We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toboggan Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Mountain Alpine Resort

Lake Mountain Alpine Resort
Lake Mountain Road, Marysville, Victoria, Australia
+61 3 5957 7222
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lake Mountain is Melbourne's closest and most affordable alpine resort, just a 120 kilometre drive from Melbourne. A year round destination for the entire family which during the winter months offers over 37 kilometres of cross-country ski trails, toboggan slopes and plenty of snow play areas. During spring and summer enjoy exhilarating flying fox rides, laser skirmish, challenging mountain bike trails and enchanting mountain walks. The Resort provides skiers with the opportunity of learning new skills in a relaxed, fun environment. Our ski school provides both the young and the young at heart with professional ski instruction. Enjoy an intimidation free experience! We offer ski clothing and equipment hire on site over the winter months so there is no reason to not enjoy the diverse experiences that the mountain offers. At the end of an active day enjoy majestic mountain views, local seasonal food and hot and cold beverages at the licensed Cafe or Bistro.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Toboggan Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A great location for an introduction of kids to the snow. Even on poor quality snow days the snow machines provide adequate coverage for an easy toboggan run for little kids to enjoy safely - even novices!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    34
    4
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Can't wait to go back next year! Everyone was so friendly! Be sure to get to the top of the mountain early (8,30-9am) to get to the top car park. Eat lunch around 11am because after 12 it becomes bedlam with no tables available. Lots of tourists heading up on day trips get there around lunch time and the toboggan slopes get really really busy!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“patchy snow and dirty cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were disappointed by the tiny area of 'snow' at the time we visited but had fun with our toddler and our toboggan anyway. The cafe was dirty and the food was overpriced and poor quality, definitely wish we had taken our own picnic as there were places to eat indoors.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Close to melbourne, and very enjoyable tobogganing slopes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The beauty of this place is in it's distance to Melbourne - a very doable one day trip. Beware of early morning fog through the forests.

Meals at the restaurant are affordable and your typical fast food type of place.

Tobogganing is very enjoyable - a consistent speed and smooth surface, no muddy holes on the main slope. It can however be a bit packed, especially during school holidays or weekends.

I suggest checking the snow cams before you leave, however they also have snow making facilities so you aren't likely to be too disappointed.

It is more expensive than most other alpine resorts probably because it's the closes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to Lake Mountain on 11 & 12 July 2013. We booked our car passes online in advance to pay the cheaper rate.

From the minute we arrived the staff were fantastic. Every staff member was friendly and helpful.

There was only man made snow when we visited, but this did not detract from our fun. We had great fun tobogganing and my 7 year old daughter braved the flying fox and loved it.

The cafe was reasonably priced and had a good selection of food. Again, all the staff were excellent.

A lollypop from Santa each day topped of the visit.

We are already planning to come back soon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Mountain Alpine Resort also viewed

Marysville, Victoria
 

Been to Lake Mountain Alpine Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Mountain Alpine Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.