We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and amenities but noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grampians Eco YHA

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Grampians Eco YHA to your Saves list
Grampians Eco YHA
Corner Buckler Street and Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Location and amenities but noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hi,

We had a decent stay at YHA, the staff were friendly, the facilities clean and they had a bunch of free DVD's which was great if you brought your laptop, to pass the time away in your room in the evenings.

This however is not a hotel, so don't expect a separate personal bathroom, it has clean shared facilities, and we had no issue with getting a toilet or shower.

Our biggest bug bear was the noise throughout the night. We stayed Friday and Saturday nights and both nights we had some very noisy people coming in and out throughout the whole night. It was as if they were speaking in the room at times!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This eco hostel is in a beautiful spot in Halls Gap where the kangaroos come right up to the back door and the chickens will join you for breakfast. Nestled amongst the trees, there is planty of space here with two huge lounges, fireplaces and a TV room. It is near to all the local attractions but also just a nice spot to chill out- you can just enjoy all the nature around you without even leaving the building.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

When were entered the hostel, the reception was closed. It was indicated and we (me and my sister) decided to explore the area. At the reception were was information what to see and discover in the area. After visiting Mackenzie Falls (must do!) we came back and the reception was open. The staff was very helpful, social and gave us all the information we needed.

The rooms were good. Spacious, clean and simple. What we liked that you could slide the window open and go outside. The mattresses were comfortable and clean.

The shower and toilets were clean, the kitchen was clean and to be honest, everything was just perfect. I have to admit. When we were there, there were only 7 people in the hostel. Two of them were staff.

The hostel has a great common room/tv area with a fire place. The diner is really perfect. Everything is glass. You sit there and look outside and you have the idea you are one with the nature.

The location is perfect. There is not much to do in this town. Although it offers enough variety in restaurants. There is more to explore. Nature and wildlife! Kangaroos outside the hostel and especially the nature. In my opinion The Grampians are really worth it to visit.

The wifi works, but you have to pay for it. A disadvantage, especially these days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

What hits you 1st is the noise of the wildlife - constant. We checked in and went to our room - had a problem with the lock which rather than have them try to fix they moved us straight away I think that had there been no room there would have been no problem getting it fixed. Room clean, sliding door onto patio, there is a lockable cupboard ( bring your own lock!) the grounds have kangaroos roaming and emus - amazing. Back to hostel - bathroom really clean. Kitchen fully stocked 1st place that had actual wine glasses :-) there are 2 sides to the kitchen and when we arrived 1 half was closed to save energy which made sense. Plenty of places to sit to eat both inside and out. This was a stop between Adelaide and Melbourne for us and was basically drop a pin in a map somewhere between the 2 cities & we did not know what to expect but really liked it here. Stunning scenery near by & wildlife everywhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed here as a "cheat night" on our annual Christmas camping trip. The dorms were what you would expect from a hostel and there were plenty of power points which was excellent from a charging electronic devices perspective. The communal bathroom was blissfully clean and the kitchen was spacious, inviting, and offered complimentary eggs if you were lucky enough to wander by soon after the resident chickens had delivered their goods. Backpackers should take note that reception opens at 5pm each day, which was fine for us as we were able to leave our belongings locked in the car, but could be problematic if you had to lug a 15kg pack around until check in. If you're arriving early it's probably best to phone the hostel to make alternative arrangements (as their website suggests).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed twice here, both only for one night. We had a three-shared dorm for the two of us, beds were comfy, although the carpet underneath the beds really needs vacuuming…
Another tiny minus: one of the light in the women's bathroom didn't function, so there was only one toilet available, on return it was still this way, what makes one wonder how long it had already been like that…
Kitchen clean and very functional. Great campfire outside at nighttime! BBQs needed a thorough cleaning...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

For $29 per night I found it to be excellent value for money, I stayed with two other mates in a room with four single beds, the other bed was taken by a Londoner. Our room did not have any facilities such as toilet, bath, kitchen etc as it is a Hostel.

The hotel doesn't have air-conditioning facilities but that was okay, the room had a fan which did the job.

The location is very good, just located at the entrance into Halls Gap and close to the local pool, restaurants and general stores.

The shared kitchen is equiped with the lot, fridge, oven, microwave, kettle, plates, forks, spoons etc!!

They also have washing amchine which run for 30 minutes on a dollar coin, I personally did not use this service as I had no need for it but it seemed pretty reasonable to me.

They also had chickens which provided the guests with free eggs!! anndd the very friendly Kangaroos that tend to come out at dusk time!

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at the YHA Eco Hostel and would definately stay again. I just recently stayed during December 2013 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grampians Eco YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampians Eco YHA

Address: Corner Buckler Street and Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grampians Eco YHA is an environmentally friendly backpackers hostel located in the heart of the Grampians National Park. Situated near the small village of Halls Gap, the hostel is the perfect base for exploring the nearby natural wonders. Visit Baroka Lookout, The Balconies and Reeds Lookout to soak up the stunning views! Walk to a local waterfall from the hostel, or visit Brambuk Cultural Centre learn about the ancient Aboriginal culture of the area.Rock-climb, abseil, hike, cycle and canoe your way through the Grampians National Park! After all the physical activity, kick your feet up at the beautiful McKenzie Falls, or curl up in the hostel guest lounge with a book.With solar electricity, reverse cycle fans, waste water management and rainwater collection, this modern hostel proves that a bed doesn’t have to cost the earth! Facilities include free on-site car and coach parking, two fully equipped kitchens and two guest lounges with wood fire, TV room, plus internet and laundry facilities. Don’t miss the local kangaroos that make daily appearances. Room types include multishare, double, twin and family rooms, many of which have mountain views. The hostel is also a Rent-a-YHA, and can be hired exclusively for groups of up to 64 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Grampians Eco YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Eco YHA Halls Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grampians Eco YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.