We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grampians Eco YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grampians Eco YHA to your Saves list
Grampians Eco YHA
Corner Buckler Street and Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Merstham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

travelling with a large group so we had booked up the whole place for 2 nights. reception was brilliant and rooms perfect for us all. They were clean and functional but that was all we wanted. Comunial showers but again it was a Youth Hostel. Kitchen area was fantatstic when trying to do mass cooking breakfasts and the use of the BBQ was brilliant. Added bonus were the Kangeroos that seemed to live out the back - a whole herd, is that the right word, of them.
Stay here it really is brilliant value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda S, Marketing Coordinator at Grampians Eco YHA, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thanks for the lovely review Frederick H. We love being able to accommodate large groups and have you book out the property..and also see all the kangaroos. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hostel is really great. The rooms are clean and there is a big kitchen and three really nice living rooms. So in the evening we had a living room with a cozy couch for us. The price for the internet is also quite fair, there is a day ticket for 5 AUD. But the best are the kangaroos in the garden. There are about 20 kangaroos just sitting 20 meter in front of the hostel. And there are also a lot of birds in the garden.

If you are in the grampians you should stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melinda S, Marketing Coordinator at Grampians Eco YHA, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
THanks for the great review Chr S. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Grampians and got to see lots of Ausrtalian wildlife, we are very lucky to have lots of Australian animals roam the property. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed here for a few days after a long haul flight, and a road trip from Melbourne. To be quite honest I couldn't fault it and it was better than many other places Ive stayed at far greater cost. The surrounding area is beautiful and aceess to the trails from here is easy and a absolute must do.

Halls Gap itself could be defined as a bit touristy but it's not surprising and it wasn't as bad as expected. The local supermarket is really expensive so if you are on a budget take as much with you as you can is this may end up being your biggest expense.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I've been to the Grampians several times and have always stayed at the YHA, with constantly satisfactory experience. The YHA is not so large (so it tends to get booked out quickly during busy periods), but always clean and well-maintained. The rooms are cosy, the kitchen large and very well equipped. Add to this a great location - there's a hiking trail and sporting ground nearby, frequented by kangaroos. If you want to go to the center, it's only 15-minute stroll away.

The people at the front desk were really helpful and easy-going (maybe better than concierge at some hotels!). We wanted to go out for dinner and they helped us to make the reservation.

If something could be improved, probably it's the small common room with the TV - it can get a bit squeezy if a lot of people want to watch the TV. There's a larger common room beside the kitchen, I think the TV would be better situated there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANSFIELD
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Love the Grampians and we love staying at this wonderful YHA. Spent 3 nights, the weather was not too hot for January and the hostel was not too busy which was a bit of a surprise for this time of the year. This hostel is well kept and comfortable and the managers Jason & AJ are very helpful and friendly. The place to stay in in Halls Gap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having booked to stay here during the NY2013, I was a bit concerned if the 'youths' at the youth hostel will be partying and going crazy. Turned out that it was nothing I need to worry about!

There are all walks of people staying here - from students and backpackers to professionals and family. We all got along really well. The kitchen was well equipped. There may be shortage of showers/ toilets during peak times (it was fully booked) but it wasn't too much hassle to use the ones upstairs. The hostel has a very homey feel with lounges that have fireplace, cushions and throw. No shortage of alfresco tables either.

The rooms were adequate and clean. The sheets even smell nice. Unfortunately power points are highly sought after and I had to get the room mate to unplug her laptop before I could use my bed side lamp.

If I were to really pick on this hostel, I could say that I was a bit sad to see there was only one chook. The 'free eggs' that was written by other travellers were no where to be seen. The vegie patch also looks like it needs some TLC. These did not spoil my stay in anyway though.

If all the YHA hostels were this high a standard, I would ditch the five star hotels and become a member straight away!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is a well-designed and excellent YHA. The dorms are good with comfy beds and fresh, crisp linen. The showers have excellent pressure and the kitchen and dining areas are fantastic. There is a choice of 2 living-rooms with wood burners and comfy sofas. TV room, laundery facilties, and very helpful and friendly management. You will like this YHA - stay here when visiting The Grampians.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grampians Eco YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampians Eco YHA

Address: Corner Buckler Street and Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grampians Eco YHA is an environmentally friendly backpackers hostel located in the heart of the Grampians National Park. Situated near the small village of Halls Gap, the hostel is the perfect base for exploring the nearby natural wonders. Visit Baroka Lookout, The Balconies and Reeds Lookout to soak up the stunning views! Walk to a local waterfall from the hostel, or visit Brambuk Cultural Centre learn about the ancient Aboriginal culture of the area.Rock-climb, abseil, hike, cycle and canoe your way through the Grampians National Park! After all the physical activity, kick your feet up at the beautiful McKenzie Falls, or curl up in the hostel guest lounge with a book.With solar electricity, reverse cycle fans, waste water management and rainwater collection, this modern hostel proves that a bed doesn’t have to cost the earth! Facilities include free on-site car and coach parking, two fully equipped kitchens and two guest lounges with wood fire, TV room, plus internet and laundry facilities. Don’t miss the local kangaroos that make daily appearances. Room types include multishare, double, twin and family rooms, many of which have mountain views. The hostel is also a Rent-a-YHA, and can be hired exclusively for groups of up to 64 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Grampians Eco YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampians Eco YHA Halls Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grampians Eco YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.