We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rested and relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karbeethong Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mallacoota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karbeethong Lodge
Save
You added Karbeethong Lodge to your Saves list
16 Schnapper Point Drive, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mallacoota
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Rested and relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Karbeething Lodge is a stylish Edwardian old homestead with a brilliant verandah that takes advantage of the uninterupted view of the Mallacoota inlet. The gardens rolling green lawns leading almost to the waters edge gives a sense of space and are a beatiful spot to lie on a rug and read or just sit and gaze at the mountains in the distance. Susan and Tom, the new managers, had the right balance of being helpful and informative but not too intrusive. I had a lovely bedroom that led onto the verandah, my room as with all those in the lodge, was really tastefully decorated. The ensuite was small but clean. The communal kichen is bright and spacious, you get your own fridge,cupboards and work space, being able to cook a meal makes it easier if you have children. The township of Mallacoota has a great noodle bar and a pub that does standard meals if you don't feel like cooking. The children loved Kabeethong Lodge, they felt it was a special place and were happy to go for walks around the grounds, along the inlet and into the National Park. Apart from watching the mist rise over the inlet in the morning my favourite thing was to curl up in the window seat in the lounge with the open fire that had been made by Tom and read. We had a great holiday and came back to Melbourne rested and relaxed. We will definately be back with friends next time as such a beautiful place needs to be shared with others.

Room Tip: The rooms leading on to the verandah have a beautiful aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Magnificent location with everything you need for a peaceful self catered stay. Susan and Tom, the new managers since August, were welcoming and most helpful when we needed it.

Our room was delightful, on the smaller size, but this place was built in the early 1900's. Not all rooms have a view, no need to worry as the verandah has plenty of relaxing seats and spots to soak up the picturesque lake. In fact you can find a day has gone by just sitting enjoying your book or the up to date fashion, design and art magazines available. The lounge and dinning areas are beautiful with large windows allowing guests to take in the views. Whoever has chosen the furniture and fabrics has a great eye for design. The pre prepared fire invites guests to set the mood for their evening.

There is plenty of opportunity to share tales with other guests in the communal areas. There are are also plenty of indoor and outdoor areas get away on your own.

The continental breakfast was simple and the middle eastern inspired stewed fruit was obviously made with love - delicious! You can bring your own food and cook your own meals in the spacious communal kitchen which is clean and easy to use.

This place would be perfect for a big group event. It is also great for a secluded romantic weekend or a beach holiday. This is a lovely place to stay. We will be back.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms off the verandah that seem to be in the best position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Karbethong Lodge could be the setting for an Agatha Christie novel. The restful ambience of the lodge itself and the location combined with the dark wood panelling of the lounge, the rooms off the verandah, and the tranquility of the lake all contribute a to a very beautiful holiday experience. Lots of lovely walks are to be had, and from the verandah the view towards Gabo Island and the NSW border is perfect. The rooms are attractively appointed, whilst the shared public areas of the kitchen, dining room and lounge room are homey and welcoming, very much in the spirit of the old fashioned guest house Karbethong Lodge is. As others have noted it is possible to book the place out, and certainly we plan to return. A quick drive into Mallacoota to seek out the local noodle shop or a counter meal, are two good eating out options, if you don't want to self cater.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Having stayed at Karbeethong Lodge recently with my partner, I felt I had to respond to the previous [writer’s] comments. Perhaps he/she was under the impression this was a hotel, rather than a guesthouse - there is quite a difference. The opposite of a stiff, impersonal hotel, Karbeethong Lodge is the absolutely perfect place from which to explore this beautiful part of the world. It is simple, stylish and relaxed, with everything you need to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. I felt like I had been away for a week, not just for our two nights – we would go again in an instant! Each room - bedroom, kitchen, dining and lounge - is individually and stylishly decorated. The linen was beautiful, with full room service between guests, and a weekly change of linen for longer stays. There is the most superb verandah that runs along the front of the lodge, where you can simply sit and watch the incredible view over the water, read, enjoy tea or a glass of wine. We walked into town in half an hour along the foreshore watching birds and boats out on the lake. Driving the 5 kilometres into town took less than 5 minutes. Breakfast is self serve and delicious, with tea/coffee/juice, cereal, toast and a wonderful fruit medley with yoghurt. For other meals the large communal kitchen has all the appliances you need to prepare the most lavish meal (if you feel inclined). There are a few places to eat locally, but cooking and eating with some of the other guests one of the most enjoyable parts of our stay at this wonderful guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

The veranda of the little cabins and the main lodge overlooks the lake, it is very quiet and restfull. Location is about 15 minutes drive from mallacoota.
The rooms are small a bit like little cabins. Quite basic with two chests of drawers either side of the bed with table lamps. No wrdrobe but a hanging frame for your clothes. The bathroom and shower are adequate, no toiletries jsut one small bar of soap. You make your own beds. You can make tea and coffee etc when every you want in the communal kitchen.
Breakfast is in the communal kitchen and dining area around one large table. Consists of cerials, toast and prunes on a do it yourself basis.
There is a large communal kitchen well equiped for you to do your own cooking on an evening if you wanted to..
In general the rooms need a bit of tLC. Curtains in the room too short in width to cover the window and too long by about 0.5 metres so they trailed on the floor. Need table lamps on otherwise the room is dark with only one small walllight. No aircon but a ceiling fan, bathroom door did not close.
Arrived at 2:45pm but room not ready. I was the only person arriving that day and only one other couple staying. I was given tea and biscuits on the veranda while I waited.
The tea tray was still on the verandah a day later.
Having said that, it is a nice peaceful place, the main lounge is quite baronial in style and has an attraction because of this.
Many people come time after time, (I think for the fishing) I would not.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

The rooms are small but the hosts are great, this is the perfect place if you have a large group say a club wanting to stay together, the kitchen must have 6+ stoves and each room gets its own fridge in the kitchen. Large friendly lounge.
The views are the best,
Well worth the money you wont be disappointed unless you are the type that wants a large room and en-suite.
This is a Guest Hhouse not a hotel make sure you know the difference.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Karbeethong Lodge would be more than perfect for a large group, a reunion, a wedding, or just a couple. Although the rooms are small, the kitchen and public areas are not to be believed. See my photos. A refrigerator for each room, and crockery and equipment for your own cooking. Lots to see in the area, too. Bring your food: the restaurant pickings are slim in the town, at least off season, when we were there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Karbeethong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbeethong Lodge

Address: 16 Schnapper Point Drive, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mallacoota
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mallacoota
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Karbeethong Hotel Mallacoota

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karbeethong Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.