We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Host Support during bush fire emergency” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gariwerd Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gariwerd Motel to your Saves list
Gariwerd Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   28-36 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Halls Gap
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colac, Australia
1 review
“Host Support during bush fire emergency”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed at Gariwerd Motel the night before the mandatory evacuation of Halls Gap due to Bush Fires in the immediate vicinity. Evacuation was advised by the CFA Emergency Services and broadcast widely on websites, radio and news channels. Kim (the Host) provided excellent support and updated information to myself and other guests during this stressful time. Her respectful, calm approach and reassurance was appreciated as it was quite overwhelming to be in an unfamiliar area with a bush fire so close. I had to cut my trip short, but will definitely go back to Gariwerd Motel, the rooms were impeccably clean and service excellent. Halls Gap is a fabulous base for exploring the Grampians!!

Room Tip: Ask the hosts to recommend a room that will suit your individual purpose. There is a communal kitche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We recently booked this hotel for 2 nights, and after booking the owner left a message saying do not come we are closed. On calling up the motel, the owner was very rude saying "you understand you can not come because there is a fire here, don't you watch the news". When asked if we could cancel the booking without being charged a cancellation fee, the owner simply hung up the phone. They are working in hospitality and have that kind of customer service attitude, it is really shocking

Room Tip: Do not book with them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed one night and would have happily stayed longer at Gariwerd Motel. This is an unpretentious place with everything you need for basic comfort. It backs onto a sports ground where kangaroos gather of an evening and it is quiet enough although on the main road.

We were tired after a day of sight seeing and Gariwerd provided just what we needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a very good time in the Grampians. Of course this was partly due to the beauty of the National Park but also very much to this Motel and its Hosts. The Motel itself is reasonably priced and in good condition.
But we were especially delighted by the friendliness of the Hosts. We had a lot of laughs with Peter who helped us in seeing more Kangaroos and Emus and who gave us a lot of other helpful advice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We (Me, my wife & baby) had been recommended to stay at the YHA Hostel next door but since we were tired and could not wait for the Reception to open till 5 PM, we checked out other budget Accommodations around and found Gariwerd the most comfortable/reasonable one. Still being in off season, we got a Budget Room (next to the shared kitchen) at a great price. I could park my car at 2 feet from the Room Door.

Kim came to our help more than often and made sure our 1 night stay was comfortable enough. The recreation park and the kangaroo park was quite close-by and the Northern Grampians Road (towards McKenzie Falls & Boroka Lookout).

Halls Gap, by itself, is a very small town. It reminded me all the time of our favorite retreat town Ranikhet in northern India. Must visit if you are in the Melbourne area for more than 2 days.

Neha & Ankit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We are 2 retirees unable to go hiking. We had an altercation with a wallaby in our new car and Kim and Peter were so very good to us, they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful just like family. The breakfast was excellent and very reasonably priced compared to other motels, and we have travelled all around Australia. We would definitely stay here again.
We would like to wish them well as they are relatively new to this business and very well suited to the hospitality industry. Good Luck.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This motel is an ideal base for exploring the Grampians National Park. Located a few hundred meters outside of the central area of Halls Gap (you can easily walk to downtown), Gariwerd is quiet and convenient. This is a classic motel, in that you park your car in front of your room and enter directly from the parking area. They offer two rooms types, budget (older, un-renovated rooms) and their regular rooms. If I had to do it again, I think I would have opted for the newer, refreshed rooms, which are very nicely done. While the budget rooms are completely serviceable, they are definitely showing their age in terms of the carpet and the fixtures. Still, the budget room was comfortable and had everything you need for a few nights. There is plenty of room, and included a small refrigerator, a coffee maker and a toaster. What really makes this place, though, are the owners. They are a wealth of local knowledge about where to go and what to see. They even provide me with a laminated book with maps and driving instructions for the entire area. Plus, they have insight on local shops, restaurants and other area attractions. My only real issue here was that they charge $6.00 for a toast/coffee/juice breakfast (or $12.00 for a warm breakfast). I personally chose to go into town for breakfast, as there are several cafes there serving up really good food. You could also choose to self-cater in the room. Overall, I would pick this motel again if I made another trip to the Grampians.

Pros: Owners make the difference, good location, good value

Cons: Budget rooms are little dated

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gariwerd Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gariwerd Motel

Address: 28-36 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gariwerd Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Gariwerd Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gariwerd Motel Halls Gap, Grampians

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gariwerd Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.