We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem, on the Bass Coast, Love the place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Elk Bar & Cafe

Red Elk Bar & Cafe
27 A'Beckett Street, Inverloch, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 19 restaurants in Inverloch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Coffee Specialists : Retro Cafe & Restaurant: Inverloch, Bass Coast retro chic. coffee lounge. bar. coffee specialists. contemporary menu. wraparound outdoor deck. freshly baked treats. licensed. central inverloch location. organic drinks. gluten free. friendly. laid back atmosphere. good for your soul.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem, on the Bass Coast, Love the place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

At The Red Elk, the welcome was warm & friendly, the service superb, food fantastic. The menu was not large but everything on it sounded great, they have a good range of organic food and drinks, excellent coffee. My sister & I had lunch, I had a warm chicken salad and she had a smoked salmon on rye, open sandwich. Both meals were excellent, genourous servings, made even more enjoyable when teamed with a glass of sav blanc. The ambience of the Elk is eclectic, they have local paintings & a small range of quirky 2nd hand books for sale.It was my 1st visit to the Elk and I felt at 'home'. I will certainly go back when I next visit. Keep up the great work.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherineanderson, Owner at Red Elk Bar & Cafe, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review, we really appreciate the feedback and it makes our jobs so worthwhile to hear we've given you a lovely experience...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    10
    12
    3
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inner Melbourne cafe experience in South Gippsland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Have visited this Inverloch icon several times, always for breakfast. Found the various breakfast offerings just excellent, but single out the toasted sangers and the "foccacias" as simply delicious. The coffee bests Melbourne standards, and I just love the organic orange juice. Always find the service prompt and efficient, although it is a small place,so when it gets busy (because it is good!) you do need to exercise some patience. If a local or visiting; make sure you visit for a great cafe experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spudilicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Make sure you go the whole hog and try the spud, make sure your hungry as there is plenty to fill your tummy. The other half had the cous cous salad and loved it too. The service was friendly. The atmosphere was eclectic and free spirited like the customers. We visited as we say it on one of the holiday TV shows and it looked and sounded so good, and it lived up to our expectations. Thank you. See you again when we are in the area.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Marvellous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great food, super friendly staff, quirky decor and first class coffee will make this my first choice next time we're back in town.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Lunch or Breakfast Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

A group of us all loved our lunch - very fresh, innovative food, and fabulous coffee. Some also had breakfast there and raved about it!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Elk Bar & Cafe also viewed

Inverloch, Gippsland
Inverloch, Gippsland
 
Inverloch, Gippsland
Inverloch, Gippsland
 

Been to Red Elk Bar & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Elk Bar & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.