We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
4236 Ararat-Halls Gap Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Halls Gap
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Mount William Suite for 3 nights. We got into Halls gap quite late and hadn't booked anything, this was just about the only place still open!
The owner was great, printed us maps, suggested walks etc - room was only just over $100 too.
Our room had a fire, kitchen and spa. It wad really clean and comfortable.
Only downsides were location - you had to drive into town - and the heating could have been a little better, it was quite cold at night.
I'd go back here for sure!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    30
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
68
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Arrived on a windy day and the wind kept up throughout the night blowing the outdoor furtnitureoff the verandah. However we were warm and snug in our cottage - appreciated the thick carpet on the floor and plenty of wood to keep warm. Lovely spa and good to have a washing machine when travelling around. Lots of facilities on site for families.

Room Tip: one bedroom villas are at the back of the complex away from swimming pool, tennis courts etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed in a two bedroom lodge with an open fire - it was very nice and rustic. The lodge has 2 large bedrooms and a lounge with the fire plus a well equipped kitchen with cooker, microwave and plenty of pots and pans. We self-catered successfully.

The owner was very friendly - gave us plenty of advice about walks and things to do. In spite of the road closures in the area (from the January floods), there are lots of walks still open so it is worth a visit.

We would strongly recommend this property - it was very good value for $160.

One small issue - lots of signs around the room with dire warnings about the charges if you check out late, want extra wood, don't wash up etc... These really contrasted with the warm welcome by the owner - please change them and then you will have a pretty much perfect lodge!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the holiday lodges here on a recent trip to the Grampians. We have two toddler aged children. The lodge was nice with good facilities all around, and a very good amount of space. The lodges are located in a large park-like area, and is very pleasant and great for the kids to run around.

Owners were friendly and helpful.

Only negative was the huge amount of flies that would get in via the chimney (and sneak through the gaps in the flyscreen). But spraying fly spray around the gaps did help a lot. This was more of a annoyance than a major issue though.

Overall a good place to stay and would return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in July 2010 with my 11 year old daughter. Booked a spa cabin from the website and received a welcome basket with continental breakfast, chocolate and wine included. Cost $290 AUD. The property is a 5 minute drive to Halls Gap but is just down the road from The Gap winery and Halls Gap Zoo (both worth a look). There are 2 spa cabins semi-secluded from the rest of the property and fire wood was supplied free of charge. The cabin was comfortable but not as clean as I prefer. I actually went out and bought a bottle of bleach and came back to wash the spa, sinks and dishes before using anything. My daughter enjoyed the stay and got to see kangaroos outside the door. We played tennis and there is also a volleyball net, children's playground and pool. We could cook in the cabin or travel to Halls Gap for dinner. A BBQ was also provided for our use. Overall we enjoyed our stay but will probably go elsewhere next time. For the price, I expected more, if the cabins had new furniture and upgraded their linen and blinds it would muster 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Staff were very friendly. We had a two bedroom cottage which provided us with a large bathroom with a spa and washing machine. The furniture was a bit dated and well loved, however, the beds were comfortable and plenty of blankets were provided. Fireplace worked well. Wish they sold packets of playing cards, we forgot to bring ours. We only stayed two nights but this cottage would br perfect for families.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

It was the warm hospitality of the owners that really made this place stand out from all the other places we stayed during our road-trip around Victoria.

The breakfast hampers were a really nice touch, and Leeanne took the time to help us plan out what we could do over the 2 days we spent at Halls Gap.

The motel room was very comfortable and the heater excellent. Great hair dryer was provided!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge

Address: 4236 Ararat-Halls Gap Rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge Halls Gap, Grampians

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.