We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot's of character, pleasent surroundings and lovely room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel

Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maldon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel
Save
You added Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel to your Saves list
35 Reef Street, Maldon, Victoria 3463, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldon
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lot's of character, pleasent surroundings and lovely room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Make most welcome and was upgraded at no cost. Would recommend this motel for a nice relaxing stay while your explore the surrounding areas. Take a trip on the steam train to Castlemaine.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

My mum and I booked by email to stay here weeks in advance of our trip to Victoria. We turned up late on a Sunday afternoon to check in, only to be told by the woman that our reservation was for the night before.

I had booked correctly and had received confirmation by email of the correct date and a room for one night.

After some to and fro and insisting that i had the right date and she insisting that it was for the night before, she abruptly said "well it's too late now because I have given your room to Trace and she is staying four nights." (implying that she was a mate and that, with four nights stay, was worth more money than us).

No apology given, no offer of another room (according to the sign out the front there were still vacancies), nothing.

My mistake was not having the email printed out ... but with her attitude to this point, there was no way I was going to give her my money anyway!

Problem was, there are very little other accommodation options in Maldon ... so I had to make a hurried call (via my trusty Lonely Planet guide) to the Daylesford Accommodation Booking Service. They were more than helpful and absolutely wonderful. They waited at the booking office for us to make the 30 minute drive back to Daylesford - after 5pm on a Sunday - to pick up the keys to our alternative accommodation. They were brilliant!

The same can't be said for this horror hotel.

I checked my email upon returning to Queensland only to find out that I was correct. I sent a scathing email to the Maldon hotel to which a simple reply was given "sorry, my mistake."

After ending up more than $50 out of pocket, plus the inconvenience of an extra drive at the end of a tiring day, I can safely say that we will never visit Maldon again.

I wish the people of Maldon could know how shabby this hotel was as they are the ones that also suffered from our lack of spending a single tourist cent there.

AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!!

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

I'd been interstate and decided to head to Bendigo Art Gallery straight from Tullamarine, instead of going home. I decided to stop at Maldon en route because it's a lovely town in the Goldfields area. I'd chosen the motel before heading interstate but hadn't noted the address. Doh!

By the time I'd eaten in Kyneton it was dark when I arrived in Maldon and the motel was not on the approach road I'd travelled on. Some friendly locals in the main street pointed me in the right direction. It was lateish when I finally arrived. The welcome could not have been warmer.

The room was spacious, the bathroom a decent size, the bed comfortable. And oh the joy of a couch to sit on to watch TV. I liked the decor but it's not blokey if such things are of concern.

I didn't have time to linger but in rose season (whenever that is, I'm no gardener!), sitting on the verandah for breakfast overlooking the garden would be a delight.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

I stayed at the Eaglehawk Motel in early July 2008. I was there for 2 nights while playing in a local golf tournament.

The motel is clean, neat and rather twee. Think a blend of Laura Ashley combined with prized "antique" pieces from local garage sales. I think it would appeal less to us blokes but should keep your partners happy enough.

It has everything youi need but is a 12-15 minute walk from beautiful downtown Maldon.

I think it is a very popular place to sleep in this popular tourist town so bookings are recommended.

  • Liked — Neat, tidy and thoughtful additions to the room
  • Disliked — 15 minute walk to pubs, shops etc.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,388 reviews 1,388 reviews
329 hotel reviews
Reviews in 378 cities Reviews in 378 cities
3,152 helpful votes 3,152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2008

It is thankfully not often when staying at a hotel or motel that one is woken with a 'bang' in the middle of the night.

But at this motel, I woke with a 'start' around midnight. A gold mine some distance away in this historic former major 1850s goldmining town had let off a charge, which was enough to get me dressed and out of the room quick smart.

This Maldon motel features colonial-era decor. It was not quite to my taste, being too 'olde-worlde' for my liking in what came across to me, perhaps unfairly, as a little 'fake.'

That notwithstanding, there were no problems with noise save for the aforementioned explosion, not something that moteliers can control, and after my midnight wake-up call I enjoyed a good night's sleep.

I did not sample breakfast but it appeared to be typical Australian motel fare.

  • Liked — Good location reasonably close to the beautifully historic Main Street
  • Disliked — 'Olde-worlde' fittings and furnishings
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel

Address: 35 Reef Street, Maldon, Victoria 3463, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Maldon
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maldon
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel is a family owned and run business. Capitalising on personal service, the historical nature of Maldon and the motel's unique location within Central Victoria, we seek to create an environment of rest and recreation in peaceful gardens and relaxing amenities and thereby provide a uniquely differentiated experience for our guests. Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel is the small motel with a big difference. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldon's Eaglehawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.