil our enjoyment of McMilan's Resort.

Several cottages and villas are spread across rolling lawns, with lovely views of huge trees near a lagoon with many different species of birds, and glimpses of the lake beyond. Windows in the games room give a wonderful vantage point for watching the birds. The games room itself has pool table, table tennis and plenty of space for young children to play with the toys provided. Next to the games room is the main pool, augmented by a small pool for non-swimmers. Most impressive. (The sauna room was not in use at the time.)

We were staying with friends, using Deals.com vouchers. Our friends had selected a one bedroom cottage, and we'd paid a bit extra to have two bedrooms (so I could be away from the snoring partner!) The friends' cottage was just above the pool, with a great view of the lagoon. Upstairs it had a main bedroom with king sized bed, a spacious living area with open kitchen, and a bathroom/laundry off the kitchen. Downstairs was accommodation for four persons in two bunk rooms, each of which had ensuite bathrooms. So three bedrooms and three bathrooms. ( Note that you had to go outside to enter the downstairs rooms, so this area would not be suitable for young children - but ideal for teenagers!) A roomy deck with outdoor furniture overlooking pool and lagoon completed the setup.

We were supposed to be in the cottage next door, but apparently there were minor maintenance problems, so we were allocated a large villa, just a little up the hill. (We peeked inside this cottage and saw that upstairs it had two bedrooms, a living room/kitchen and bathroom. Downstairs was a twin room with ensuite- again only accessible from an outside set of stairs.) It all looked very nice.

Our villa was such a treat. Like the cottages, downstairs there was bunk accommodation - for two, with an ensuite. Upstairs were two areas on different levels linked by a short 'passageway'. On the upper level was a king sized bed in a spacious room, a very large living/kitchen area, and a combined laundry and bathroom. The living area opened to a roomy deck, with outdoor table and chairs. Heating/cooling for this upper area were provided by a reverse cycle air-conditioner. The lower level had a queen-sized bed in a room with its own air con, and another bedroom with double bed topped by single bunk. Between the two bedrooms was a large bathroom. All bathrooms had heating via overhead lamps/lights, so were cosy, even on cold days.

We were most impressed by the 'utensils' provided. Plenty of wine and juice glasses. Lots of plates and bowls. A selection of mugs, or cups and saucers. Pots, pans, anything needed to cater for nine or so people. A very clean oven and stove, plus microwave. An efficient dishwasher. Plus salt, pepper and cooking oil. Each cottage, or villa, also has an electric BBQ on its deck. Fantastic!

Like us, our friends had a TV set in the bedroom as well as in the living area. Admittedly television reception was patchy, but guests may borrow DVDs from the office. We preferred to read.

Up the hill from our villa are the spa cottages. As the name suggests, these are fitted with spa baths. I think they would have the mix of upstairs and downstairs sleeping arrangements, but I'm not sure.

The oven and stove-top remained spotless during our stay. We ate one dinner at the Metung Pub (nice food, but expensive) and two dinners at the Galley Restaurant, which served really good food at reasonable prices. One of our lunches was at Bullant Brewery, in Bruthen. Very good! The other in Lakes Entrance. OK.

We thought so highly of the place that we are sure to return - probably with members of the family, who will love the open space, the pool and games room, and the short stroll into Metung along the board walk. We heartily recommend McMilan's. It's a magical place.

Room Tip: Ask staff about the set-up of each cottage or villa, so you may select the one that best suits your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location right on the lakefront and an easy walk along a picturesque board-walk to the centre of Metung. We had a one-bedroom cabin-apartment that was spacious with a well equiped kitchen and a roomy sitting room. Cabins were widely spaced across a hillside with great views down to the water. Everything was very clean and in very good condition and the king-sized bed was very comfortable. Bathroom included a large spa bath. An outdoor swimming pool and a Day-Spa are on site.We ate at the local hotel and the Yacht Club with both providing good qualty meals at a reasonable price and both within easy walking distance. Metung is central to the Gippsland lakes system and so provides a great base to explore the region, by both road and water. Bairnsdale is the local regional centre with a excellent shopping centre while the lakeside tourist/fishing towns of Paynesville and Lakes Entrance are worth a day visit. In all, McMIllans is an ideal place to stay to explore this part of Victoria.

Room Tip: All cabins are well located so no need to be too fussy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had travelled the east coast over 6 weeks with our family, we had travelled from Hobart thru to Hervey Bay, we hadn't considered staying at Metung until it was sugeested by a friend, and WOW, McMillans is a stunning place set in beautiful surrounds with great facilities and a great place to unwind and relax. We had a 3 bedroom Villa and in one word "Awesome", we totally relaxed in Metung and this si largely due to how well McMillans is set up, we could watch the kids on the Tennis Court or in the playground from our balcony of our beautiful 3 bedroom 2 story villa. The villa was modern, clean and well appointed. The staff were very friendly and pointed out all the "to do"and "where is infor for the area.
We are already planning a trip back to here in the not too distant future with some more family.
Would definitely recommend McMillans to anyone looking in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McMillans of Metung Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMillans of Metung Resort

Address: 155 Metung Road, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Metung
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Metung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — McMillans of Metung Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the luxury of a resort, comforts of home, McMillans of Metung Resort offers an unforgettable experience. Eight acres of manicured lawns and gardens. Well appointed Villas and cosy Cottages, McMillans provides a perfect getaway that guests can make their very own. Villas and Cottages are self-contained inlcuding linen, fully equipped kitchen, living areas with TV/DVD, laundry, balcony and bar-b-cue. We look forward to welcoming you to this beautiful corner of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your McMillans of Metung Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McMillans of Metung Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.