We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Metung” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Moorings at Metung

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Moorings at Metung to your Saves list
The Moorings at Metung
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   44 Metung Road | Bancroft Bay, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing Metung”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had an unexpected night in Metung and called into the Moorings at Metung. We stayed in a motel room, which was light and airy and well furnished, no view but opening doors onto a little verandah, as we were just passing through this suited for the night. WiFi is an additional fee.. Staff were very helpful and showed us the apartments with great water views, which were 2 and 3 bedroom. The apartment we were shown would cater for 8 people and was very well furnished. All areas were well maintained and very clean. Short walk into the little village. Probably a bit more costly than some places we have stayed but would suit for a special stay.

Room Tip: Best views are the 2 and 3 bedroom apartments. Front the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The moorings are a very well kept holiday apartment complex in Metung, Victoria near Lakes Entrance. This hidden little fishing village is very quaint and has loads of character compared to Lakes Entrance. The apartments are reasonably basic but clean and tidy and very spacious, everything in the apartment worked (which is one of my pet peeves). The kitchens are ok I would have preferred a full oven but for the short stay the BBQ’s scattered around the property were sufficient. We did book late and it was school holidays......a big Spa bath which was great to soak in after the walk around the bay.

Great location, very uer friendly accommodation and helpful management....... I would come again.

Room Tip: the rooms either overlook the river or the bay. Ours overlooked the river from the deck, so sundown...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night in a large two bedroom apartment right on mariner. Great views and good location being near shops. Host was very welcoming and helpful. Not the cheapest place but in comparison to most accomodation we found on sydney to melbourne route, it was fair for the standard.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at The Moorings for 3 nights at the end of August. Our townhouse (#11) suited our needs perfectly. The apartment had ample space in the bedrooms and living area. With a good sized balcony overlooking the lake (not the moorings). The kitchen was well equipped. The apartment was spotlessly clean as were the common area facilities at the resort. We made use of the indoor pool and spa and the tennis court - all excellent. The location right in town was very convenient. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed at the Moorings with my partner in late June 2012.

The purpose of our trip was for us to have a getaway not too far from home, and try some fishing in the Lakes Entrance area. Metung is about a 30 minute drive from Lakes Entrance.

I chose Moorings at Metung because of its proximity to nice looking fishing spors. I was very pleased to find just how ideal the place turned out to be!

We were very lucky and got an upgrade to the 2 Bedroom Apartment overlooking Bancroft Bay. The view is spectacular and I would pay the extra money for it next time. The Apartment was metres away from the accommodation's private moorings, and a short Boardwalk which will take you to the village greens, shops, restaurant & pub. Everything is very close. The apartment's kitchen is fully kitted out if you want to cook all your meals here, and there was a washer and dryer in the main bathroom. I thought the furnishings were new and tasteful, and bed linen very fresh and comfortable.
The site has a beautiful indoor heated pool & spa, and also a tennis court. Our apartment had an underground parking spot.

There are many places to fish in the area. We liked the long Boardwalk on Bancroft Bay side of Metung (30 second drive), which is calm and pleasant, and the Tambo River bank (10 minute drive).

One night we ate at a nearby restaurant called the Metung Gallery which was brilliant. great steak, seafood linguini & local wines.

All in all, we had a very good time staying at the Moorings!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed in a motel room for one night, 12 June 2012. The room was very comfortable, with excellent bedding. Outlook from the room was OK - a glimpse of the Lakes across the road. No breakfast to speak of.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent 5 nights in a 3 bedroom Bancroft apartment with 4 Adults and 1 Child. The Apartment had direct views over the bay and mooring. The apartment was a combination of a 2 bed suite and an attached motel style room with its own balcony over looking the pool and tennis court. The Other main bedroom had direct views over the bay. The main balcony was large and had seating for 4 people with great views. The owners/managers were delightful and were very accomodating to our needs. We would highly reccomend this for your stay. There are other room types and I did read that others were dissapointed with some but best to ring and ask the questions if you have somthing in particular in your mind. I always do now everywhere I stay and it avoids dissapointment on check in. Not every room in every establishment is the best room. Also remeber you get what you pay for. If it is a cheaper room it will not be the best view/ size/ location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Moorings at Metung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings at Metung

Address: 44 Metung Road | Bancroft Bay, Metung, Victoria 3904, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Metung
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Metung
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Moorings at Metung 4.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Moorings at Metung reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moorings At Metung Hotel Metung
The Moorings Hotel Metung
The Moorings Resort Metung

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Moorings at Metung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.