We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karbeethong Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mallacoota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karbeethong Lodge
16 Schnapper Point Drive, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Mallacoota
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

There is a sense of peace and calm at Karbeethong that is unique in the world. The rooms are absolutely charming, and the views are spectacular. It is a place where you really can breathe. You can relax on the verandah with a good book, with a glass of wine in front of the fire, or even hire a tinny to row on the inlet ... But we were very lucky when we were there in that the pilot of a light plane flew in with friends for the weekend, and took us up in his plane for a view of the lodge from above. Breathtaking!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
palermo
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

our few days passed with long walks by the lake and gentle afternoons on the porch. karbeethong effortlessly evokes a sense of the bygone world.. the rooms were sweet in an unpretentious country manner, we found the heating adequate and the managers unobtrusively present. a location and getaway that was really a balm for the soul.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

It was just perfect to go back to Karbeethong lodge for a second time. Once again we experienced what is a very special place. Beautiful views, a verandah that you could sit on all day and enjoy the peace as well as a lounge area that has been decorated with a great deal of thought. Breakfast is provided and the kitchen has everything you need if you want to prepare your own meals. We will certainly go again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Karbeethong lodge is such a unique, beautiful place to stay. We spent 5 nights there.and loved the rooms and the location, the beautiful communal kitchen with individual fridges and adjoining dining room. The main sitting room with fireplace was the ideal place to finish a day with a glass of wine and a book and the front verandah looking over the blissful lake was the best way to begin the next. Don't hesitate to book.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view at the front of the lodge or even better - the studio apartment with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

everything about our stay here was wonderful , the beaches and the countryside are pristine and the view from the lodge over the lad is sublime , we really felt looked after by the staff and were completely comfotable , can't wait to come and stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The view from here is great, and you can bring your own food and cook for yourself if you want to. The rooms are small and cold. The managers supplied electric space heaters that helped a lot, but it simply was not cozy. The big dining room was also cold and damp feeling, and the fire really did not heat the large sitting room. Internet service was erratic. One might say this place has character, but it just felt tired to us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I found our trip to Karbeethong one of the most relaxing and peaceful holidays we've had for such a long time. The environment is outstanding, the Lodge is perfect and the managers of Karbeethong were so considered in their approach. They created a particularly seamless and sophisticated experience where we really felt at home. Can't wait to back there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karbeethong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbeethong Lodge

Address: 16 Schnapper Point Drive, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mallacoota
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Mallacoota
Also Known As:
Karbeethong Hotel Mallacoota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karbeethong Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Karbeethong Lodge to your Saves list