We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great ambiance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gamekeepers Secret Country Inn

The Gamekeepers Secret Country Inn
1555 Melton Highway, Melton, Victoria 3335, Australia
97471000
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 49 Restaurants in Melton
Price range: $18 - $23
Restaurant details
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, great ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We ate here with family, and had a really enjoyable meal. The atmosphere really is like an authentic 'olde-world' Inn, complete with huge fireplace, loads of wooden beams and low ceilings. It was packed, which is a testament to the quality of the great food and friendly staff, who really go out of their way to please. The beer was good, too!!! It was all reasonably priced and the portion sizes are huge. There were certainly no complaints at our table.... a place to remember, I think.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    10
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 out of 4”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Food is ok. Music was too loud one night. Note we have been there many times. Last two times were bad. About four months ago out of two beers, no chicken dishes and no ribs. What do you have. This week sunday, billed for drinks not ordered, lucky we were in a group and each paid our share. Wont be back for some time will check reviews.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Looks like the place is getting revamped , had a great steak at good value , well worth a visit , friendly staff I had don't know what the others are saying

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a Family had previously had Lunch for 12 there which was good but nothing spectacular. Went there again on June 1st with 8 people. Service very poor, no "on tap" beer(only stubbies or bottles) food very ordinary. I paid for the meal and later when my Daughter in Law went up to pay they never told her we had already settled the account. Only when my Wife informed the staff did they stop from charging her!!
This place needs a strong Manager to get it going again, no open fire and it was a cold day and from conversations from the table next to us they weren't happy either.
We will not be going there again until it improves 100%All in all very poor quality in every aspect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
“Tomatoe sauce with a seafood platter????”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Booked for Saturday before mothers day and took my 83 yo mother out for what I thought would be a nice wholesome dinner. 3 of us ordered the seafood platter, NO Aioli left in the kitchen to put on the side. NO tartar sauce. Was offered TOMATO sauce for our platters. You have to be joking. Isnt this suppose to be a restaurant. The fish was far too oily and tasteless. One of the mussel's had no chili sauce. The snapper that was ordered was over cooked. The mashed potato that was served with the steak was lumpy. I informed not 1 but 3 staff and they smiled and just gave me the bill. I would of appreciated a discount for the sub served meals. BUT NO. So hence this bad review. Go to a pub you would be better service and meals.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gamekeepers Secret Country Inn also viewed

 
Melton, Victoria
Melton, Victoria
 

Been to The Gamekeepers Secret Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gamekeepers Secret Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.