We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tuck Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tuck Inn to your Saves list
Tuck Inn
2 Church St., Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% OFF 2ND NIGHTS RATE
Ranked #1 of 21 Healesville B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a great place - great location,wonderful hosts,spotless and nicely furnished room and a great cooked brekky in the outdoor garden. Donia and Ozzie couldn't have been more welcoming and if you want a great B&B in Healesville this is the place to stay!! Central to shops/hotels and only a short walk to the Healesville picnic races. Don't be put off by the central location as it is amazingly peaceful and is set back from the main street. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doniatb, Owner at Tuck Inn, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Omnitrader,

A huge thank you for this review. Delighted you could enjoy the cooked brekky outdoors – it was perfect weather for it. Thank you so much – Ozzie and I really do appreciate time taken to write a review.

Kind Regards,
“Us Tuckeroos!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
125
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Tuck Inn as we were attending a family wedding so had booked 4 of the 5 rooms. Donia and Ozzie were just like part of the family. Nothing was to much trouble and they welcomed other family members who were staying at other accomodation in the area so we could meet as a family. The rooms were extremley comfortable and the breakfast amasing. It was like staying at a friends house. Would stay there again both Donia and Ozzie are fantastic host who's motto in life seems to be to make everyone comfortable and happy.

Room Tip: all rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doniatb, Owner at Tuck Inn, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear “Diane W”

What a fabulous review – thank you so much Diane. As travellers ourselves, we know what it’s like trying to get a large group together and to the best of our ability trying to ensure that everyone is comfortable and happy in the process.

Hope to have you stay when you next get together.

Kind Regards,
Donia and Ozzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Wonderful warm hospitality, we could not fault it. Well done Donia for making us feel so welcome and going out of your way to accommodate our every need. The lounge room was wonderful to relax and chat in and the breakfast was delicious. So close to the shops, it's a great position.

Room Tip: Rooms 2+3 have a much bigger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doniatb, Owner at Tuck Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear “Marian W”,

Thank you very much for this review. It was all an absolute pleasure. Looking forward to you staying again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Donia and Ozzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Bay
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We enjoyed our short visit to the Tuck Inn in Healesville. We arrived late in the day feeling tired after a long day on the road. We received a warm welcome from Donia and immediately felt at home. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend the Tuck Inn to anyone travelling to Healesville.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doniatb, Owner at Tuck Inn, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Maree1412,

Thank you very much for your review. It was only a pleasure, as I know how tiring a long road trip can be, especially on a hot day! Thank you so much for recommending the Tuck Inn - it really does mean a lot to both Ozzie and I.

Until next time – kind regards,
Donia (and Ozzie)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The forecast was not looking good, and as we were up there for a birthday, we decided to stay locally for the night.
Tuck Inn is a play on words - you do feel like you are being 'tucked in' to beautiful clean accommodation with all the facilities; and in the morning you certainly get the opportunity to 'tuck in' to a hot and cold, anything you want, for breakfast. Thank you Diona for your gracious hospitality. We enjoyed our chat over breakfast. Booking verified after leaving a message, and easy directions made it easy to find. Great walk around the local shops before we left. Certainly recommend to everyone. Stella & Nick

Room Tip: We don't stay out often, so decided on the King Suite for a treat. Treated like family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doniatb, Owner at Tuck Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Stella and Nick,

Not only your review but also your stay and chat at brekkie really cemented why I am doing what I do. Thank you SO much!

Kind Regards,
Donia (and Ozzie)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As a group of five couples, we spent the last Saturday night at the Tuck Inn and had a wonderful time. Donia was very warm and welcoming and made us all feel very much at home. The shared lounge space was perfect for us all to relax and chat, and the little touches everywhere were noted and appreciated, such as beautiful glassware, fresh water, foliage from the garden, tealights, magazines, and so on. Breakfast the next morning was also spot on. I don't know how Ozzy and Donia managed to make the respective coffees so quickly as well as remember all our names - the service was way better than any café - and the selection of cold choices and cooked breakfast was all one could want, and beautifully presented. We have stayed as a group at many places and this is with the top experiences to date; we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doniatb, Owner at Tuck Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

THANK YOU so much for this review. Both Ozzie and I are both blown away by the comments and observations… thank you for that. Delighted that everyone enjoyed their time in the space we have created for our guests. The one thing Tuck Inn does lend itself to is the space for a group get-together so please do come back and enjoy it again when you next fancy time out.

Kind Regards,
Donia and Ozzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatura
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were in Healesville for the Picnic Races. The Tuck Inn was a perfect place for us to stay. The bed was very comfortable and the room had everything we needed. Donia and Ossie were extremely welcoming hosts and made us feel very much at home. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Ossie served up a scrumptious breakfast. A well run B and B. I'd definitely recommend it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doniatb, Owner at Tuck Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Anne-Marie,

And what a wonderful week-end (weather wise) it was for you at the Picnic Races. Thank you very much for this review – it really is appreciated. Ozzie is proud as punch that you enjoyed his brekkie so thank you for that mention.

Please come back and stay for the next Picnic Race or other event come to that! Until we see you again, Ozzie will keep churning out those free range eggs any style!

Kind Regards,
Donia and Ozzie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tuck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuck Inn

Address: 2 Church St., Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thrilled to be voted in the 2014 TRIPADVISOR TRAVELLERS' CHOICE HOTELS AWARDS, the 24th top BnB and Inn in Australia! Thank you! A welcoming, cosy and immaculate Bed and Breakfast based in the heart of Healesville with no minimum night stay. The Tuck Inn can collectively accommodate up to 10 adults in 5 well-appointed bedrooms, all with their own private en-suite. We have 3 Queen Rooms, 1 King Room (which can be presented as twin singles) and our new King Suite with its own private lounge/kitchenette (which too can be presented as twin singles). Your stay includes a sumptuous continental & hot cooked brekkie cooked to order, along with your choice of espresso coffee (tea or hot chocolate). This converted Masonic Lodge offers a unique lounge/dining area with a gorgeous fire place for those chilly winter evenings along with a newly landscaped garden for those balmy summer days and nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tuck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuck Inn Healesville, Yarra Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tuck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.