We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Annie Smithers Bistrot

Annie Smithers Bistrot
72 Piper Street, Kyneton, Victoria, Australia
(03) 5422 2039
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Kyneton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Had a fantastic meal here with great service from a young waitress. Best sourdough bread I have ever tasted....beautiful and fresh rather than the usual dry and crunchy found elsewhere. We loved all three courses, especially the scallops and the tarte tartin. Will definitely make the trip back to eat here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    34
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The New Team have taken Annie's to new heights a Vast Improvement on the Old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have dined on several occasions at Annie Smithers both when it was operated by Annie and the new Annie Smithers since it morphed under the ownership of Tim and Michelle Foster

The change of operator/owners has made a world of difference. This is reflected int he quality of the food, its presentation, and the variety and creativity of the menu. You can tell Annie's has moved from being under the control of a well meaning self taught hobbyist to a professional operation. The old regime had a "reputation" the source of which always confounded any serious diner. Yes it may have stood out in a small town but it was frankly boring and never changed.

The new team of Tim and Michelle Foster have expanded the menu, raised the bar in terms of the quality and presentation of food and expanded the wine list to one hat is extensive and exciting at the regional, domestic and international level. Tim and Michel are both ex "The Healsville Hotel" in the Yarra Valley where Tim was head chef. They still continue the tradition of Annie Smithers with a focus on local seasonal produce but now you know it is seasonal as the menu changes.

On our various visits under the new team we have sampled the entire menu. Every one of the dining group has been effusive and we have never had a bad or below par meal. The group includes fussy vegetarians, pesce vegetarians, and carnivores, young and old. Everyone has been well catered for.

The only let down is that when it gets busy service can degrade but that isn't a killer just an annoyance. Despite this it is well worth the visit and the wines wont disappoint.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland N Z
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Almost as good as expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Pleasant setting with quick and helpful service. Great wine choices.
My fish meal was delicious and beautifully prepared and presented though my husband found his steak dish more ordinary without a lot of flavour. Desserts are lovely. Overall a really nice occasion and well recommended.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had lunch on Saturday and while it was our first time we came with our family who had eaten there under the previous owner. The choice of food was really good and the fact they use only local producers was a really good selling point as it is good to see restaurants working with local businesses.

The service was very good and our waitress explained all the courses and about the ethos of the owners. The food was really good and while we managed starters and mains there was no room left to try any of the deserts.

Quite expensive as regards lunch prices but certainly worth the cost.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dinner 29/3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Having been to this restaurant under the previous ownership I went here Saturday night for my birthday. I must say it is right up to the high standard that it was under the old Management. The food and service was excellent. Will be definitely returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annie Smithers Bistrot also viewed

Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
 
Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
Kyneton, Macedon Ranges
 

Been to Annie Smithers Bistrot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Annie Smithers Bistrot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.