We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal, we had a smashing time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of "The Views",Cafe,Bar & Restaurant

"The Views",Cafe,Bar & Restaurant
The Grampians Motel | 394-404 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
0353564248
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Halls Gap
Price range: $11 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Views Cafe Bar & Restaurant has the best veiws in Halls Gap.Sit and have a delicious meal and watch the abundant wildlife that will entertain you whilst you enjoy beautifully presented food and experience the type of friendly service you expect. An experience not to be missed when visiting the Grampians.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, we had a smashing time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The night we ate here Lemontree, a big old kangaroo who is wild but was being fed by the managers, crashed through a glass window into the restaurant, leaving flying glass and gobsmacked diners in his wake. As we were thinking, hell, what now, the roo jumped through another pane of glass smashing it to pieces. Some diners suggested the roo felt cornered by people on all sides.

The managers dealt with it all well, reassuring the overseas visitors that no, that doesn't often happen and cleaning up the mess. We really enjoyed our main meals but the chocolate dessert was a little disappointing. Good service by a friendly young Dutch girl. Nice atmosphere. Would return again. Hope Lemontree is OK!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    55
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I went to this restaurant for dinner in June 2012. The meals were absolutely fabulous, I had the lamb shanks and they were the best I had ever tasted. The desert was wonderful too. The atmosphere was great very family friendly, we had kangaroos coming up to the window and being fed. It was great. We would definitely come back next time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
“Very good all round experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Food was very good. As a vego, they offered to make me something else, if the menu options didn't appeal. I chose risotto from the menu, which was lovely. My husband had very good chicken schnitzel and great chips! The apple and raspberry crumble - delicious! The drinks were very reasonably priced, service excellent and the view of the mountains in the distance and the kangaroos in the foreground was lovely. The people who run this place are so friendly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

really great food for good value. friendly staff and great view to the kangaroos in front of the restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine fare at the base of magnificent mountain views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a light luncheon at "The View" Halls Gap on Sunday 10th March. Went for a drive at the weekend and decide to try the establishment at the Halls Gap Motel. had heard that it wasn't too shabby. The girls had a cheese platter and were quite pleased with the food supplied. I myself had the fish and chips that were on the menu. The chips and salad were fine, but the battered fish was just a little ordinary. The view is to die for, looking out toward the Grampians and we had the seating supplied at the front of the motel under a purpose built temporary gazebo. other umbrellas and seating also available and indoor seating was available, but the day was a "corker" so we ate out the front. It was all good and definitely worth another trip next time out there.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed "The Views",Cafe,Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Halls Gap, Grampians
 

Been to "The Views",Cafe,Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage "The Views",Cafe,Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.