We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“see the animals in a natural habitat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Healesville Sanctuary

Healesville Sanctuary
Badger Creek Road, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
+61 3 5957 2800
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Healesville Sanctuary like an insider
Top Rated
$128*
and up
Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and...
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Healesville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Healesville Sanctuary, in the heart of the Yarra Valley, is world-renowned as the best place to see Australian wildlife in their natural habitat. Set in a beautiful natural environment, the Sanctuary offers a place for people and animals to reconnect with nature from creek to canopy, and plays a critical role in saving some of the world's most endangered animals. Explore the 70 acre bushland haven to experience close-up encounters with some of Australia's unique and endearing wildlife, including koalas, kangaroos, wombats, emus, dingoes, birds of prey and platypus. Visitors are also free to explore the Australian Wildlife Health Centre, a working vetinary hospital treating over 1500 orphaned, ill or injured wildlife every year. The expert team shares the journey of animal rescue, rehabilitation and release with the Sanctuary's visitors. Don't miss: Spirits of the Sky: A free flight presentation featuring Australian raptors such as the Wedge Tailed Eagle, and colourful parrot species. Tales from Platypus Creek: Come face-to-face with Healesville Sanctuary's most iconic species in a world-first interactive Platypus show. Observe Platypus as they interact with keepers, play in the water and even enjoy having their tummies tickled! Wade with the Platypus: In this world-first, hands-on experience it will be your turn to be the Platypus keeper. You will have the opportunity to step into the shallow water of the 'Platypus play pool' where it's normally the keeper's job to play, frolic, tickle and feed our little furry friends.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“see the animals in a natural habitat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

When you visit Melbourne, Australia, you should visit Healesville Sanctuary, it is approximately an hour drive from Melbourne (south yarra). You can see the kangaroos, koalas even dingoes and those of endangered species in a natural habitat. You can see them in close proximity.
You can even visit the hospital there and see how they treat the animals. There is also a The Birds of Prey show which is amazing, because the birds can fly and zoom just above your head.
It will be a memorable outing especially for families. The sign are quite clear, so you will not get lost

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    191
    39
    14
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Lots of fun for little and big kids! Would definitely recommend seeing the Birds of Prey show, completely amazing!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must for locals, interstate and overseas visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you want to see Australian wildlife up close and personal this is the place to go. There have been massive changes in the past few years all for the better that have made this one of the best wildlife parks in the world. The only downside is when it gets busy you really notice it and the food is a bit pricey but otherwise worth a visit any time of the year.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful way to see animals of Australia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We traveled here for a day trip and it was a highlight of our trip. We saw a Koala with her Joey on her back, Tasmanian Devil, Dingoes, Kangaroos, Black Cockatoos ate from our hand, Bowerbird, Wombat, Emu, and so many flowers and trees. All of these were great photo opportunities as we were up close and able to really observe the animals. We also brought a picnic and sat on picnic tables in the park which was so peaceful and relaxing. I can't say enough about how great a choice this is for all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Specially for the Platypuses....n more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I went specially for the platypuses; that's even after I've visited the zoos in Adelaide and Melbourne during this holiday. I would say it's well worth the while as this Sanctuary presented the Aussie faunas in a different light.

For those going via public transport like me, take a train to Lilydale and change to bus 485 which goes direct to the Sanctuary on weekends (may have to change bus on weekdays); it's quite simple.

I went there despite having failed to pre-book the "Wade with the Platypus" program a month before. Was told its Sidney Myers World has 8 platypuses so the chance of seeing at least one of these "cuties" was high; I was not disappointed as I even manage some photo-shots of one of them. The show - Tales from the Platypus Creek - was interesting as you get to see the platypus up close and in better light;the presentation was also informative and lively.

This Sanctuary is definitely more than the platypuses; other native animals - wombat, Tasmanian devils, kangaroos, koalas, echidnas, dingoes, etc.... have their own "playgrounds" and one could spend time spotting and observing them leisurely. There are also shows and talks throughout the day.

Overall, is a great place to spend at least 1/2 a day if you like Aussie faunas, especially the platypuses!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healesville Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Healesville Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healesville Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.