We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill Out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
4236 Ararat-Halls Gap Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Halls Gap
Yateley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Chill Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed in one of the single bedroom Lodges which is located near the lake. Friendly Staff, very informative, good space and standard of accommodation, spa bath much welcomed after walking in the hills. It was good value for money in its class. However, on the downside there was NO WiFi in the lodge, I did not bother to check to see if there were any hot spots in reception area. Only downside was 'out of town (Halls Gap Village)' location, but not much of an issue as car parking at restaurant and shops was not an issue.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    25
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
47
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Started my stay with 3 nights in the Williams Suite and was impressed with the size of the suite. Fireplace, in room spa and very comfortable leather couch were nice after a day of fishing and hiking. Clean and comfotable room. Laundry machine on site came in handy. Very nice open property with wildlife everywhere. Such a relaxing and peaceful place to sit on the deck by reception and use the free and fast wi-fi. Didnt want to leave, so I booked two more nights in one of their motel rooms. Very impressed. Few minutes from Halls Gap. So much to do and see in the Grampians. Make Mountain View your base. Best part of my month in Australia. Thanks again!

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This retreat is so peaceful & tranquil coming from the city. Literally within minutes of Halls Gap and only a short drive to other regional centres. The proprietors, Tubby & Rhonda are absolute champs and are more than happy to help out in any way. Was really stoked with the BBQ packs we ordered....absolutely everything (except cooking skill!) was provided! Really looking forward to the next time we can stay there.

Room Tip: Choose Lodge 5 or 6....they're right down the back, nice and secluded :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a great experience and trip to mountain view motor inn and holiday lodges. We traveled to halls gap for my birthday trip away, had fantastic service from the owners Tubby And Ronnie. We got a two bedroom spa cabin which was spacious and inviting!I would highly recommend to my family and friends!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Five of us stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin and it was lovely and spacious. It's set in an awesome location - handy to Halls Gap and all the walking tracks, and with wildlife all around. Their cooked breakfasts and BBQ dinner packs were very impressive and also great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed in Cabin 6 (separate cabin) which included open fireplace, large bathroom spa and heater. The rooms were beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The grounds are lovely and many wildlife can be seen within the grounds. Very happy with service - I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Separate cabins are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Mountain View was well located near Hall's Gap. Our two bedroom cabin was generally clean and well equipped. It was fun to see kangaroos on the site. The site had a pool and tennis court and the cabins had grills for barbies. We had dinner twice at the Kookaburra restaurant and it was very good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge

Address: 4236 Ararat-Halls Gap Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge Halls Gap, Grampians

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.