We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic birthday getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap

Save Saved
You added Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap
23 Mt Zero rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3380, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic birthday getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Went to Heatherlie Cottages for a birthady get away with my partner.
Was happy with the cottages very charming and found everything we needed for a great weekend away in the Grampian's. My partner loved the double bathroom, great shower and cute king sized bed.
Cottages are a short walk to Halls Gap village but secluded enough to think you are off the beaten track.
Would stay there again and reccomend to others for a couples get away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Lovely free standing self contained modern unit, one of 4 on block, withing easy walking distance to village centre. Big comfy bed, big bath. aircon/heating. modern kitchen, TV, DVD ( some supplied) etc. Small verandah with electric BBQ - works well. Uncercover car port. Very quiet location - we slept very well. Not much outside but great place to comeback to after walks / drives. Owner very helpful on phone. Note - take a torch if walking back from restaurants at night! We would gladly return.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Halls Gap and The Grampians are a glorious part of the world. This cottage had everything we required. I was just a little annoyed that it is advertised as one bedroom when it is really open plan and a studio layout.

Room Tip: Not applicable as there are four cottages all self contained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

Don't be fooled by the description or by the tricky photography. These cottages are described as one-bedroom but are open plan studio apartments with the bed in the same room as the lounge room. I was very disappointed by this as part of the reason I booked was because I thought we would have a bedroom separate to the main living area. We managed, but sometimes you need a little bit of privacy from your partner in a place other than the bathroom.
The place was very clean and all of the appliances were new, while the king size bed was very comfortable however, the self-described term of 'luxuriously appointed' is a bit of a stretch. The whole cottage is tiled in terracotta, the only couch is an imitation chesterfield, the spa bath is only big enough for one person and the towels were stiff and scratchy. Without a screen door, quite a few insects got in which had to be squished before going to bed if we wanted a peaceful sleep.
If you're in a front cottage, you get a view of the road, if you're in the rear cottages, you get a view of the cottages at the front. There is no private garden area. Our first night there, a neighbour called the police to the report a peeping tom and the caretaker came to the property twice on a very, very loud harley davidson. We also came across quite a few spiders. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gad_about_8, Owner at Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
These are one bedroom cottages! Thats what RACV classified them as when we built them. We offer a money back satisfaction guarantee, if on arrival you have a genuine complaint that cannot be reconciled we return your money no problem. Our cottages are not apartments, apartments come in blocks connected together our cottages are separate and are open plan with one bed.
The 2 person spa is nearly 2 metres long a metre wide and 80cm deep big enough for 2 normal size people, or one really fat person.
Each cottage has 9 screened windows which open, to prop the front door open then complain about bugs coming in is just stupid.
We offer our cottages at prices lower than the caravan park spa cabins in Halls Gap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We found Hetherlie Cottages to be comfortable, clean, and lovely to stay in. Surrounded by beautiful quiet bushlands, but not too far from the main town centre. The rooms were clean and the spa was fanstastic. Big enough for two! The layout was cosy, yet big enough not to have to step over each other. Kitchen was well equipped functional. There was a BBQ but didn't use it. Perhaps there could have been more maps and food/restaurant guides provided, although the cottages are not far from the information centre.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gad_about_8, Owner at Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thankyou very much for the review, it has made my day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010 via mobile

My partner and i had a wonderful stay at heatherlie cottages, it was clean, quiet, well equipt and relaxing. The bed was soo comfortable and the massive spa bath was soo relaxing. Everything was wonderful and we'll be going back.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gad_about_8, Owner at Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Thankyou very much Rosie and Col,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

If you want a quiet hideaway,far from the madding crowd and kids, then this is it. A place to relax after lots of walking and fresh air. The kangaroos and birds are very friendly. Just be careful of the value and quality with the restaurants but the cafes were great.
Rosie and Col

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap

Address: 23 Mt Zero rd, Halls Gap, Victoria 3380, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Halls Gap
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Specialty lodging in Halls Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Features include:Double spa with a view of gas coal fire,100cm full high definition LCD TV and dvd,Washer/dryer,Fully equipped kitchen, Pod coffee machine, Linen and towels provided,King size 4 poster bed,Chathedral Ceilings,Climate control air conditioning,Individual BBQ, NO CHOCOLATES, NO CHAMPAGNE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap Grampians

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heatherlie Cottages Halls Gap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.