We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idylic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorings at Metung

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Moorings at Metung to your Saves list
The Moorings at Metung
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   44 Metung Road | Bancroft Bay, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Idylic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in a ground floor, two bedroom apartment overlooking the marina on the long weekend in June. There was undercover parking which meant we were nice and dry when loading and unloading the car which made life a lot easier. The apartment was nice and clean and the main bedroom was spacious (read massive) with lots of room and a great en-suite. The bed was firm without being hard and very comfortable and there were power points available on each side of the bed. The showers had lots of hot water and really good water pressure.

The apartment had a small but functional kitchen and a clean medium sized fridge. The dining and lounge had comfortable chairs with a nice view overlooking the marina. The apartment was heated by a quiet split system however the second bedroom had a noise split system for the upstairs apartment directly outside the room which could be heard throughout the night.

You could also hear the people walking noisily in the apartment above you so this was a bit of a distraction when trying to sleep in.

The location was great, close to the local shops and cafe's

Room Tip: Try and get an upstairs apartment do you have no one walking and making noise above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed in a motel unit for just one night, clean, well equipped room.
Only UHT milk in the fridge, real milk would be preferable.
Indoor/outdoor pool & spa a onus, plus a tennis court.
Free wi-fi available upon request.
Very short walk to all major eateries plus local pub (lovely food)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

wonderful accomodation, in the perfect position! we had a 3 bedroom apartment which we shared with close friends, we didnt feel cramped at all, plenty of space, and everything you need, which was fantastic!

To be able to moor the boat and just walk to the end of the jetty and drive off, is definitely something we enjoy the most about this place!

A wonderful view looking out onto the water with the town centre (pub, fantastic cafes, bakery, small supermarket, fishing shop) only a few steps away whilst you walk along the jetty/boardwalk enjoying the beautiful views!

last time we stayed here we didnt get to experience a view quite as good as we stayed in a motel room overlooking king lake on the other side of the complex, I would recommend staying in the bancroft bay apartments anyday!

The only thing that I didnt like was having to pay an extra $10 for fresh towels the second day, I believe we payed enough for the stay per night not to pay extra for this (or they could put it into the price) because I enjoy having fresh towels daily, and I didnt have the time to go to the shop and pay for washing powder to wash and dry them myself! So either expect to pay for this, or take some washing powder to do it yourself!

Room Tip: I would recommend paying extra for an apartment that over looks bancroft bay...or go with friends/fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Martha. Vic
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a relaxed weekend staying at The Moorings. Our apartment was clean and spacious with a large bathroom and comfortable bed. We made use of the indoor pool and spa after a day driving around visiting wineries and local towns. Staff were friendly and helpful, wifi was easy access. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather which made this weekend even better. Metung certainly put on a show with spectacular misty sunrises and beautiful russet sunsets. A much needed short break which will be memorable.

Room Tip: Waterfront apartments have a better view but the lake King apartments are quieter and open onto the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in May 2014. Got a one bedroom superior apartment. Was expecting a lake view, I got trees in front a lake, In fact all the lake views get free tree views instead of water views. The apartment was clean and serviceable. However if use up all your dunny roll you have to buy more! And told take all your rubbish with you when you leave, ?. What ?, and you get to pay 180 dollars for such a privilege ? Hmmm i think there would better places to stay. The meetung village is nice and quite and peaceful. The local pub looked good but very pricey !

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MooringsMetung, Manager at The Moorings at Metung, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you Normandy S for your review and we are glad you found Metung to be quiet and peaceful.

Whilst the majority of our accommodation is waterfront we attempt on our website to have accurate descriptions and views; all category photography opens with the actual view from the apartment. We also provide a resort layout schematic. We are disappointed to read this didn't assist with your selection of accommodation category..

Apartment accommodation at The Moorings is "self catering" however the stocks of paper products (including back up) are more than sufficient for a short stay. We understand stocks of such were sufficient for your stay with us. Guests are not requested to take rubbish with them and bins are conveniently located throughout the property..

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.,
Jim Delany
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed here in late January. We stayed in one of the double storey apartments at the back of the property. While they don't have the views of the marina, they still have nice views of the beach and water. They are also much quieter than the front facing marina apartments.

The apartment was well furnished, with lots of nice paintings, maps, etc to look at, which added a nice feel. The beds were comfortable enough, the kitchen was well stocked and there was plenty of seating throughout the kitchen/diner/outdoor areas.

While the upstairs has a air conditioner, the downstairs (where the bedroom are) doesn't. While this wasn't an issue for us as it wasn't that hot, it would be an issue if you are staying here on hot days. There are fans in the cupboards, but they really need air conditioning downstairs to make it comfortable on hot nights.

The pool was nice, with a spa, indoor heated pool and outdoor pool. The only issue with the pool area was the lack of policing of the rules. While the rules stated no children by themselves and no running/jumping, there was no policing of this.

We did not use the tennis courts, but they were very popular. The BBQ areas were extremely clean and easy to use, highly recommended.

We ate at the Metung Hotel twice, which was very nice and recommended.

Overall our stay was enjoyable, but with a few little faults.

Room Tip: The double storey apartments at the back of the property are nice, quiet and similar to the marina f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a great welcome and were offered two rooms to consider. We chose an upstairs one with great views across the inlets towards Raymond Island. The room was spotless with beautiful linen and a large bathroom and an immediately used shower. We enjoyed strolling about the little peninsular looking at the boats and identifying the birds. We both slept well but next time would probably opted for breakfast in the bakery down the street rather than the offering that was brought to our room. There are a number of restaurants nearby and we really enjoyed our night here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moorings at Metung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings at Metung

Address: 44 Metung Road | Bancroft Bay, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Metung
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Metung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings at Metung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Moorings at Metung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings At Metung Hotel Metung
The Moorings Hotel Metung
The Moorings Resort Metung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorings at Metung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.