We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice / comfortable motel. -great view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Wren Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mallacoota
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Wren Motel
15 Maurice Ave, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mallacoota
Wonthaggi, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very nice / comfortable motel. -great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

huge bedrooms, large comfortable bed, the ensuite has been upgraded, the shower is small but if that is all to worry about --say no more!! the managers /owners are some of the best persons that operate these motels, we/I have meet!
I was upstairs and was very quite!

Room Tip: rooms upstairs all have a great view looking at the inlet!!! stairs at either end of small balacony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
19
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Always a friendly welcome from the lovely hosts. Rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Value for money is excellent. Town only a few minutes and great beach within a few minutes drive. Always a pleasure to stay at the Blue Wren Motel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langford, Beds
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a delight, clean & comfortable accomodation, good position with lovely views and friendly, helpful owners. A pity we couldn't spend longer in Mallacoota to do some walking, such a lovely place. Not a great choice of food but Lucy's noodles were lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The place looks a bit tired from the outside. However the room we stayed in was bright, modern and very clean. View to the water was excellent. Joe was very welcoming and helpful. Slept extremely well. No noise.
Local hotel provided great service, food and wine. Would recommend to anyone!!

Room Tip: First floor has a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

To be fair - we visited Mallacoota in the off-season, on our way through from Sydney to Melbourne, for one night.
There wasn't an awful lot there. Don't get me wrong, all very nice -water, forest, nature and that - but, well, that's it really.
The Blue Wren Motel is - a Motel.
It does what it says on the tin. A comfortable, clean overnight - on your way to somewhere else.
The Blue Wren Motel is certainly worth the price, but unfortunately that's all I can say about it.
A bit of a "grey mouse", rather than a Blue Wren.

Room Tip: Eat at "Lucy's" Noodles restaurant - just down the road from The Blue Wren and just g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband and I went on a work trip to Mallacoota, and stayed in the Blue Wren Motel. The owners were wonderfully helpful, giving us information about anything we needed help with (locations, etc). Great to have a chat with!
Our room was quite large, which was good value for money. The only disappointment was the lack of sound control between upstairs and downstairs. I think this is only due to the age of the building however.
Lovely decorated, very colorful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

As seems to often be the caste the "free internet" is neither free nor functional. But If you don´t care about that (which for $30 at Telestra you don´t have to) this is a good motel. It is not new, but it is one of the best kept motels we have stayed at in Australia, regardless of price. There is a good BBQ and the rooms are nice size.

Ask for room #8 and you will have a great view to boot too.

Room Tip: Room #8 has the best view. Its upstairs though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Wren Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Wren Motel

Address: 15 Maurice Ave, Mallacoota, Victoria 3892, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Mallacoota
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Mallacoota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Wren Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blue Wren Motel to your Saves list