We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Swallow does make a Spring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Swallow Cafe

Little Swallow Cafe
58a Piper Street, Kyneton, Victoria 3444, Australia
+61 3 5422 6241
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Restaurants in Kyneton
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One Swallow does make a Spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Little Swallow Cafe is a local treasure as well as a great place for tourists to enjoy the ambience of a small and thriving town. Set on historic Piper Street, the Little Swallow provides its patrons with World-class coffee (I am a coffee fiend, and this is truly brilliant coffee), and an excellent breakfast and lunch menu featuring fresh local produce. Service is always friendly, prompt and helpful. Owner, Steve Rogers, has cooked in Paris and worked for some years with Jacques Reymond in Melbourne. The daily Specials on the lunch-board are superb and well worth trying. The cafe is small, vibrant and full of local characters. It's a gem. Try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kyneton, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A great breakfast right across the road from the Farmer's Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I really love this breakfast, tasty and satisfying in a little cafe across the road from Piper Street Kyneton's Farmer's Market. Of course it is open on non-market days too. A top hatted chef in an unassuming cafe.

Wonderful!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great stop for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We can only vouch for breakfast at Little Swallow but it was fantastic.

This is a small cafe but a great team and an innovative breakfast menu - try the Breakfast Trifle - amazing !!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Wandered in to this lovely cafe without reading any reviews when we found ourselves in Kyenton last weekend. The service was snappy, with coffee's delivered pronto, followed by yummy focacia's. My husband and I each picked a different focacia option and mentioned almost to ourselves that we would share. The waitress arrived with a half of each on two plates - nice touch. Obviously a good team in back and front of house as the wait staff delivered water and glasses to the tables the minute guests sat down, and the food was served very quickly which is just what you want for lunch. I'd go back to this place in a flash.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We meet up with some family at the Little Swallow recently. Loved the cafe. Only critisism was that the soup and quiche/tart we had were both incredibly rich and both seemed to have a lot of fat content (cream, cheese and butter) I wished later on when my stomach was protesting that I had gone for one of the simpler dishes. Needless to say the food was delicious and the service was very good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Swallow Cafe also viewed

 
Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to Little Swallow Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Swallow Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.