We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the room with the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wave Oasis

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mallacoota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wave Oasis
Save
You added The Wave Oasis to your Saves list
36 Vista Drive, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Mallacoota B&B and Inns
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Take the room with the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

We did, and we were glad we did because it appeared that the other two suites had no view at all.
The suite we booked also has a large balcony with outdoor chairs, table, and a hammock!
The suite was clean and tidy, we had great young host that was never intrusive but always available if we needed anything, and there was a well equipped kitchenette for cooking small meals.
The rooms were quiet (we never heard the guests next door) and the town is only a fifteen minute walk away.

Room Tip: take the room with the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

Reviews highly over-rate this B and B. Only oneof the 3 rooms seems to have a view - ours didn't. This is a good average motel unit with a reasonable breakfast provided. At AU$185 for the night this is the most expensive place we've stayed at on our trip and is sifgnificantly over-priced in our opinion.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellagio
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

beautiful bedroom, fully equipped, very friendly owner!
there is also terrace where we stay to eat and read!
just outside the town centre in a very quiete and nice place!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

The owners Sarah and Michael are extremely helpful and friendly and I liked that this is their home and you see their children playing around the place – it all feels very homely. They have a veg garden and chickens, which adds to the cosy impression. We stayed in the suite (I think that's what they call it but can't quite remember), which has a fully kitted-out kitchenette, a living area, separate bedroom, a bathroom with Jacuzzi bath and a verandah with comfortable furniture and lovely views out over the garden and the small leafy town to the beach in the distance. Everything was very clean and well maintained. When we left Michael apologised profusely for having forgotten to put a new loo roll on the holder! (there was one in the bathroom cupboard so it really wasn't a problem, but it seemed to matter to him, which I think is a sign of a good host). One small criticism is that I'd say the decor was not quite to our taste (although it was perfectly pleasant) but that's just a matter of personal preference. The way breakfast is supplied may or may not suit you as you're left to cook for yourselves – eggs, bread, milk etc are put in the fridge and butter and spreads are left in the kitchen along with a few pieces of fresh fruit (apples, bananas, oranges). This was fine for us as we'd planned to go out for breakfast anyway and were happy with a cup of tea and bit of toast before we headed out for 'proper' breakfast. If you were looking for an actual B&B experience though where breakfast is cooked for you, then this is not Again, this is a minor criticism but although a few different teabags are provided, there's only instant coffee, no real stuff, which seemed odd in a country where coffee generally seems to be taken very seriously.
The bathroom was roomy, squeaky clean and well stocked with perfectly clean soft towels. The toiletries were lovely – plenty of them and they were a nice brand with lots of plant ingredients. We didn't use the Jacuzzi bath but I'd guess from the rest of the place that it was good quality and in perfect working order.
Something to be aware of is that this place is round the bay from the main part of the town (marina, shops and restaurants) in a more residential area. This means it's very quiet but does also mean that you need to have a car. If you didn't have your own transport I suppose you could get taxis, otherwise it'd be a fairly long walk home.
All in all the Wave Oasis is welcoming, well appointed, and very good value. We only stayed one night but would have been very happy to stay longer if we hadn't been moving on from Mallacoota.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

This B+B is one of the best we stayed at during our trip to Australia. Go for the front room which is luxury at its best with spa, spacious lounge, kitchen and bedroom as well as an outdoor decking area that has one of the best views of the bay you are likely to see.

If you go to Mallacota you have to stay here!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

This B&B would have to be the best I have ever seen. Starting as soon as we arrived with the amazing presentation, we received a warm and friendly greeting from our hosts David & Sarah. The studio we stayed in was in fabulous condition - with everything from furniture to utensils all looking brand new! This B&B has been kept remarkably clean and was a delight to stay in. Located in a nice, quiet area, close to the beach and bush walks, the views of the ocean from 'The Wave Oasis' is priceless! I would highly reccomend anyone to stay here as you will feel not only pampered by the generous hosts, but also be able to unwind and simply enjoy all the beauty Mallacoota has to offer.

  • Liked — I loved how much the hosts made us feel welcome and how impecable the rooms were.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder CO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2007

This is one of the best fully contained B&Bs we've ever stayed at. The place was immaculately clean and well organized, the views were spectacular, and the hosts completely charming.

We arrived late after a hard day driving from Canberra. David, our host, couldn't have been more welcoming and inviting. He promptly showed us our 1 bedroom apartment and offered to grab our bags. We were starving, so the 5 minute drive to town took precedence.

David and Sarah have obviously put a lot of thought into the small details to make the place inviting. All kitchen utensils look brand new and knives sharp. The refrigerator is stocked with food for breakfast, so were were able to cook at our leisure and eat on the deck. The view of the Mallocoota inlet is wonderful.

The deck comes with a hammock and the bathroom with a tub with jets. Washer and dryer are there too. Unlike some B&Bs we've been to, there is no exaggeration on their website--everything was as expected.

The biggest mistake we make was only scheduling 1 night here. To truly appreciate it and the area, a full week would have been more appropriate.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wave Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wave Oasis

Address: 36 Vista Drive, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mallacoota
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mallacoota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wave Oasis has three self contained apartments. Our water view 1 bedroom apartment is very popular, as this room features a separate bedroom with a king size bed (also able to make into two king singles), a large balcony overlooking the lake, ocean and mountains, a large rose spa/shower and a fully equipped kitchen. Our 2 studio apartments are a lovely open living style. They do not have water views, but you will find comfort, peace and rest. They feature a queen size bed, en suite, private courtyard and a kitchenette. The apartments reflect stylish decor throughout, and a high standard of facilities, furnishings and guest services surrounded by attractive, manicured, landscaped gardens. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wave Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.