We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best's Wines Great Western

Best's Wines Great Western
111 Best's Road, Great Western, Victoria 3374, Australia
03 5356 2250
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1866, Best’s is one of Australia’s oldest family owned and operated wineries. MISSION: At Best’s, we chase quality at every point and we’re meticulous in finding ways to improve at each stage of the winemaking process. All aspects of making the wine are handled on-site at Best’s Great Western, allowing the winemaker to have full control over quality. We strive for our wines to express everything possible from the vineyard, vintage and region. Our Winemaker Justin Purser in conjunciton with Viv Thomson believe that you must treat each vineyard and resultant wine as an individual and adapt your winemaking to their respective personalities. COMPANY OVERVIEW: Founded in 1866 in the Great Western wine region of Victoria, Best’s Great Western is one of Australia’s oldest continuously family owned and operated wineries. Best’s is known to have some of the oldest vines in Australia and produces extraordinary wines with great longevity. Today, Best's Great Western draws from three vineyards, Concongella, St Andrew's and the newest addition, Salvation Hills at Rhymney. Henry Best’s original Nursery Block, containing over forty different varieties, and his old Shiraz and Pinot vineyards are among Australia’s most valuable viticultural resources. These are three important factors in the style and quality of Best's Great Western wines. They are elegant, mid-weight wines of great intensity and balance. Like all classic long-lived wines, age often reveals their greatest finesse. At national and international wine shows, Best's consistently garners awards and accolades.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

great service, great wine, ideal for wine-tasting. Lots of character. And a free cellar tour included.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Customer Relationship Manager at Best's Wines Great Western, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review Brian! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Best's and hope you come by again sometime soon. Regards, Stephanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stop and tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed a look around the historic cellars and a look at the old vines. Joyce was a great hostess and gave us a range of whites and reds to taste. We bought 6 bottles and look forward to drinking them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Customer Relationship Manager at Best's Wines Great Western, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to review our winery and share your experience with others. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you stop by again next time you're around the Grampians. Joyce is definitely one of our best kept secrets! Kind regards, Stephanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ararat
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Probably the best Shiraz ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a very friendly cellar door, not as intimidating as many I've encountered. Being a rather inexperienced wine drinker my knowledge of the finer points is fairly limited apart from the fact I do know what I like. I reckon Best's No.1 Shiraz is the nicest wine I've ever tasted and their Chenin Blanc is something very special in my book, along with their Pinot Noir. Overall a very friendly, easy place to taste and shop.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Customer Relationship Manager at Best's Wines Great Western, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Hello there. Thank you for stopping by our Trip Advisor page and sharing your experience of our cellar door. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and liked some of our wines. We think our Bin 1 is pretty special too! Maybe you could visit again in September when our 2012 Bin 1 is released, it's shaping up to be a beautiful wine too. Regards, Stephanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited the winery on March 8, 2013 and had a great walk through tour..took lots of pictures down in the cellar, had that very old winery look and got some great shots for my facebook page. Then we had a super tasting with Joyce, the winery hostess. Not a big red drinker, but throughly enjoyed the whites and even the one red that Joyce recommended that I try. The staff at this winery is top notch! We got a very comprehensive description of each wine and a fair amount for tasting. I would highly recommend that you put this winery on your tour through the area. When I get back to Australia, hope that I get to visit there again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Customer Relationship Manager at Best's Wines Great Western, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Hi Tad! Thank you for taking the time to review our winery on here and share your feedback with others. I showed Joyce your email to us via Facebook and photo that your friend posted too. So glad to hear you had a great time and enjoyed your visit. Hopefully we will see you back here again one day soon! Cheers, Stephanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit, for wines and cellars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a very interesting winery, both for its wines and its history. The winery was begun in the 1860's, and there's a brochure which guides visitors into the underground chalk cellars. Essentially, visitors are allowed to walk around the old cellars unrestricted, affording a fascinating look at how things have been done over the past 140 years.

The cellar door allows visitors to taste and buy wines produced by the estate. We tried a variety, and ended up walking away with a case of riesling, but could've bought more. Unlike other wineries we've visited, they have a second section for cleanskins (unlabelled wines), for visitors to taste. The staff are knowledgeable and friendly.

What would have made this great place perfect? Some food to nibble on whilst tasting wines. I would have loved a small cheese platter or something simple, whilst in the cellar door. I'm not expecting to have this provided, and think that visitors should pay if they want something more (given we're getting wine tastings for free).

I would highly recommend a visit to this place, and think it far superior to the Seppelt winery a few minutes away.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Customer Relationship Manager at Best's Wines Great Western, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of our winery. We appreciate it when people share their experiences with others, and also give us feedback. We are actually looking at incorporating a cheese platter into cellar door for the reasons you highlighted above. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and our cellars and hope you drop by again sometime soon. Hopefully you'll get to try one of our new cheese platters too! Thanks again, Stephanie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best's Wines Great Western also viewed

Halls Gap, Grampians
Great Western, Grampians
 

Been to Best's Wines Great Western? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best's Wines Great Western, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.