We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely reccommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Hotel Heathcote

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heathcote
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Hotel Heathcote
Save
You added Union Hotel Heathcote to your Saves list
171 - 173 High St, Heathcote, Victoria 3253, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Heathcote B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Would definitely reccommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and i recently visited the Union Hotel as a guest to a friends surprise 50th birthday. At this event there were approximately 80 people. You could see that the owners were fixing the place up, their balcony was getting fixed which was a bit of a pain in the bum we couldn't use it as we were staying there over night, but we will for sure when we return, i'm sure it will look amazing when finished. Everyone enjoyed them selves, especially the birthday girl. I was so surprised to see a bad comment from 'Kate and the pensioner' on this site that i just had to have my say on our experience.I understand that everyone has the right to say what they want but please, come on, really. How can a 'lick of paint' really effect your stay there.....just looking for a reason to complain is all i see....... They had a large stage and beer garden out the back which we used, great atmosphere. The staff were so friendly, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We arrived early to have a quiet lunch and it was beautiful. the size of the meals for $12 was amazing, so tasty and fresh. Bar service was happy and friendly. The hotel was very clean and for a pub built back in 1856, it was looking good. You could see the owners were keeping its original character and charm, they should be commended for that. The rooms were so clean and even tho the bathrooms were shared, they were extremely clean. A bit noisy from the roads traffic but that's not their fault, we still slept good, nice comfy beds. The town and its people were so very nice. All in all, a great weekend away. We really enjoyed ourselves. we have seen that the Union have dress up nights and regular live entertainment, so we will be back for sure with some of our friends to again have a great time and relax. Thank you to all the Union Staff for making us feel part of the town. really enjoyed our stay. See you all again soon

Room Tip: If you are looking for old fashioned country pub atmosphere, service and accommodation, don't go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rushworth vic.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

i had the pleasure of staying at the union hotel in heathcote, good old style hotel with comfortable clean and cheap accomodation, also found the meals to be very good and reasonably priced can absolutely recommend this pub to anyone. i will definately stay there again if i am in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Keeping in mind this is pub accommodation (not always the best) we found the rooms very clean as were the (shared) bathrooms. The rooms were small but adequate. It was $70 a night for a room and breakfast. The people serving us were very pleasant. However, there was a surprising amount of noise from the traffic during the night given the size of the town. It also seemed as if every floorboard in the placed creaked very loudly. There was also the added health and safety risk with the stairs leading up to the accommodation - if it was night and the hall light was turned off - the stairs were probably built over 100 years ago - there was the added excitement of nearly breaking your neck in the dark but this could be easily fixed with an automatic sensor light. All in all, I would recommend this hotel, but you need to keep in mind what it is and don't expect too much.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just passing through my friend and i are arrived late friday night and shared a twin room for$70. The room was clean and comfortable and the shared bathroom facilities were also clean with nice towels. Definitely was not expecting such quality for such a small amount of coin! We had dinner downstairs; my friend had a veg lasagna which she enjoyed. My steak and vegetables were below average with terribly overcooked vegetables and an ordinary piece of steak, although i do cone from a beef farm. We hung out in the bar with some locals and enjoyed the country pub atmosphere. Will be sure to spread good words. Job well done guys!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosebud, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

20 of us booked for dinner as recommended by a couple of locals. We were given a private room. Very shabby and run down. The pensioner and I went to the bar to order drinks as we were the first to arrive. A very flustered barman was trying to get his head around the credit card machine "sorry mate, they always seem to put one person on when it is busy DUH ! there were 6 people in the bar...warning..warning.! However ignoring the signs that "there would be tears before the end of the night" we finally got a drink and our group arrived. The staff were friendly. Note: .could you hem and wash the curtains guys? Oh and maybe a working bee for a lick of paint? The food arrived it looked good..have to say the meals were massive. I queried the waitress as most meals were finished and 3 couples had not had theirs. Mine arrived finally. Cold vegetables and chips. I sent them back, no apology from the staff, the nuked vegies arrived back, sadly the old chippies didn't make a return appearance. The lasagne was ok. I left the nuked offerings.In our group opinions of this pub were 50/50 unfortunately my review is in the lowest of the 50 % If this is the best of Heathcote eating I suggest that you keep driving. Oh and did I mention that it was Heathcote On Show Weekend???

Room Tip: Don't bother. A tip for the owners. Perhaps instead of spending money on fancy brochures informi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Heathcote hotels

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Three of us recently headed up from Melbourne for a Saturday night out of town. Everywhere very expensive so decided to wing it and book a room at the Union hotel. Upon entry to the pub, one might feel the scene is a little intimidating with locals standing around sipping their beers, but it's a friendly crowd and you can easily duct past and up to your room.

Bathrooms are shared but very clean and tidy when we were there. Bedrooms and beds fine for a good night of sleep. No real noise or disturbance. For $70 a night, worthy of trying out.

We had dinner at the Willow room - worth trying out! And had a few quiet drinks at the pub on our return - all very easy and nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Union Hotel Heathcote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Hotel Heathcote

Address: 171 - 173 High St, Heathcote, Victoria 3253, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Heathcote
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Heathcote
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Hotel Heathcote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.