We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, great local knowledge.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tower Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tower Motel to your Saves list
Tower Motel
33 Murchison St, Marysville, Victoria 3779, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marysville
Parkdale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing service, great local knowledge.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just returned from spending two nights in Marysville staying at the Tower Motel. Dave and Leanne could not have been more welcoming and helpful, they were full of very helpful advice about what to do in the area and where to eat. The rooms were very clean and tidy, I was pleasantly surprised about how nicely they were decorated. Breakfast was provided in a separate dining room on our first morning, and was fantastic. We spent a day at Lake Mountain where the kids enjoyed tobogganing, the flying fox and the husky display. We also visited Steavenson Falls, which were beautiful, we climbed to the top and enjoyed the spectacular view. Bruno's sculptures were loved by the kids and adults alike. Everyone we met was incredibly friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Tower Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our services here but most importantly that you enjoyed the sights and attractions here within our region. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the near future. David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    19
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
37
56
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Narre Warren South
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

4 (mature aged couples) booked for 2 nights, were given a special deal which included continental breakfast. Advised on where to eat and what to see.

Were given unlimited use of a 'special room' where we could sit and chat and have the odd wine and beer, instead of cramming into one of the rooms.

Dave and Leanne couldn't do enough for us and made us feel quite welcome.

To top it off we were all given a $10.00 gift voucher to be used at their daughter's beautiful little boutique in the town.

We had such a great time we have decided to make it annual event.

Room Tip: The owners are in the process of upgrading the rooms. Currently only Room 2 has been finalised and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Tower Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
THANK YOU! This is why we love what we do here - these kind of reviews are what we (my family) and I strive for. We look forward to your return again soon! David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

The owner's daughter is made for this job! She greeted us warmly as we entered the reception area and told us all about Marysville, gave us restaurant recommendations and ideas on things to do. She told us a bit of their story since the 2009 fires and that really added to our appreciation of this town. And the strength of the community to rebuild.

Beds were comfy. Little touches were nice, like the local produce stocked in the mini-bar.

We came to Marysville so my husband could cycle up Lake Mountain, and he loved the experience as much as the Tour de France!

I waited for him at the bottom, and really enjoyed the friendly community atmosphere in the local cafe. People wave to you a you drive by. Would love to come back again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My husband and I first visited Marysville in 2006 and fell in love with it's low key vibe and strinkingly beautiful historic buildings, all set against the back drop of the evenmore beautiful Mystic Mountain range. The fiery, ruby jewel colours of the local trees in Marysville, gives way to beautiful rainforest, crisp waterfalls, sky high snowgums, mountain vistas and where you will spot, wallabies, parrots and even the peacock looking lyrebird if you are lucky.

When the world watched on, the bushfires ravaged the area in 2009, we sat and wept with country Victorians, if not the globe. An unwanted noterity really for this lovely spot. After the fires, Marysville as we all knew it, was no more and everything we loved fell away to trauma and despair. As Victorians we felt so part of this, yet so helpless. Three years have ticked by and only last week I saw on the local Melbourne news about how much Marysville has done to rebuild and 'woo' the tourists back. This local community needs and relies on tourism to survive. They are so ready, but for the people who have been through hell and stayed to rebuild they badly need our tourist dollars. So with an unusual autumnal 25 degree weekend predicated, we decided to head up to do our best to support this lovely local town, 25 minutes from Healesville and enjoy this beautiful spot once more.

I called David from Tower Motel to check availability. The website looked great and certainly was a big jump from my impression (and experience!) of the 'motel norm'. David was really friendly and just sounded so delighted we were coming up to stay, which was just so refreshing. I realised the legacy of having to rebuild and start again, after 5 businesses that David lost during the fires, is that he is truly passionate and appreciative about his business. The impression is that he is grateful for each and every guest that stays and terribly proud. And so you should be. The motel is an old building which David and his family took over after the fires, and wow, have they given it a new lease of life! The rooms were a good size with the comfiest bed ever, that would give Crown in Melbourne a run for it's money! We both agreed that the bed was comfier than our brand new and fairly expensie bed at home. They have a great lounge area in each room, with a trendy feel that is refreshing compared to what you would see in any other motel. I am not normally a big lover of red and black as decor colour, but with all the white, it keeps it fresh -so why not! It works!! They bathroom was immaculate with fresh white towels and a great shower. The list goes on. The only thing I would say is we would have liked in the compendium - that there was nothing in there about Marysville at all, which was odd. Tell us the story.. we want to hear about Marysville and plan our following day. But it wasn't a bother as we headed the brand new Marysville tourist info. centre and wow, that was great. And David gave us lots of ideas. We enjoyed the most fabulous brekkie at Frangos, with local smoked trout and free range local scrambled l eggs. Another look around town and we jumped in the car and headed up Lake Mountain for a wonderful, suggested walk. The 10 km drive to the carpark for 'The Beeches' walk is stunnning - we saw black walllabies, parrots, rabbits and so many birds. So the wildlife is back! This is one of the about 20 designed and marked walks in the area. We chose this as it lead us through the Yarra Ranges Nat Park and to a beautiful waterfall that cascades around giant ferns and gums.

So if you are here in Victoria on holiday please count Marysville in on your trip from Healesville. And like us if you just wanted 24 hours out the city, do it. It is a handsome town, that has re-blossed into an honest, stunning, soul nuturing spot with a new look, but the same heart. We now feel ready for another week of work. Sort of! Thanks David, we will be back and recommend you to friends and family. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Tower Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
The longest review we have ever received! And THANK YOU!! We are very pleased you enjoyed our services here at The Tower Motel but also THANK YOU for all your other recommendations of sights and attractions here within our region. There is lots to do and see here and glad that you (and hopefully now others) enjoyed the many MUST DO's. We thank you and look forward to your return shortly. David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Tower Motel and had a lovely, comfortable stay that was topped by the genuinely warm hospitality from the owners, Leanne and Dave. Dave was full of local knowledge and advice about where to go and what to do, and Leanne couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy and had everything we needed. Our room was spacious, clean, well laid out, well equipped and very comfortable. The beds were great and we slept like rocks! The motel is located right in the heart of town and is a short stroll to restaurants and shops. In 2009 Marysville was devastated by Australia's worst bushfires in history, with around 90% of its buildings destroyed, and the town is still recovering and rebuilding. However, it remains a beautiful place and the locals are doing their best to rebuild and restore Marysville to the popular tourist spot it once was and should still be. Marysville is the ideal spot to base yourself to explore the nearby towns (Yea, Eildon, Buxton) and there are great walks and treks to enjoy in and around Marysville itself. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nar Nar Goon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was one of the best short stays we have had. Dave the owner of the hotel could not be nice enough nothing was to much trouble and they were great in giving us tips on where to eat. Marysville is beautiful and a great place to use as a base for your motorbike rides - the roads are in excellent condition and the hills make for a very relaxing day. We should all support this beautiful country town everyone you come across is so nice and willing to please their visitors Cannot wait to come back to the town and the motel

Room Tip: All rooms were of good standard- the hotel is right in the middle of town and you can walk to almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the Tower motel. Room was clean and comfortable and Dave was friendly and couldnt do enough to help us have a great stay, as was everyone else that we meet in the town. We will be back again but next time for longer!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Motel

Address: 33 Murchison St, Marysville, Victoria 3779, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Marysville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Marysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tower Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.