We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming and country location with views and wildlife aplenty.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grampians Pioneer Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halls Gap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grampians Pioneer Cottages
Save
You added Grampians Pioneer Cottages to your Saves list
Birdswing Road | off Halls Gap-Pomonal Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm, welcoming and country location with views and wildlife aplenty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights in the stone cottage and was perfect! Ambience created from use of reclaimed building materials and the fireplace all set ready to light on arrival is great! The views are spectacular and allow one the beauty to watch sunsets over the Grampians whilst enjoying a wine from one of the locals winery! Allow time to stop at a few on the way!
Kids loved the wildlife including kangaroos and emus, as well as collecting the eggs from the chooks!
Well equipped kitchen as well as big common BBQ area with plenty of tables and chairs for enjoying the views.
Stock up on supplies at horsham or stawell as not a lot to chose from in Halls Gap in terms of grocery items.
Multiple cottages makes this place perfect for a few families or groups looking to relax together.
Cosy and comfortable and will definitely be returning again soon!
Thanks Greg and family for such a great place and friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grampianspc, Owner at Grampians Pioneer Cottages, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thankyou for your review Lorena, and the great photo's.
The thrilled look on your Kids faces when discovering there was a kangaroo in the chookhouse was priceless & still brings a smile.
We look forward to seeing you again too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Fantastic stay at Easter 2013. From the moment we pulled off the main road and spotted kangaroos and emus (and lots of rabbits) we realised this was as close to nature as our kids had been.

The cabins are very comfortable and surprisingly warm even without the use of the open fire. The BBQ facilities and picnic area were used almost ever meal as we were travelling with 2 other families.

Greg the host is fine tuning the experience but made us feel 100% at home at all times. Lovely to share a couple of drinks with him one night.

The "serenity" walking track became our groups running circuit and the night walk and clear night skies were fantastic.

We spent a lot of time just relaxing around the property. The beds were (very) comfortable and any request of Greg was met with a smile.

The only "issue" is if you stay with lots of people the cabins can become expensive as there is a per head charge and also linen charges that can make a night with a few friends sharing in one cabin $300+.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grampianspc, Owner at Grampians Pioneer Cottages, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your detailed review Phil.
Great to hear you all enjoyed yourself, we enjoyed having your family & friends here too...a few glasses of wine, some wild stories & accompanying laughter certainly contributed to this.
Happily we didn't get many eggs whilst you were here as the kids were very efficient at looking after the chooks & collecting them early (must remember to sneak some Easter eggs in one day to surprise the kids ).
Great to see you're all coming again too, I'll be better prepared this time with a couple of extra bottles of wine & some nibbles.
Cheers for now,
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here for a night with my girlfriend in August last year. It was perfect. She's American, and driving in amongst a herd of kangaroos before we parked just across the way from a few emu's was a real thrill. The setting was beautiful and the cottages were all you need. There is no heating and the fire took a while to kick in - there was plenty of firewood though - so if you need central heating this may not be for you. But overall a fantastic stay. The owners were really friendly too. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Two of the cottages face the mountains, while two face the farm... if you want the mountain view I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We managed to somehow get in for a couple of days in January - we had wanted for a while to come and stay at one of the cottages specifically.
We had four people in the redbrick cottage and it was absolutely wonderful!!
We spent evenings around the large dinner table overlooking the wildlife out the windows. The environment was spectacular and the cottage felt like home.
Our toddler loved the birds and the chooks (which were roaming about in the evening).
The communal BBQ area was just stunning, as were the views from there.
Robert our host was lovely - service with a smile. I can't believe he built all of these cottages -great to read about where all of the materials came from!!!

We will be back!! Thanks Robert!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sippy Downs, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you're into nature, peace and quiet, and a top notch country experience, then this is the place to go.

The property is stunning (absolutely HUGE). You're facing the western side of the Grampians, and with the sun setting, it's awesome to watch. So are the 40-60 kangaroos you can count each morning and night (I stopped at 50, one evening; serious loads of them......). Emus, rabbits, the odd fox, birds.

And a giraffe. And dromedaries. And bison.

No kidding.

The Halls gap zoo is next door....

The night sky is a cracker in this part of the land. Owner/manager Robert built all the cottages by hand, and gave them a theme. Check it out for yourself. Rob is the most delightful country-host, with oodles of good stories if you poke him a bit.

Don't expect 5-star luxury and satin sheets. That's not the atmosphere for this place. Clean sheets, clean cottages, magic views, country-style hospitality, nature at its finest, unwind and recharge. That's what this place is all about. A trip into Halls Gap takes no more than 10 minutes or so. Wineries are around the corner, and so are the Grampian mountains.

Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Any of the cottages will do, really. It merely depends on how many there are in your party. All cott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grampianspc, Owner at Grampians Pioneer Cottages, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thankyou for your review & photo's SiMaKy!
The appearance of 'The Tractor' as a feature photo was a surprise, though it does have a certain kind of rustic following, especialy amongst many kids who've been coming here for years.
We're looking forward seeing you on your next visit.
Cheers,
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in the brick cottage for 2 nights with 7 people. Bedding was fine but only one bathroom. Cottages hand built by Robert the owner and are lovely. Great fireplace with plenty of wood. Very quiet, with kangaroos, emus, rabbits and lots of birds every morning. About 10-15 minute drive out of Halls Gap.Halls Gap supermarket v expensive, stock up before then. Very minimal supplies at cottage. Take own tissues, toilet paper etc.there is a washing machine but no dryer.
Great place for kids. Would return

Room Tip: Good descriptions of each cottage on website. Redgum cabin very cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed in the log cottage with my family. Brought us all back to nature with beautiful views, kangaroos and emus everywhere and rustic enviroment. We enjoyed cooking and eating in the outdoor BBQ area. Wonderful touch is the log fire which helped us to stay warm at night. Love this unique place! It was my husband's first time in Australia so he was really excited to see kangaroos so close up and personal! Better than any zoo or wildlife park.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grampians Pioneer Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampians Pioneer Cottages

Address: Birdswing Road | off Halls Gap-Pomonal Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful views, kangaroos grazing at your doorstep, and cuddling up by the open log fire, all help create the dream of your romantic Grampians getaway. 'Grampians Pioneer Cottages' is a natural country retreat where you stay in self-contained cottages uniquely built from Australian and New Zealand reclaimed timbers, stone, mudbrick, corrugated iron and 100 year old redbricks. You have the choice of the Redgum Log, Redbrick, Mudbrick or Stone Cottages, all individually secluded in bushland on 60 acres overlooking the Grampians mountain range, providing you the ideal place to relax and re-vitalise your energies. The Stone Cottage is wheel-chair friendly & all offer modern facilities including open log fire and air-conditioning to help you truly relax and enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grampians Pioneer Cottages Halls Gap

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grampians Pioneer Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.