We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Quinn Street, Heidelberg, Banyule, Victoria 3084, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 2 Heidelberg B&B and Inns
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An Absolute Pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at Austin Rise.
It is such a pleasure to stay here. What more could one ask for when you get to the accommodation after a very long day. On arriving on a drizzly coolish Melbourne evening , you enter to the warmth of the fire ablaze. Instantly you feel relaxed after the stressful day at work. Brett was attentive in carrying my bag. And then the offer of a nice glass of red. Luxury to end the day.
I stayed in the Whistler room this time ( Roberts last time ) , and it was spacious , comfortable and quiet.
I can not recommend this B&B highly enough.
Is also close to the city and some good restaurants in Burgundy Street just 3 minutes away

Thank you Beverley & Brett. Hope to stay with you again soon

Room Tip: B&B Heidleburg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Comfortable space, our space was quite spacious, including a TV room, big bathroom, and bedroom. Brett and Beverley went beyond the norm is taking care of us, including doing a bit of laundry for us on the last day, and Brett taking us to the next town to pick up our rental car on our way out. Austin Rise is 1/2 block from the entry to an enormous river side park area. Has a shopping zone, with fun restaurants, about 15 min walk away, has a metro train station, 20 min walk away, with easy access to downtown.
It is not in the CBD (Aussie for central business district), it is in a quiet suburb, a ways out. This could be a good or bad thing for the average vacationer. Worked well for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for describing us so generously. We love having the Banyule wetlands and Yarra Bike paths and parklands at our doorstop. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and trust that the trip along the Great Ocean Road was as beautiful as we had described it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Austin Rise is by far the best B&B we've ever stayed at. We stayed in the Streeton set of rooms which was like staying in our own condo. We had our own living room, beautiful bedroom and newly updated bathroom. After 17 days on the road we were so thankful we saved the best for last. Brett & Beverly are fantastic hosts, served wonderful breakfasts, great conversations, beautiful gardens and even gave us Carlton Blues caps to wear to the Footy game while staying there. Thank you for the wonderful stay Brett & Beverly!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for such lovely words! We were hoping Carlton, the great football club that it is, were going to win but it still was a great game for you to see and experience. Australian Aussie Rules is a great night out. We really love meeting people from all over the world and so it was lovely meeting you both. Hopefully we'll see you again on another visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed here with my two children aged 6 and 9 yrs and couldn't have been happier. Brett and Beverley were very friendly and hospitable and made our two children feel at home. They even made them pancakes as a special breakfast treat! The rooms were very comfortable and clean and the garden setting was very charming. My girls loved their cat and want to come back and stay here again, as do I! We left behind a sun hat and the owners sent it back to us in the post without us even asking. I took the kids to the new aquatic centre in nearby Greensborough and had a great time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We just came home to Canada from a 4 week stay at the Austin Rise B&B In Heidelberg, Vic/ Australia. What a great place to be after a busy day visiting with family or exploring Melbourne.
The rooms are very spacious, clean and very quiet. The patio with a view over the beautiful garden is a relaxing spot for a glass of wine with the hosts in the evening.
Beverly and Brett are the perfect hosts and we enjoyed their company very much.
Thanks a lot for everything.
Mickey and Fritz Clauer

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

A truly wonderful BnB, a standout property in every sense of the word - superb location close to shops,hospitals and the train station making it a perfect base for inner Melbourne. Modern, clean and professionally presented. But it's not just these things that made our stay so enjoyable - it's the little touches - Brett and Beverley's personal greetings, the offers with luggage and lifts to the hospital, even a cutting from the gorgeous garden ! It was also the quality of the bathroom amenities, the range of breakfast items and the overall ambience of Austin Rise - can't recommend this place more highly
Thank you for hosting us Brett and Beverley (and thank your cat for allowing us to share your lovely part of the world )
We would love to come back

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Austin Rise for three nights in the Withers Room. This is no ordinary B&B trying to use a spare bedroom, but a purpose-built conversion with generous sized rooms and sparkling ensuite bathrooms.
Brett and Beverley are incredible hosts, from the glass of wine on arrival to Beverley insisting that we follow her in her car as she guides us to easiest route back to Sydney.
Austin Rise is an easy walk to the restaurants and services in Heidelberg, and there is a quiet park at the end of the street. Heidelberg railway station gives stress-free access to the city.
We found Austin Rise excellent value for money and it certainly exceeded our expections.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brett S, Owner at Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely words and we really love meeting our guests and enjoy their company. Beverley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Quinn Street, Heidelberg, Banyule, Victoria 3084, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Banyule > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Bed and Breakfast in leafy Heidelberg. As owners/managers we live onsite and provide a great friendly service to all our highly valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Rise Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.