We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grampians Motel Halls Gap

Save Saved
You added Grampians Motel Halls Gap to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grampians Motel Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Halls Gap
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We came from the USA on business to Lorne and then stayed an extra few days to soak in the local flavor of Australia. Chris and Jeff were wonderful hosts. The hotel gives you the feeling of home and the people are wonderful. We hiked daily through the mountains and enjoyed the local flavor of Halls Gap. The restaurant serves both Australian and Italian cuisine and both were good. The wildlife and cultural center are superb. An added benefit was that the wifi worked better here than any place else we went. If you are looking to really experience the people and flavor of Australia, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    97
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
73
163
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed at this motel for just one night, and found it very acceptable. The owners were very helpful, and responded to emails very promptly. The free wifi was excellent - vital to us.

The outlook from our window was across the extensive garden, and we saw many kangaroos, wallabies, cockatoos, ducks, parrots, etc. This was in the evening, and again in the morning - all very enjoyable.

The accommodation was very reasonably priced, and may have reflected being slightly out of the town centre of Halls Gap, but we thought this was an advantage. We did not use the restaurant, as we prefer to prepare our own food, but it seemed to provide reasonably-priced meals (for Australia), and was well-used by people from outside the motel.

We have no hesitation in recommending this motel, which provided reasonable quality at a reasonable price. It is not a high-class hotel, and doesn't pretend to be, but we would return, if we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Watch the garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The initial impression is positive and friendly as you are greeted by the owners and in our case some locals who had popped in for a drink in the bar. We stayed in Superior room which had new airconditioning installed (very handy on our hot weekend). This was not the case for all rooms. Room was quite spacious and adequately appointed although bathroom needs updating. Grounds were quite expansive with the kangaroos and emus wandering around. Its a drive back to town but thats no big deal. We had breakfast there where the menu was a bit limited. Can recommend walking to the base of McKensie Falls and the Pinnacles.

Room Tip: Some rooms had updated aircon/heating systems so check
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

rooms a bit dated but other than this they were clean and staff was helpful. Would recomend for a budget stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I am still laughing at a recent review that criticizes this property on the most pathetic things! It's a MOTEL, not a 5-star resort, and they don't claim to be, so don't expect the Shangri-La when you aren't paying top dollars.

Location is a few mins drive out of "downtown" on a large grounds with resident kangaroos, but we saw emu's, deer and numerous bird species as well right out the door of the rooms. Shadowed by the rocky ridges of each side of the valley, its quiet and beautiful at sun up/down. Hearing the kookaburras in the morning was a delight!

They have meals and drinks on site, and have bbqs as well. The room was plenty big enough, and was clean and comfortable. Beds nice, space in the bathroom, TV if you need it. Security a non-issue here. Pool for the summer time and a kids playground, I believe there was a trampoline as well.

The service from Chris and Jeff was outstanding, putting larger, chain accommodation properties and other private businesses we visited on the same trip to shame. They were eager to share their knowledge of the area and even expressed interest in who we were and how we were enjoying our visit to The Grampians.

I would not hesitate to recommend their establishment to anyone.

Well done guys, keep it up!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend & me stayed for three nights and enjoyed it very much. Although located not in the heart of Halls Gap which is a 3min drive away and not worth staying right downtown, it is the location outside that makes your stay unforgettable: each day around 5pm having bbq outside in the park of the motel you'll be joined by lots of kangaroos & kakadoos which will stay throughout the night! We really enjoyed the stay in the nature while having all comfort of a hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Having recently spent two nights there, I can not recommend this place enough. The warm and friendly atmosphere created by Jeff, Chris and staff is only the start. When first arriving you are greeted by a friendly smile, that makes you feel more than welcome. The guys at the Grampians motel are more than happy to assist you in any way to ensure that your time spent there is the best possible, whether serving you a beer from their ice cold fridge or showing you the best attractions of the local area.
The rooms are clean and more than adequate to meet your needs at a very reasonable price. Having the rooms set back from the road and at the bottom of the hills it provides you with scenic views and an ambient feel.

When I go back to the Grampians, I will be definitely staying here again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grampians Motel Halls Gap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampians Motel Halls Gap

Address: 394 - 404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grampians Motel Halls Gap 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampians Motel & "The Views", Cafe, Bar & Restaurant in Halls Gap, Victoria is nestled in a peaceful valley. The Grampians Motel offers affordable and comfortable accommodation, central to the spectacular Grampians National Park. The motel is situated on 12 acres of parkland with abundant wildlife roaming freely. You will enjoy unsurpassed views of the majestic Wonderland and Mt William Mountain Ranges, inviting you to climb and explore. The Grampians Motel is complimented by "The Views" Cafe, Bar & Restaurant offering very affordable and delicious meals throughout the day.The Motel & Restaurant are within walking distance to Brambuk Cultural Centre, World Class Adventure Golf, Lake Bellfield, local cafes, restaurants and is well situated to discover the numerous attractions that Halls Gap and the Grampians have to offer. This is a fantastic place to forget the stresses of your busy life, sit back,relax and enjoy spending a little self time, in the harmony of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Grampians Motel Halls Gap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Hotel Halls Gap
Grampians Motel Halls Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grampians Motel Halls Gap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.