We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like spending your evening get rid of worms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grampians Motel Halls Gap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grampians Motel Halls Gap to your Saves list
Grampians Motel Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Halls Gap
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“If you like spending your evening get rid of worms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

The first night was ok; nothing special to say.
The second night it took us 25 minutes to get rid of all the black worms that were everywhere (some of them were almost in the bed...)

On the other side; the location is pretty good, a little bit outside Halls Gap and you can see kangooroo in the garden !

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    117
    30
    7
    8
See reviews for
81
196
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

We booked a 2 night stay directly with the motel as it offered good value for money. It is a motel, not a 4* hotel, but the rooms are more than adequate, and we had the softest fluffiest towels here - better than any of the chain hotels we stayed in!

The motel is located a few kilometres outside the town of Halls Gap, so you definitely need to have transport, but the location was just perfect - large lawns at the front of the property, where you could spend mornings and evenings surrounded by the local kangaroos (and maybe even emus), The Pinnacle overlooking the motel from behind. It really felt like we were in the heart of the Grampians.

Kel and Marg who run the place were very helpful too. Thank you for making our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

We booked through wotif for a weekend getaway to do some walking and see the areas regenerating after the 2006 bushfires. The standard rooms were tired but spacious and had a small table and chairs to sit at. The continental breakfast in the dining room was ample although you could order a hot dish (extra) if desired. The managers were friendly and helpful. The location south of Halls Gap off the road ensured a quiet stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

The Grampians Motel is a comfortable place to stay. We booked a deluxe room and whilst it wasn't fancy, it was nice. The room was large enough that we didn't feel cramped, but with a view of the Pinnacle from your window, really, you wont want to stay indoors. We stayed two nights on our way through to Adelaide so we could do some bushwalking in the Grampians National Park and having somewhere to come back to that had airconditioning and a pool and nice service was excellent. As the motel is well back from the main road, it is also very quiet. And the people who run the Motel know the area really well, so could tell us where to eat based on what we said we were looking for. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

For the price, it is good value. However, seeing that I am from Malaysia . . it is still abit pricey to me heh. The rooms we stayed in are quite dated but they do have a new block now with new rooms but i think those are 10/20 AUD more. The rooms were adequately sized. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They also have a nice collection of DVDs and boardgames available. There is supposed to be wifi available but the signals were very very weak. The breakfast is very basic . . but for that price . . I would consider it a good deal. Overall it was a satisfactory 1 night stay. The Grampians is beautiful and the many kangaroos jumping around the whole place is fun . . but a little scary when driving around.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

The rooms were fairly average but the service, stunning views and friendly wildlife made up for the tired rooms. The brekkies were pretty good value. The manager was more than willing to recommend different activities and to tell us which restaurants were good value and which to avoid. Fantastic stay

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

My wife and I stayed 1 night at the Grampians Motel recently while visiting the Grampians area. I used to visit the area frequently, and chose the Grampians Motel based on availability, price, and the ability to online book and pay via a travel agancy.

The motel is much as I remember it, with a vast expanse of front garden where many kangaroos come to graze. This aspect is highly recommended for overseas visitors, as it is a guaranteed close-up experience of these animals. The location itself is only good for visitors with cars / motorbikes, as it is a long walk from here to Halls Gap township.

The room was comfortable but dated. On our rate a simple breakfast for 2 was included in the dining room, which included cereal, juice, toast, tea and coffee. The room included a television, heater, air conditioner, fridge and shower. There was a swimming pool and also a sign pointing to a games room and tennis court, but we did not further investigate these facilities.

There were a few insects about, both around the motel exterior and in our bathroom - they were either leeches or millipedes, but there weren't too many, and it reminds one that you are in a bush environment. The hotel was a comfortable base for touring this beautiful and spectacular region, but probably more as a good place to sleep and wash rather than somewhere to pass the time during the day. If it was price competitive on a future occasion, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grampians Motel Halls Gap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampians Motel Halls Gap

Address: 394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grampians Motel Halls Gap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampians Motel & "The Views", Cafe, Bar & Restaurant in Halls Gap, Victoria is nestled in a peaceful valley. The Grampians Motel offers affordable and comfortable accommodation, central to the spectacular Grampians National Park. The motel is situated on 12 acres of parkland with abundant wildlife roaming freely. You will enjoy unsurpassed views of the majestic Wonderland and Mt William Mountain Ranges, inviting you to climb and explore. The Grampians Motel is complimented by "The Views" Cafe, Bar & Restaurant offering very affordable and delicious meals throughout the day.The Motel & Restaurant are within walking distance to Brambuk Cultural Centre, World Class Adventure Golf, Lake Bellfield, local cafes, restaurants and is well situated to discover the numerous attractions that Halls Gap and the Grampians have to offer. This is a fantastic place to forget the stresses of your busy life, sit back,relax and enjoy spending a little self time, in the harmony of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grampians Motel Halls Gap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Hotel Halls Gap
Grampians Motel Halls Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grampians Motel Halls Gap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.