We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you will be surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail

Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail
Lilydale Railway Station car park (north end) | Gardiner Street, Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
1300 368 333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Attractions in Lilydale
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail is an iconic 39 km recreation trail for walkers, cyclists and horse riders. The trail follows the path of the historical railway line through the stunning Yarra Valley commencing at the rear of the Lilydale Railway Station and finishing in the Warburton township.Follow the 'Warburton Trail' through vineyards, beautiful mountain scenery, farmlands and forests. Cross the many restored bridges. Meander past remnants of the former station platforms and stop in at the original 1882 railway station, also known as the Upper Yarra Museum.The Rail Trail's gentle gradients make it ideal for all levels of fitness including families. Access to the trail is free for the public, however permits may be required for events.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“you will be surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved the location. the peacefulness. The menu was very resonable and the plates where full. Catering for every style. Maybe a limi9ted bar license would be good for those just wanting a laid back lunchwhilst admiring the cyclists.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Ideal for the Cyclist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the route of a disused railway, which is well maintained for cyclists use and the walker too - if you are keen. Keeps almost entirely aay from the small townships en-routs so is scenic - but hot in summer. Gentle gradients. Stop-offs on the way.
The Warburton end is very pretty, and worth camping at overnight, but need to book that during school holidays.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is my 3rd trip along the rail trail, but the first in 3 years so my first use of the bridge over the Maroondah Hwy. This change both improves the ride - in that the start at the Lilydale train station is now obvious and easy to find - and makes it more difficult - in that there is a very steep ascent around the school which is just the start of 6.1 km of climbing to start the ride. I should've warmed up a bit more before setting out!!
That said, at the end of that 6.1 km is a great new cafe with an outdoor water tap for refilling and resting in the shade if necessary.
Cog Bike Cafe has left its original spot in Mt Evelyn but its new and improved location at the end of the train in Warby is fantastic - the town cried out for a bike shop! Great bike service - thank you Damo! - as well as coffee and soft drinks. The food looked good, too, though we didn't eat there. The large crowd on Sunday morning pointed to quality though!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Get fit, have fun-and do it for free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Like another reviewer I probably am biased as we live next to the warby trail, but it really is a great day out. I take my 3.5 and 5.5 year olds out on their bikes-we r on our 2nd lot of training wheels now as its a rough surface-and they happily ride their way a little further every time. At last count they ride 10km return and I walk pushing my youngests push bar. Over the years we aim to go the distance with my husband and me also on bikes! The carriage cafe is a brilliant stop with freshly prepared meals, cool seating in the carriage and great picnic spots around it. If you are looking to lose weight then start your journey at Lilydale station as Lilydale to mount Evelyn is fairly uphill, from there on it becomes flatter. Kids love the ride, I love the scenery and the chance to make the kids happy and lose weight for FREE!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Superbly Maintained Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

OK, I'm biased as I live about 200 metres from the trail between Woori Yallock and Yarra Junction and just love it. It is great for a walk or bike ride and you can do just part or the whole 40km. My husband wishes the trains still ran and if they did would quite possibly surpass Puffing Billy in some scenic aspects. I'm glad they don't as it is a beautiful walk.

If you can't ride or walk the entire length, the Killara Station (off Sunnyside/Seville East) to Warburton are the nicest parts.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail also viewed

Lilydale, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lilydale to Warburton Rail Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.