We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil haven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages to your Saves list
Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   97 School Lane, Healesville, Victoria 3775 , Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Tranquil haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in the beautifully appointed 'Gallery Suite'. Luxurious and spacious, this suite was perfect for a relaxing weekend away from it all without having to drive too far! Filled with all the luxuries you could need, and with magnificent views of the Yarra Valley out through the enormous double set of bifold doors, we felt like we were in the middle of nowhere! This is definitely at the top of the list for a return visit!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
24
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed two nights recently and had a wonderful experience. The views over the yarra valley were sublime and the cottage was orientated to make the most of these and to ensure privacy. Very comfortable place and very good value considering how much similar places are charging nearby that are more like hotel rooms and have no views. Having a wood fire made it all the more special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our return visit to Outlook Hill and this time we were fortunate to stay four nights over Easter in one of the beautiful cottages. The bifold doors open onto the view and suddenly you are part of the peaceful rolling hills and bush. Sunset views, hot air balloons drifting by at dawn, mist in the morning. Spend an afternoon reading the paper or a good novel on the verandah or inside on the comfortable lounge. We could cook indoors or dine in one of the many fine restaurants of Healesville. There is an abundance of parks and waterways to walk or visit just a short drive away. We were warmed by the cosy log fire and the hot spa. Thank you to our welcoming and obliging hosts

Room Tip: We stayed in the self contained cottages twice and find them well appointed and comfortable. all hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over the Easter Weekend in the Pinot cottage. It was fabulous, great views, extremely comfortable accommodation and excellent, attentive and friendly Owners. This is our second visit and for a quiet relaxing time in the beautiful Yarra Valley but not too far from Melbourne and a couple of minutes to Healesville we will certainly return. Our hosts provided ample and varied continental breakfast supplies and made sure during our stay that we were well provisioned. We are fairly discerning in our accommodation and service requirements and we were very happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just returned from Outlook Hills where we stayed in the Terrace studio last night. I read the previous reviews before booking and have to say I was hesitant about booking but had very little option as nothing else appeared available for one night. However we had a fabulous time and I was very happy with all the amenities. The room was very clean, light and airy and the views were magnificent. With reference to a previous guest - whilst there are provisions to do the dishes, I don't think this is an expectation and I didn't do them. I think if you use the dishes at night you may have to do them so they are clean for your breakfast. My husband was also disapointed at the lack of bacon & eggs but I had been told when I booked it was a continental breakfast and found the available choices more than adequate. All in all, we had a wonderful stay and I would certainly recommend in to family or friends. The dogs are delightful too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We came in from Melbourne, and it was wonderful to escape the city for a relaxing night. We stayed in the terrace studio. It was quiet and immaculate, had a new bathroom and a wonderful shower, and we enjoyed the wonderful views overlooking the vineyard and Yarra Valley. Centrally located to all of the wineries, too. The owners were very pleasant, and their dogs were super friendly and came to visit us at the cottage. There was fresh bread awaiting us in the room, with orange juice and milk in the refrigerator, as well. We would most definitely recommend it and will stay here again!

Room Tip: There are five rooms. Three are separate and require a 2 night stay. The other two are good for a on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The terrace studio was too expensive, the web page gave the impression that it was seperated, yet it's attached to the house and you can hear the owners tv. it stank on mould and was covered in dust. Overcrowded with empty furniture, like a storeroom. We were expected to wash our dishes, yet the only place to wash them is in the bathroom sink( that's unhygienic and disgusting) Dirty sofa and pillows and the milk carton for breakfast was already open. The rusty garden furniture was not an appealing option for watching the sunset. The location and view were great!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
509peter, Manager at Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Outlook Hill is very troubled by this review. Please understand that we cannot fix problems if the guests do not let us know at the time. Our only possible understanding of this review looking back through our records is that it was not fully cleaned before the guest checked in - perhaps they checked in early. If we had known about the state of the Studio at the time without hesitation we would have offered an upgrade to another suite or cottage if available and certainly attended to the problems.
As you can see from other reviews of the Studio it has to date been an absolute pleasure and lived up to our guests expectations of cleanliness and amenities.
We are very humbled by this review as well as not fully understanding how this could have happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages

Address: 97 School Lane, Healesville, Victoria 3775 , Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Vineyard cottages and 2 suites on vineyard farm property overlooking central yarra valley -private and peaceful ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages Healesville, Yarra Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outlook Hill Vineyard & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.