We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Easter weekend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goulburn Valley High Country Rail Trail

Goulburn Valley High Country Rail Trail
Mansfield | to Tallarook, Mansfield, Victoria 3722, Australia
1800 787 245
Website
Improve this listing
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Easter weekend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A 70, 60, near 50, and a 12 yr old..we rode Mansfield to Tallarook over Easter and thoroughly enjoyed it. We found the 60km from Mansfield to Yark harder going, felt like much further, the larger, looser gravel surface made it hard slog at times, very bumpy, we were also carrying our belongings on our backs for the 4 days which didn't help. Yark to Yea was the most enjoyable leg, 35kms of smoother pathway, beautiful scenery and excitement with a tunnel! (our bags were taken to Yea for us that day). Loved that ride and would love to do it again! Yea to Tallarook was an easy ride, also good. Toilets were along the way but you need to go into towns for water, was fine for us as the weather was cooler, however if riding in Summer you would need to fill up at every opportunity. Would have loved signs directing us to Devonshire Tea here!! :)
Stayed a great accommodation along the way and enjoyed excellent Pub meals at night.
We found the Beechworth-Bright trail easier in comparison and have done the full length on one day several times. We split this trail over 3 days and personally I would not do this one in one day...however am sure many riders could and would, Highly recommend this trail for a great ride and some thrown in "Serenity".

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic family bike trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We did these 2 bike trails with our 12 year old son: Yea to Tallarook & Mansfield to Boonie Doon. Both stretches are very picturesque with lush pastures, eucalyptus trees and gently rolling hills. While we are experienced riders, the trail is well laid and an achievable ride for beginners. We discovered a lovely Devonshire tea room on the trail in Trawool. Delicious homemade scones and a pot of tea were enjoyed in the garden overlooking the distant hills.
The information office distributes a bike trail booklet which can be a little misleading. The booklet mentions 3 towns: Granite, Kerrisdale and Homewood - none were sign posted so don't rely on them for refreshments or toilet stops. There are environmental type toilets along the track - but no drinkable water so be prepared.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“GREAT Victorian Rail Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Now renamed and appropriate! We went from Mansfield to Bonnie Doon and back. About. 45 kms. Track is treed most if the way, smooth and well maintained. Stop at the free iced water stand in Maindample and then a coffee at Bonnie Bar. Wonderful scenery including kangaroos along the way. A must do by foot bike or horse if you are in the area .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great Aussie scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We rode the entire trail from Tallarook to Mansfield via Alexander and return in 5 days over Australia day weekend. It was one of the best trails we have done, beautiful scenery consisting of rolling hills, gum trees, old farming sheds, sheep, cattle, rivers, dams, all what you expect in country Victoria. The trail is not difficult as gradient is manageable. You will need a mountain bike or hybrid as surface can be gravelly in some areas and hard compact sand may have some ruts developed after riding on it during a wet day. I highly recommend the trail. You can easily do smaller sections as parking is available in most towns. All of the trail is fabulous no matter where or which direction you are traveling

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A relaxing ride away from the cars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I did the Bonnie Doon to Mansfield section and found the ride very relaxing. Being a disused railway there are no steep hills, however there are some long hills where you need to pace yourself (well I should have).
Most of the trail for this section is fine gravel and is very suited to hybrid or mountain bike tyres. I have put narrower tyres on my hybrid for road riding, but would swap back to the wider profile to do this section again. A guy did ride past me on a full road bike and he seemed to do OK.
There are well defined road crossings (for the cars too) and toilet facilities.
A few sections have trees growing very close to the track and provide a magical enclosure for you to ride through, particularly as you ride into Mansfield.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goulburn Valley High Country Rail Trail also viewed

 

Been to Goulburn Valley High Country Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulburn Valley High Country Rail Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.