We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than what we were expecting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   141 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Halls Gap
Adelaide
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than what we were expecting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We booked very last minute to travel on the Easter long weekend so thought seeing this was pretty much the only one left we weren't expecting much. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. The room was massive, had a king bed, chair and table, bar fridge and a little serving area which we used quiet a bit. The bathroom was massive and clean and the window from our room over looked a
I have to say the service was terrible, the guy (who we assume owns it) was extremely blunt and rude every time we had to go to the counter to dealt with him.
but the accommodation it's self was great, central and clean so would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
12
55
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The rooms are so large and comfy it didn't matter what the weather did. Going in winter that was a HUGE bonus! Clean and tidy, had your basic appliances. Playground for kids and nice large area for them to stretch their legs. BBQ' and pergolas for nicer weather. Gym room was excellent.
Breakfast was an added bonus, good choice of food to get you through till lunch time. Especially with so many walks available right at your doorstep.
Affordable.
Dined at Darcy's restaurant also, good range of meals, catered for kids. Very enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliffe, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here overnight during a brief visit to Halls Gap. The room was clean, good hot water supply in bathroom. Friendly staff, nice grounds. We didn't visit the dining area. We couldnt get the electric blanket to work on 1 side of the bed & the other side was warm in patches. Unplugged it in case it was not safe. The laundry had coin operated washer & dryer which was a bit expensive I thought. Great location to shops,dining & trails. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouyen, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Arrived after dusky, long drive for a conference. Paid for a good quality room that was pricey - room was dark, light switches well inside room. After dumbly entrance, cold bathroom, hot water cut in and out, breakfast was disgraceful - eggs benedict means cold, poached eggs on horrible, cold luncheon hame slice. Aroma of fat wafts from kitchen , coffee machine doesn't work and room not fully serviced. Wouldn't stay there again - place was not busy - so no excuse for lazy service and low guest care.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay here. The room was huge, as was the bathroom. The overall decor is a bit dated but has been well maintained and is very clean. The bed was fabulous...so comfortable. My husband has to have the sports channels to flick through and this is one of the few motels in Halls Gap offering cable. Good location, short walk to the shops/restaurants. Loved the kangaroos in the garden. Would definitely recommend this motel, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed in a room with one King and One queen beds with my family. Overall I am satisfied with this hotel and I have listed the good and bad aspects;

1. Great location for all the walking trails and attractions in the Halls Gap/ Grampians.
2. Room was spacious, clean, ensuites clean, beds comfortable; No complaints there.
3. A lot of Kangaroos, emus and wild life around; even inside the hotel property
4. reverse cycle AC/ Heating worked well
5. Carpet on the floor was old but very comfortable under your feet.

Cons:
1. The person at the check in seemed tired in his job, not very helpful and had to ask several questions to get information on wherer the room was located, times for the breakfast etc. I was hoping to get some info on the nearby attractions from him but after all the trouble I had with these basic information about the hotel/breakfast etc , I thought I would have a better chance with the Halls Gap information centre.

2. There was no milk in the room though there were facilities for tea/coffee making. When I read the information book in the room it indicated that the " Fresh milk would be given at the time of check in and more would be available with the reception if necessary " . However no milk was offered at the time of my check in and I had to go to the local shops to buy some milk. Only when I read the book later I found out about the availability of the milk at the reception.

3. There was no quilt covers to the quilts. Quilts were just coverered with a bed sheet on top and the undersurface of the quilt was in contact with the person occupyiong the bed. I accept that there may be a lot of hotels that do not change quilt covers after every occupant but you atleast get the satisfaction that they may be washing/changing their quilt covers at least after few weeks. It was quite disturbing to think of all the people who would have slept under those quilts with their skins/ dirty clothes touching the bare undersurface of the quilts , not to mention the risk of contracting skin diseases. It would have been much better if they advertised " No linen is provided' so that the customers could bring their own.

4. I found that most of the essential items in the shops are over priced. May be they are trying to earn an easy profit from the visitors/ tourists.

I hope the hotel management would think seriously on the deficiencies I have mentioned. It would be a shame if people did not choose to stay in this property

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lovely location lovely staff could not do any thing more for you,BUT,we were given one of the rooms at the back of the site AND it was average ,very tired not well kept very dirty window edge in the bathroom and holes in the bathroom here and there.
We would stay there again just for the location ,hope they start to upgrade sooooooner than later

Room Tip: Hopefully the rooms closer to the main building are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap

Address: 141 Grampians Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap is one of Halls Gap's premier establishments with a range of services that few in the Region can offer. With 51 comfortably appointed rooms, all non smoking, the licensed Darcy's Restaurant, Morningside Cafe for breakfast, 2 Conference rooms with full catering, outdoor swimming pool, sauna, gymnasium, children's playground, BBQ area and Guest Laundry. Every single room has all new beds and they are the best that you will experience and are the main reason why people choose the Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap as the place to stay. You will find yourself immersed under the best doonas with your head on king pillows - the most time in a motel room is spent on the bed and so this property ensures that your experience is worth it! Each room has an LCD television, DVD player, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, large bathroom and electronic key card door locks for security. There is plenty of parking on the premises and the photo opportunities with the local wildlife and surrounding views are endless. The Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap's facilities are popular for conferences, meetings and weddings with a dedicated events co-ordinator that looks after your requirements. The Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap is ideally located within easy walking distance from the town centre and so you can leave your car at the motel and wander around the township. The Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap may not be the cheapest accommodation option but it is definitely one of the most comfortable properties that you can choose when visiting the magnificent Grampians Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap Grampians

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.