We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oz animals up close” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Healesville Sanctuary

Healesville Sanctuary
Badger Creek Road, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
61-3-5957 2800
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$131*
and up
Puffing Billy Steam Train, Yarra Valley and...
Ranked #2 of 18 Attractions in Healesville
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Valleys, Zoos & Aquariums
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore a bushland haven for Australian wildlife at Healesville Sanctuary, just one hour from Melbourne in the stunning Yarra Valley wine region.Wander through the tranquil tracks and meet some iconic Australian animals like Koalas, Kangaroos, Platypus, Dingoes, Wombats and Emus in their natural habitat. Pause for lunch or a coffee in our Sanctuary Harvest café and take home a special souvenir from the gift shop.Healesville Sanctuary is internationally renowned for its work saving endangered Australian species. It is also home to the Australian Wildlife Centre, a hospital which treats more than 2000 sick and injured native animals every year. Don’t miss: Magic Moments: Book a close-up encounter and have your photo taken with an amazing Australian animal.Wade with the Platypus: A world-first experience in which you can wade and play with this unique mammal in its play pool. Fighting Extinction Tour: Venture behind the scenes and meet some of the endangered animals the Sanctuary is fighting to save. Spirits of the Sky: Be awed by Australia’s parrots and magnificent birds of prey in this daily show.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Oz animals up close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Loved it. Animals you would possibly never see in the wild. Dedicated knowledgeable staff. Set in a natural environment.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    160
    33
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Went here with my daughter and grandchildren, you can easily spend quite a few hours here. Treated the children to a "magic moment" (additional charge) where they are able to enter an enclosure and feed the animals. My grandson chose a python (obviously didn't feed that) think he was slightly disappointed that it was only a young one and not 30ft long. My grandaughter chose the wombat which unfortunately was fully booked so she went in with the tree kangaroo which she loved. Some of the displays are walk through and very natural surroundings we were lucky enough to hear the Lyre bird go though its repertoire. Went to the reptile show which was very informative and everyone got the chance to touch the snakes etc. Most of the paths are shaded which is handy if it's a very hot day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Opportunity to See Indigenous Species Up Close”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The sanctuary was highly recommended to us by locals and for good reason. You can easily spend the better part of a day here observing uniquely Australian animals like dingos, Tasmanian devils, koalas, kangaroos, and birds.

We especially enjoyed seeing a rescued platypus interact playfully with her handler in a pool.
Note to platypus fans: you can pay $180/pp to don waders and have a private encounter with the platypus & handler [only two people per day get to do this, and advance reservations are essential if this interests you and you can afford it]. Otherwise, there are two sessions per day [the cost of which is included in the basic admission fee] when you can observe the platypus in action.

This sanctuary is a great resource for anyone interested in nature, and includes many features designed for families.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Australian Wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Sanctuary is about 60-90 mins from Melbourne, but it's a great drive and you can visit some wineries on the way too.
You will see mostly Australian animals roaming free in large enclosures, some are walk through and there is a chance to feed kangaroos. Plus a reptile house, night animals, and huge bird aviarys to walk through.We enjoyed the bird show, very informative and cute birds. There are other shows, too. A lot of the walks are shaded, so this is great to go on a hot sunny day. There are food outlets or you can bring a picnic. We found clean toilets, two playgrounds, water refill stations and electric BBQ. We checked out the animal hospital and watched as a bird was treated. They do a lot of conservation and there is plenty of information about what we can do to help.
We got a little extra information from a local indigenous man, who talked about the history of the land, plants that are edible and throwing a boomerang. And yes, the boomerang came back! Amazing to watch!
I haven't been to HS for a few years now and I was positive surprised how the park has so well improved to this level. Great outing, especially for kids. If you come from over seas, this is a must go to see Aussie animals close up.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always a hit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Being members of the zoo its a great place to pop in and spend a few hours (we have a daughter just under 2) We often take an eski and use the BBQ facilities and share a cool beer. Bird show is fantastic and always something new to explore.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne-Zoo, Marketing at Healesville Sanctuary, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi, we just want to say a big thank you for being a Zoo Member! Your membership support goes along way in helping us become the world leading Zoo Based Conservation Organisation. Looking forward to seeing you at one of our properties soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healesville Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Healesville Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healesville Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.