We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere beautifull cabins & surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park to your Saves list
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park
23 - 27 Tymna Drive, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Unknown
1 review
“Nice atmosphere beautifull cabins & surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We enjoyed staying in Halls Gap Tourist Park much, nice staff, beautifull area and comfortable cabins.

Cockatoos and parrots eating from your hand, and a lot of kangaroos.
Excellent place for relaxing and watching nature!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    25
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
68
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We have just arrived home after a fabulous 3 night camping holiday. We have just had THE best time. The site is beautiful, the amenities are clean and the wildlife is just incredible! There are plenty of walks and view points in halls gap all within easy reach of the canp site. Our 2 year old son has just had the time of his life. Swimming in the heated pool, feeding cockatoos, chasing the camp site dog, eating marshmallows off the camp fire and hitching rides on dads back to The Pinnacle and Mackenzie falls. Thank you so much for a very memorable family holiday. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a fabulous site - clean, attractive, quiet. Love the local wildlife: kangaroos, emus and white cockatoos. The camp kitchen is a wonderful social place. Plenty of dining tables, comfortable lounges in front of a blazing wood fire. Josephina - our delightful hostess makes a mean cappuccino and a wicked long black - fabulous way to kick start the day while checking emails through the courtesy of Wi Fi in the office area. We can't rate this place too highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved lakeside so much..we left our Caravan there, so we can return next weekend..Ro and Jo were very accommodating, from offering us a Latte on arrival to having the fires lit for happy hour! we sat back and enjoyed the surroundings while our 3 kids were kept busy in the pool, riding bikes, exploring the bushland, our son even caught a Redfin in the lake...Our perfect weekend away! Thanks Lakeside!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Arriving at Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park was an absolute delight! What a perfect setting it is, so green with plenty of shade, a delightful abundance of birds together with Kangaroos & Emus grazing happily - so good to see! Our hosts Josephina & Rohan couldnt have been more helpful and went out of their way to make our 5 night stay even more enjoyable. This is a place that when you arrive you just never want to leave, it's that relaxing and we are sad to be saying goodbye to this very special place. DEFINITELY worth staying for more than just a few days! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We are travelling around oz with our 11 yo son for 12 months and headed out to Halls Gap Lakeside after some friends recommended the park. We came with the opinion that there wouldn't be much to do out there. We were pleasantly surprised. Upon checking in we were given our friendliest welcome yet (having been on the road since Feb we had stayed at over 30 diff places so far) Josephina immediately made it feel like home. We were given a few sites to pick from and found a great spot opposite the camp kitchen. It didn't take long for the even friendlier wildlife to welcome us; crimson parrots, magpies, cockatoos, wallabies, kangaroos and emus. They all call Lakeside home and keep us entertained for hours on end. Our son soon had them climbing all over him, better than any zoo we had been too. The pool is fantastic,wood heated, first one we had seen heated to mid 30's while it below 10 outside, what more could an 11 yo want. The camp kitchen has a great fire place which Rohan makes sure is lit every afternoon for happy hour with anyone who wants to chat. There are also 2 free gas BBQs, a well equipped kitchen, picnic tables, comfy lounges, a TV, sm library and a bar. Bubbles the park dog is always keen for a game of fetch and will produce a ball at the drop of a hat. We went on a couple of walks admiring Lake Bellfield from the hill at the back of the park, The Grand Canyon and McKenzie Falls, there are many more in the area to enjoy also. We extended our stay as no one wanted to move on, it felt like home. When we left the park was about to get a new office, residence and amenities block; we cant wait to go back and see all the new stuff. If you are looking for a great family park that is laid back in a peaceful place, Lakeside is the park for you.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We planned to stay here for one night on the way to the Great Ocean Road, but we had to stay 2 nights as it was such a beautiful location. The hosts were a young couple who were genuinely caring and friendly, and their Border collie, Bubbles, who kept us company along with the myriad of wild kangaroos, multicoloured parrots and sulphur crested cockatoos. There was a huge log fire burning in the guest sitting room and dining room 24/7, and the dining room and cooking facilities were excellent. The full moon rose over the mountain ranges that first night, larger than life, and the swimming pool was steaming hot in mid winter. It is somewhere I would stay again and again as a way of totally unwinding and relaxing at any time of the year. An upgrade to some of the facilities is planned shortly. The bathrooms were spotless, and we were very welcome to set up our tent anywhere we liked. And the best part of all was that the rates for camping are less for a group of five people than in any other park in the Halls Gap area. We had inspected the other 3 parks before inspecting this one, and it is a standout. Do not waste your time with the new Big 4 Caravan Park there as they are all cloned with jumping pillows and tons of noisy kids in the holidays. The people there charge like a wounded bull, and are stodgy and unfriendly. This park rules!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own tent if you enjoy the outdoor life!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park

Address: 23 - 27 Tymna Drive, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park, located in the heart of the Grampians we offer a unique camping experience for tents, caravans and motorhomes. In the last 18 months the park has undergone major renovations including NEW amenities with individual bathrooms. Boutique camping with modern facilities! For those of you who prefer the comfort of a cabin we offer NEW modern spacious cabins overlooking the valley where emus and kangaroos roam around freely! Our outdoor heated pool is heated all year round with a WOOD FIRE! make sure you visit us here in the Grampians with so many beautiful walks and lookouts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park Grampians

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halls Gap Lakeside Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.