We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Caravan Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Halls Gap Caravan Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Halls Gap Caravan Park to your Saves list
Halls Gap Caravan Park
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Crn School Rd & Grampians Rd | Dunkeld Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First Caravan Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The people at the park were very friendly and extremely helpful. This was my first try at a caravan holiday and they were very understanding about my lack a skills when backing the van. Also when we packed up early because heavy rain was forecast and moved into a cabin they deducted my caravan site fee off the price of the cabin. It is experiences like this which encourages me to try caravanning again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCP, Manager at Halls Gap Caravan Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Terry M A BIG thankyou from The staff at Hall Gap Caravan Park. We are all pleased that you will try camping again. Its such a great way to see this wonderfull country of ours. Hope you come back to Halls Gap and show us your improved camping skills :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    26
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I tried to book this property for a long weekend. I booked through Wotif, the site said there was availability for the weekend. After booking and paying, I get a phone call from Wotif to say that the property is unavailable as the manager at Halls Gap has not updated the site to reflect that the rooms were sold out. This is completely unacceptable, I didn't even get a call from Halls Gap apologizing for the error or offering to find alternative accommodation. Very disappointing customer service!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGCP, Manager at Halls Gap Caravan Park, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi I am sorry that there was a double booking at our park. Its Wotifs policy that we contact the company and not contact the customer.All we get is a booking slip with your name and the dates you booked and type of room you booked. We have only been with wotif online system for a week and there will be a few hicups and sorry that your was one of them . Halls gap caravan park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a very very big park. Good amenities and concrete ground on powered sites. There is a communal kitchen with a big open fire which I happily played with for quite some time. Many kangaroos and ducks around, even encountered 2 deer in the evening. Centrally located, right opposite to Information center and shops.
We stayed on ANZAC day and for a powered site it was AUD38. At night well past 10PM there were groups of people playing guitars, singing loudly until very late. No one interfered.
Go down the road to the south tip of the town to Lakeside tourist park, for a more cozy and intimate feel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in one of their Superior Queen Units - very clean and tidy with all facilities we needed. The management were very helpful. The best attraction of this venue is its location - right in the centre of town - a short walk to everything. The other attraction is the wildlife - hard to walk around without bumping into the kangaroos. We thoroughly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family in the two "authentic log cabins". Roomy and spacious and pretty clean (dusty carpet being the exception) we loved having the inter connecting door. The only downside was lack of aircon which we were told they aren't allowed to install due to the cabins' heritage listing. The ceiling fans worked really well though.

Location is faultless. We sat in front of the cabins and could watch the kids playing in the playground just a hundred metres or so away. Shops just across the road and so close to the starting point of many of the grampians bush walks. Roos at our door at dawn & dusk. Loved it. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Halls gap caravan park is right in the heart of town and at the foot of the Grampians.
I Have been here a few times and each time we loved it! If you go in spring you will see little joeys in their mothers pouches everywhere!
Cabins were nice and clean. There is fire pits everywhere so you can toast marshmallows. Venus baths is just a short stroll from the caravan park. There is no swimming pool but there is a public one withing the grounds that you have to pay for
I went in winter once and it snowed up one of the mountains!
Beautiful scenery!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My Family & I camp here every year, the past 2 years we have stayed in their 6 birth,Twin Deluxe Cabins. The Caravan park is only across the road from the Stony Creek shops-walking distance, also across from the Caravan park is a Park with public BBQ's, Picnic tables, Play Ground and Public Pool. The Caravan park is smack bang in the centre of Halls Gap and at the foot of the Grampians. You have Mountains at each angle totally wrapped around you,...you couldn't ask for a better location. Every day Kangaroo's & their Joey's bounce down from the Mountains into the Caravan park..throughout the day till dark they lounge around and feed on grass- very friendly!, also sometimes a Cockatoo may land on your veranda for a pat or feed..wild ducks and their ducklings sometimes roam the Caravan park. Some Parrots are also found in the trees too. Abundance of wildlife at this Caravan park daily. we stay here in Summer & Our cabin was Very clean on arrival and all have Ceiling fans & Split Air-Conditioning units- Fantastic for Summer!. The Staff are Very Friendly and accommodating to every need. Amenities are very clean also. Their is allocated camp fires throughout the Caravan park, Camp Kitchens- (fridge, Tables & seating, Microwave, Benches, Fireplace etc). Tennis Court, Play ground, Public Pool, coin operated electric BBQ's and Picnic tables... also the Pinnacle walking track & Venus Baths track are situated within the park so no need to drive to these to hike them. My Autistic 3 children loved it so much here they didn't want to go home when it was time to leave neither did i . it's a Great Budget park also. some other Caravan parks around Halls Gap are a little pricey around Peak times so this was great for us and for people who are on a budget. i highly recommend Halls Gap Caravan Tourist park to everyone... the hardest part about it is you won't want to leave... December 2013 we will be back but we are bringing the Family Tent this time..for that total Camping experience! yay!!.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Halls Gap Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halls Gap Caravan Park

Address: Crn School Rd & Grampians Rd | Dunkeld Road, Halls Gap, Victoria 3381, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Halls Gap Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halls Gap Caravan and Tourist Park, the only Caravan Park in the centre of Halls Gap, is one of the Grampians oldest camping grounds. Bounded on all sides by a National Park, this area is home to some of the most breathtaking views found anywhere in Australia. From 4 star Log Cabins and Spa Units to our new Superior Queen Units and Powered Camping sites, we have accommodation to suit your lifestyle and kids will enjoy the play areas. The abundance of flora and fauna will satisfy the most eager bush walkers, with walking tracks leading from the park deep into the surrounding bushland. Don't be afraid when kangaroos emerge, their evening parade through the caravan park provides a unique opportunity for some great photography. Located in the town centre makes it easy walking distance to cafes, restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Halls Gap Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halls Gap Caravan Park Grampians

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halls Gap Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.