We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay elsewhere in Healesville - rooms aren't worth it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Healesville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Healesville Hotel to your Saves list
Healesville Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   256 Maroondah Highway, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Healesville B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay elsewhere in Healesville - rooms aren't worth it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Whilst the actual Restaurant might be nice, I was extremely disappointed in the hotel room.

I booked two nights at the Hotel after cancelling a two-night stay at other accom. because I thought the Healesville Hotel brand was strong, and would offer some country-style charm.
The room was extremely small, draughty, had 4 air-vents to the outside which meant cold nights and dust as we slept and is just too many vents for such a tiny space.
After 3 days there, both my partner and I left with colds and didn't feel like we had relaxed.

I'd been really looking forward to staying at the Hotel having never stayed in Healesville, having heard great reviews and as I said, even cancelled a previous booking elsewhere to stay at the Hotel for our mini-escape.

Whilst I was surprised by the shared bathrooms, it didn't bother me and they were kept clean. However, they were also cold and I thought they could have made the bathrooms more charming as well.

The room itself was extremely tiny, painted orange on all 4 walls which didn't make it feel calming or modern, but rather very dark.

Noise doesn't bother us as we live in the city but there was loud furniture moving downstairs at midnight and then as early as 6am.
Staff were friendly but needed more staff on the night we checked in.

I think for the money that was paid, you can find somewhere more comfortable to stay.

Room Tip: Try the food/bar by all means but look elsewhere for accom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarravalleyharvest, Owner at Healesville Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Hello Carmen,
Thank-you for your feedback however disappointing it is to read! We do take all reviews very seriously and I personally always see how we can improve. As mentioned we are in a lovely old Edwardian building which does have it's challenges in this day and age. You are the first person to mention the draught air vents - in response we are having them covered over and actually having the orange rooms painted in the next week. I have never been a huge fan of the orange either but many have liked the quirkiness - your posting has made me bite the bullet and choose a more gentle colour. As far as charm in the bathrooms I take on what you say and we are always looking to improve - we have painted the bathrooms this week to gloss and brighten as well as fresh flowers and some little touches - hand creams and oil burners. Our hotel rooms are classic and simple, we do focus on crisp linen and clean rooms and think we are priced pretty fairly at $110 - $150 a night - in response to people wanting smarter accommodation we have a new house behind the hotel with three king bedrooms (one available as a studio for one couple) each with brand new ensuites and lovely views over the hotel to the mountains. Details of Furmston House are on our website. Please contact me directly if you would like to return to the hotel so I can make sure your stay is a more enjoyable one, kind regards Kylie Balharrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    8
    12
    3
See reviews for
9
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wow .. we thought we were just going for tea at the Healesville pub but what we got was fine dining. Service was a tad slow but it was worth the wait. The food was amazing. Totally loved it. But it's quiet a pricey menu. But much nicer than your average pub grub

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

After a drive from Melbourne , it was a wonderful surprise to get high quality food and service from this country pub that has moved up the ladder . Went for lunch mid week and we had the best of both. I had the salmon and it was superb. The other half had the special of the day, shepherds pie, it was something more than special. Cooked with care and flavour. The service was personal and with a touch of country enthusiasm that you cant buy, train and only hope for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Some patronising, arrogant staff in bar. Disappointed as used to visit regularly not sure what has change but food average and service is not good.. Small glasses of wine big prices is not great visit other places in town much better service and price. Need staff changeover

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorn, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently dined at the Healesville Hotel expecting something above average, especially as the price was above average.
The food was OK but not special. What really set us back was the fact that the main course was serviced on chipped plates. One plate had 3 chips, about 3mm to 8mm across. We didn't complain at the time as we thought the chips were too obvious for kitchen staff not to miss and felt it pointless in doing so. However, we sent an email to the management not long afterwards and didn't get a reply or any sort of acknowledgement. We have passed on our thoughts to many friends and will contue to do so.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarravalleyharvest, Owner at Healesville Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
The above complaint was received at the hotel in July and we addressed the chipped plates immediately ... We however did fail to contact the guests - for which we take full responsibility and have since apologised and acknowledged the complaint. We take all feedback very seriously and are constantly striving to maintain and better our business including our communication processes which were lacking at this point - Kylie Balharrie (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Me and had my family had dinner at the Healsville Hotel on a Tuesday night where they offer a Rump steak special. $26 will get you 300 grams of rmp steak cooked to your liking with some Dobson smashed spuds and mushrooms. The meal was a bit more than I normally eat at any time of the day but I managed to get through it. My wife had the same while my kids split a chicken schnitzel. We opted to sit in the pub with the open fire and it was so Yarra Valley perfect. The Hotel has many beers on tap and a nice wine list. If your after some awesome sliced ham or fancy cheese just visit the KB butcher next door during daylight trading hours. I always make a point of popping in for a beer when we visit the Valley. A must do for any traveler to the Valley

Room Tip: Check their web site for nightly specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

There was a group of 14 people this Sunday that went for lunch "Sunday 9th June,2013" and had a set menu, the main was lamb no taste, very fatty, looked as if it was steamed not oven cooked, waited over hour and half and when it came they served 4 small dishes for 14 people and three small serving of salad it was a disgrace OOh and a few potatoes. We will never suggest for anyone to go there. The only good thing was the room we had and serves but thats it. Over charged and majer let down came from Melbourne.
The cheff should be a shamed of sending out the meal.
Rgds Georgina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Healesville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healesville Hotel

Address: 256 Maroondah Highway, Healesville, Victoria 3777, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Healesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Healesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Healesville Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old world charm with new world style, this classic country hotel is at the heart of the Yarra Valley.With it's outstanding food and wine the hotel is the ideal base from which to explore the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Healesville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Healesville Hotel Yarra Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healesville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.